We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a horrible experience and expext to be woken up at 5am!!”
Review of La Java Bleue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Java Bleue
Ranked #12 of 87 Kampot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a horrible experience and expext to be woken up at 5am!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

we checked in at around 6pm for one night. tired, exhausted and a little under the weather from the all the travelling and heat from koh rong and sihanoukville.

pascale, the lady owner was exceptionally wonderful and pleasant. checked us in and told us that we got a room in the second building which is smaller but we can shift to a bigger room available the next day for the same rate. so we agreed to look at the room the next day.

a cambodian guy brought us over to our room in the other building and we were surprised to see how tiny it was, with no minibar and no safe as advertised online. so we agreed to check the bigger room the next day.

that night, we met the partner of pascale, who doesnt seem to understand much english. everytime we asked him some questions, he would try to sell us his fish or seafood bbq (which was extremely overpriced)! even when we asked about the safe and minibar he would exclaim 'best fish/seafood in the world'. we got annoyed and moved on along the riverside.

the next day, we went for breakfast but pascale was not there yet for us to check the room (btw, expect to be woken up at 5am from the music played loudly from the building next door daily). the cambodian guy then asked what our plan was and when we told him we'd like to stay on and check the bigger room, he immediately said 'cannot, you didnt tell me last night'. we were surprised at the response when we clearly had made our intention clear that we wanted to stay on and check the other room.

we walked around the corner and found a little gem called the columns. checked in there and were very happy there for 3nights. as we were checking in, we found out 2 other couples had moved from la java blueu to the columns as well due to lots of unhappiness. sounds about right.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillerAngel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascale B, Gérant at La Java Bleue, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We thank you that you have take your time to write a comment on our hotel La Java Bleue as all comments are interesting for us and the future customers.
But we do not understand your no good comments as we always take care of all our customers and if you check the others comments, most of our customers are very happy when they have spent a stay in La Java Bleue.
For the noise I understand your reaction, because you were in Kampot during the wedding parties period and the tradition in Cambodia is to enjoy the party outside in front of the house of the owner.
no where it is written that we have mini bar in the room, and all the rooms are clean and well decorated, you can read all the comments.
Hope you have enjoyed Cambodia.
Cordially.
Pascale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    36
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
88
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Best hotel I've ever stayed in.
There are a few boutique hotels in Kampot (Rikitikitavi, The Columns, La Java Bleue) that cater to those willing to pay a wee bit more than the average backpacker, and while the others seemed nice (I spent time in all of them during my stay in Kampot) La Java Bleue was by far the nicest. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are lovely, the rooms are amazing, the bathrooms are nice and the location is fine.
If you can, try to get "The French Room". I stayed in a couple of their rooms (I liked Kampot's vibe and ended up staying longer than I'd first intended) and while this is one of their cheaper rooms, I reckon it's the nicest.

Room Tip: If you can, try to get "The French Room". I stayed in a couple of their rooms (I liked Kam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPaulMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I just adored everything about this place, from being greeted by Pascal, to the location - it really made our stay in Kampot. Big comfy beds and right in the heart of the town, you couldn't ask for a place to stay. My partner fell sick during our stay here (nothing to do with the hotel!! Just where we had been previously!) and the staff were very helpful in giving me bread rolls to slowly feed him. Breakfast was delicious and the whole French charm of this place was just lovely, would not hesitate to go again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were supposed to stay 2 nights but we had such a good time in JB that we finally stayed one more night. (January 2013)
First of all, we enjoyed very much the atmosphere in Kampot, much different from other areas in Cambodia.
Then the hotel is very charming, the rooms are lovely (actually the best we had in Cambodia), comfortable, clean and nicely situated.

‘Merci’ also to the managers (JC and Pascale) who made our stay very enjoyable.
The staff is also quite professional.
We highly recommend this place if you like to make a short break in Kampot.

Couple from France (Chantilly)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timochou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Pascale and her BF are french and there are cool guys.
They will always be here to assist you or for a small chat.

There is air con in rooms, it is clean and each room is nicely decorated and spacious enough. There is TV as well.
I just regret the noise from the street starting at 5am. Don't expect to sleep late!

The Java bleue is the only place in Kampot where you can have grilled fish for dinner if I'm not mistaken. Food is good and affordable. Terrace is cosy and well lit at night giving a nice ambiance.
It is well located too.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

From what I saw they have three accommodation houses. We stayed around the corner (can't think of the name at the moment) but we were aware when we booked. We had three rooms all together, two were across the road from my room with the main hotel around the corner. No problems walking there for breakfast, which you had a choice and was nice. My room was on the second floor which gets a bit trying after a few days but staff carried our luggage up. There was also a night attendant so this made you feel secure. Not luxury accommodation but what you would expect for $45 US per night. Location very close to main bars and Kampot river.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvie0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We just stayed here one night but had a good time. It is a small guest house in good location with walking distance to everything. The BBQ every night is really delicious. We had the Chinese Room which was lovley decorated. Nice stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascale B, Gérant at La Java Bleue, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour ce joli message.
Au plaisir de vous revoir un jour.
Pascale et Jean-Claude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.0 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Makk Hotel
Makk Hotel
#5 of 17 in Kampot
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Morning Kampot
Good Morning Kampot
#10 of 17 in Kampot
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bokor Mountain Lodge
Bokor Mountain Lodge
#14 of 17 in Kampot
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Java Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Java Bleue

Property: La Java Bleue
Address: 27 Road | Phoum Ouksophear, Sangkat Kampong Kandal, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Java Bleue 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Java Bleue. This old colonial house can be yours for a night or a few days in your life. Travel back in time to a comfortable, friendly place for a unique experience. Open the door. The melody of La Java Bleue drifts your way as you're greeted with a Khmer smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Java Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing