We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you want to be treated like dirt”
Review of Kampot Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kampot Guesthouse
Ranked #68 of 87 Kampot B&B and Inns
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay here if you want to be treated like dirt”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Having travelled round Asia for 6 months on reflection this must be approaching the worst we stayed at. It was a cheap room and very basic as you would expect. However one particular staff member was not only offish on every encounter we had with him, at one point pretended he couldn't speak any English when we had already conversed with him and when we had a leak in our bathroom we ran down to let him know he ignored us allowing the room to flood. Needless to say we stayed just one night. There are many guesthouses in Kampot, many we understand offering high standards

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suedehead38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yi b, Manager at Kampot Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Suedehead38,

First of all thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about our Guest House.
We are terribly sorry that our place left such a bad impression with you. Let me try to explain what might have happened since it is quite a while ago when this incident happened.

We have had quite a few new staff members and they might have been the reason for the confusion. Our staff comes from Kampot and they don't have always such a perfect English. The particular staff member you mentioned, might have understood you before but then when you mentioned something about your bathroom, he might have been clueless and too shy to ask you for an explanation (like it is the case many times).

We do care a lot about our customers and try to make all of them as happy as possible. We try our best to understand everybody.
Our rooms are basic but also cheap and of course don't offer the same standard as a 30$ room, but we are centrally located and around us are plenty of other guest houses and tour shops.

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
1
32
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We didn't spend much time at the guesthouse. The hot showers were fantastic after a very cold trip up to Bokor Hill. The breakfast was decent, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneSansTete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We ended up in Kampot Guesthouse, because all the other guesthouses in the area were fully booked. We already had read the reviews and expected the worst. But after seeing several rooms we decided to stay.

We stayed in the old building in a nice and comfortable room with fan and hot shower ($10). Everything was clean and we didn't experience any of the problems described in the other reviews. The waterpressure of the shower wasn't great, but we had far worse in Sihanoukville.

Overall a nice place to stay.
We ended up staying 5 nights.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smukzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Very unfriendly, unhelpful & inpolite staff... took amusement in our tour beening cancelled. Rooms not cleaned at all, mattress & pillows were dirty looked like they had been in there for 20 years. We are well travelled backpackers & stay in cheap places but this guesthouse was dirty !!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harry0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yi b, Manager at Kampot Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Harry0011,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Kampot Guest House.

I can not imagine what has happened during your stay with us. All of our staff are very friendly and nice to the customers (please see the other reviews). Might it have been that you misunderstood them and that you just imagined that they have laughed about you?

We do employ 3 girls who clean our rooms on a daily basis. It might have been possible that they forgot to clean your room, but this is not normal. You could have told the reception to remind the cleaning girls to make up your room without any problem.

The Kampot Guest House is one of the oldest guest house in Kampot. Nevertheless we regularly change our mattresses and pillows so our guests can enjoy the best possible comfort.

Thank you

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampot hotels

Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Don t ask for the room 4 because you will be attacked by cockroaches all night long... I know that is common in this country but it is the first time I had so many which are not afraid of climbing your bed ! I had an horrible night !!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laugo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yi b, Manager at Kampot Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Smukzak,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TA. I would like to explain your points mentioned.

Our building is quite an old one and even though we clean the rooms very carefully it can happen that there are still some animals in the room. These animals can hide in small holes in the wall and are therefore very difficult to catch.

We try our best to get rid of these animals and please rest assured that this won't happen again. I will instruct our cleaning girls to spray the small holes where they could hide.

Thank you

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Stayed here for three days last month and had great luck with the place. We looked at a few rooms that weren't great, but by asking for others finally got shown a lovely corner room on the 2nd floor of their new building. We had a semi-private porch area and it was quiet and clean. And only $10 a night! Can't beat that.

Staff was friendly and accommodating, the coffee was good and the fruit at breakfast was plentiful - put together, I'd certainly recommend the place

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.0 mi away
Two Moons
Two Moons
#8 of 17 in Kampot
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Good Morning Kampot
Good Morning Kampot
#10 of 17 in Kampot
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vibola Guesthouse
Vibola Guesthouse
#23 of 87 in Kampot
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kampot Manor
Kampot Manor
#2 of 87 in Kampot
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampot Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampot Guesthouse

Property: Kampot Guesthouse
Address: Kampot River Rd, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kampot Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kampot Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing