We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Java Bleue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Java Bleue
Ranked #12 of 79 Kampot B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My grand daughter and myself spent 1 week at La Java Blue in the Kymer Room. Accommodation was spotless. There was endless hot water and very efficient air conditioning. BBQ dinners at night were delicious. Fresh Fish or Australia T Bone Steaks cooked to perfection. Rooms immaculately clean. Walking distance to all of Kampot. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niamh15niamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    33
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
84
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is probably the most difficult review I've had to write, but I'll let you make up your own decision.

We stopped here for 3 nights in the Chinese room, Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our room. The room was on the top floor, was tastefully decorated. Had a large shower room, a massive bed and your own balcony. Air con worked like a dream (Probably too well it was often too cold haha!). There wasn't much storage space though or places to put things on top of such as a dressing table, it was very minimal in regards to that. It's location was just off the river front, close enough to walk around Kampot etc... so regarding the location for walking and access the quality of the room so far so good.

Upon leaving the hotel on our first night to go for a drink and something to eat, the male owner seemed to be in a bit of a mood and was ranting in French regarding something no idea if it was aimed as us or he was ranting at something else. Tried to ignore it but obviously it felt a little uncomfortable.

I will add that the lady owner and the Khymer guy who works there are absolutely lovely and first class!

On our first night there seemed to be a rave outside and loud music was playing into the early hours, with it being the last night of the Khymer new year we accepted it and moved on. Though around 5 am the next morning it all started again and to top it off there are birds that squark all morning as well! I personally only had a few hours sleep that night because of it, regardless accepted the situation didn't cause a fuss about it and continued with our day... with the male owner still giving us dirty looks and generally looking like a bear with a sore bum everytime we entered and left the hotel.

The second night it actually rained, the roof must only be 1 inch thick (The chinese room is actually in the loft) So it was like being inside a drum, not only that music was playing again... In the morning we woke up to find that birds must be nesting deep in the roof and unfortunatly one the young birds must have fell out and landed in our shower room! (See attached picture). Also on the second night upon returning back to the hotel from our evening meal we wanted to have a drink in the hotel bar and I sat in the bar area infront of the two owners who were talking to a french gentlemen who was drinking and they offered him drinks etc... I sat patiently for 15 minutes and not once was I asked what I wanted so I just left and went back up stairs.

On our third day we asked the previous day about doing a tour to the Kampot Pepper farms, see a local temple that is in a cave etc... they told us not to use the tour company as they have their own professional Tuk Tuk driver who is English speaking who can take us there for half the price (Think the tour company was $23 a person and the hotel was $25 for the day for both of us) So we agreed, the Tuk Tuk driver arrived and duly took us as promised where we wanted to go, he wasn't really a tour guide though and was just a English speaking driver and that was it. If that's all you want then fine but we were expecting him to actually be a Tuk Tuk driver/guide as what we would have got with the tour company.

Our third night in the hotel was exactly the same as the previous two nights, music playing loudly right into the night and early hours of the morning (Bare in mind the new year had actually finished on our last night). On leaving the hotel we were greeted by the male owner who seemed particulary narked that we hadn't ate in his hotel which is probably why he was so grumpy throughout our stay...a bit of advice actually be friendly and attentive like your wife and the Khymer guy you have working for you and we would have eaten in your hotel, we actually was going to until he was continually unapproachable.

In summary, the rooms were nicely decorated and of a decent size, the location is quite good, 3 out of the 4 members of staff we met were exceptional. Can't actually fault it really.

Though the noise from the streets or bar or what ever it was next door actually destroyed our stay, the birds (Must be 100s of them) creating so much noise on a morning and evening is unreal and the feeling we got from the male owner just made our stay a uncomfortable experience.

Our experience was whilst the hotel and room were fine, a number of other factors regarding the location etc.... made it a average place to stay which is a real shame, hopefully our experience was not the norm and it's not normally that loud and the owner isn't always that grumpy.
That said we won't be going back if we are ever in Kampot in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeefOfYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

we checked in at around 6pm for one night. tired, exhausted and a little under the weather from the all the travelling and heat from koh rong and sihanoukville.

pascale, the lady owner was exceptionally wonderful and pleasant. checked us in and told us that we got a room in the second building which is smaller but we can shift to a bigger room available the next day for the same rate. so we agreed to look at the room the next day.

a cambodian guy brought us over to our room in the other building and we were surprised to see how tiny it was, with no minibar and no safe as advertised online. so we agreed to check the bigger room the next day.

that night, we met the partner of pascale, who doesnt seem to understand much english. everytime we asked him some questions, he would try to sell us his fish or seafood bbq (which was extremely overpriced)! even when we asked about the safe and minibar he would exclaim 'best fish/seafood in the world'. we got annoyed and moved on along the riverside.

the next day, we went for breakfast but pascale was not there yet for us to check the room (btw, expect to be woken up at 5am from the music played loudly from the building next door daily). the cambodian guy then asked what our plan was and when we told him we'd like to stay on and check the bigger room, he immediately said 'cannot, you didnt tell me last night'. we were surprised at the response when we clearly had made our intention clear that we wanted to stay on and check the other room.

we walked around the corner and found a little gem called the columns. checked in there and were very happy there for 3nights. as we were checking in, we found out 2 other couples had moved from la java blueu to the columns as well due to lots of unhappiness. sounds about right.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillerAngel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascale B, Gérant at La Java Bleue, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We thank you that you have take your time to write a comment on our hotel La Java Bleue as all comments are interesting for us and the future customers.
But we do not understand your no good comments as we always take care of all our customers and if you check the others comments, most of our customers are very happy when they have spent a stay in La Java Bleue.
For the noise I understand your reaction, because you were in Kampot during the wedding parties period and the tradition in Cambodia is to enjoy the party outside in front of the house of the owner.
no where it is written that we have mini bar in the room, and all the rooms are clean and well decorated, you can read all the comments.
Hope you have enjoyed Cambodia.
Cordially.
Pascale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Best hotel I've ever stayed in.
There are a few boutique hotels in Kampot (Rikitikitavi, The Columns, La Java Bleue) that cater to those willing to pay a wee bit more than the average backpacker, and while the others seemed nice (I spent time in all of them during my stay in Kampot) La Java Bleue was by far the nicest. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are lovely, the rooms are amazing, the bathrooms are nice and the location is fine.
If you can, try to get "The French Room". I stayed in a couple of their rooms (I liked Kampot's vibe and ended up staying longer than I'd first intended) and while this is one of their cheaper rooms, I reckon it's the nicest.

Room Tip: If you can, try to get "The French Room". I stayed in a couple of their rooms (I liked Kam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPaulMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I just adored everything about this place, from being greeted by Pascal, to the location - it really made our stay in Kampot. Big comfy beds and right in the heart of the town, you couldn't ask for a place to stay. My partner fell sick during our stay here (nothing to do with the hotel!! Just where we had been previously!) and the staff were very helpful in giving me bread rolls to slowly feed him. Breakfast was delicious and the whole French charm of this place was just lovely, would not hesitate to go again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were supposed to stay 2 nights but we had such a good time in JB that we finally stayed one more night. (January 2013)
First of all, we enjoyed very much the atmosphere in Kampot, much different from other areas in Cambodia.
Then the hotel is very charming, the rooms are lovely (actually the best we had in Cambodia), comfortable, clean and nicely situated.

‘Merci’ also to the managers (JC and Pascale) who made our stay very enjoyable.
The staff is also quite professional.
We highly recommend this place if you like to make a short break in Kampot.

Couple from France (Chantilly)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timochou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Pascale and her BF are french and there are cool guys.
They will always be here to assist you or for a small chat.

There is air con in rooms, it is clean and each room is nicely decorated and spacious enough. There is TV as well.
I just regret the noise from the street starting at 5am. Don't expect to sleep late!

The Java bleue is the only place in Kampot where you can have grilled fish for dinner if I'm not mistaken. Food is good and affordable. Terrace is cosy and well lit at night giving a nice ambiance.
It is well located too.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.0 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Kampot Riverside Hotel
#6 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#7 of 79 in Kampot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Buddha Hotel
Blue Buddha Hotel
#15 of 79 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Java Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Java Bleue

Property: La Java Bleue
Address: 27 Road | Phoum Ouksophear, Sangkat Kampong Kandal, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Java Bleue 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Java Bleue. This old colonial house can be yours for a night or a few days in your life. Travel back in time to a comfortable, friendly place for a unique experience. Open the door. The melody of La Java Bleue drifts your way as you're greeted with a Khmer smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Java Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing