We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a bit of work”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olly's Place Kampot
Ranked #27 of 93 Kampot B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My boyfriend and i spent 3 nights at Ollys and would have rated the place better overall if it weren't for the Extremely loud music next door which on weekends played until 4am. The fitted sheet on the bed was crap and kept coming off at the drop of a hat and the blanket was some scabby material thing. Combined it made for a bad nights sleep. Lastly, the bin in our bungalow hadn't been emptied since before we arrived. The bin was attracting many ants so i placed it on the front deck for the duration of our stay from the moment we arrived and there it sat untouched. Ollys is average and worth no more than $5 per night. The place needs some love and attention. Come on guys... There aren't that many rooms to tend. Less time chilling on that deck and partying next door.
Ps- The dog definitely needs to be clipped or hosed off when hot as definitely not a suitable breed for the climate. It was panting loudly and we dot like seeing animals suffering if it can be so easily helped.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billymccaresy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 187 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for $5 per night, there are no free bicycles but lots of broken ones. Walk into town is 20 minutes. Nice walk across the railway bridge. One thing that lets the place down is the extremely loud music from the place next door, even on a monday night! Felt sorry for the bernese mountain dog tethered up on a 1m lead to the stairs. It is not the right dog for this hot climate could hear its loud panting all around the place. Its needs a little paddle pool or to be hosed down to cool it off, or maybe have its heavy coat clipped. The beds wre comfortable and the mozzie nets did their job. The river was nice for a swim.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twobigfeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the last available bungalow, even in low season this place is popular, lots getting turned away after we arrived.
For $5 a night the bungalow was clean, basic but had a mosquito net and fan.
Only downside was shared bathroom but we knew that before we went. Website does it justice, no hidden surprises!!
Nice and relaxing communal eating/drinking/relaxing area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Fantastic place to chill out. We stayed in bungalow, very basic, but you get everything you need - fan, mosquito net (brand new), comfy bed. Terrace is a good place to meet new ppl, read a book,have a beer. Food is very good, we're vegetarians and we had quite big choice. Owners are very helpful and nice. Bikes for rent are free for the guests, so it's easy to get to the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaAndDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

tired of "in your face '"resorts?sit out on the back deck and gaze at the river.no other building in sight.feeling hot?take 3 steps and fall in the river.or hire a scooter for a 40 km ride up the best road in camodia to the mountain region.they told me to take a warm coat.they wasnt joking...prices at ollys are so cheap it makes you feel guilty.new owners look set to continue fine standards.and maybe not so rowdy as olly

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was here a year ago with my friends. We had a fantastic time, arranged motobike's in front of our beds. Cheap staying and great food. Refreshing water just at the edge of restaurant. I would recommend this place for quiet relaxing period of your travel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222mia222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vespa1971, Owner at Olly's Place Kampot, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thanks...
Even after 1 year you didn't forgot our place....
Glad you've enjoyed it....
Olly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Met some wonderful people at Olly's and that of course includes you Olly ;) The place is very relaxing and peaceful during the day but you have to endure the noises during the night from his [--]neighbors. Olly has excellent taste of music and the accommodation made you feel like being in a 'kampong' house. I have enjoyed my stay at Olly's, it is a combination of beautiful nature, great company and tasty food! Greetings from Malaysia :) I miss your place already!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deconcept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.4 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramo Resort
Ramo Resort
#16 of 93 in Kampot
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bungalow Kampot River
Bungalow Kampot River
#24 of 65 in Kampot
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kampot Cabana
Kampot Cabana
#5 of 93 in Kampot
63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Samon's Village
Samon's Village
#4 of 93 in Kampot
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kampot Manor
Kampot Manor
#3 of 93 in Kampot
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olly's Place Kampot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olly's Place Kampot

Address: Riverside Kampot, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range: $4 - $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing