We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying here made Kampot one of our fave places”
Review of Natural Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Natural Bungalows
Ranked #50 of 94 Kampot B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Awesome staff in this new-ish place, the English is a little limited and some of the service a little haphazard but it made for some awkward/amusing times which only made our memories fonder. These waitstaff are mostly kids still at school between working their gorgeous little hearts out here to make a dollar and they cant do enough to help you out. The digs are great value ($15-$20), clean, bright and new and the food was excellent !! Prawn and lemon soup was one of the best broths I've ever tasted in the whole world !! (really).
The over-water dining deck is sublime for both evenings and breakfast. Even if you don't stay it's definitely worth coming a mere 5 minutes walk down the waterfront (just past the bridge) for a beautiful meal.
If we go back to Kampot we just wouldn't stay anywhere else, can't beat the service, food and $ value.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rroger_rramjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 198 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2010

So reviewing this is a mixed bag. In many respects this was the best place we stayed in our entire 4 weeks in Cambodia. It is relatively new and the rooms were tasteful and beautifully decorated with some lovely quirky touches such as the coconut lamps. The curtains were simply stunning (yer I'm a girl). The bathroom was large and appeared to have endless hot water. The main part of the resort sits over the water and this was particularly atmospheric. Very romantic made even more so due to the staff moving candles and flowers every time we moved. The staff were nothing short of AMAZING. These young men and women worked from dawn until dusk only taking time off to go to school. Whilst in Kampot we were both struck down with flu and staff were nothing short of lifesaving. They attended to our needs from our bedside. Not intrusive just genuinely concerned. They became almost family and we have been invited to return next year for their high school graduation. So lots of positives. Now on to the negatives. The owners. They appeared to sit around every evening drinking with friends and generally making guests feel uncomfortable like we were gatecrashers at their party. They were also quite rude to staff and guest alike. If the owners only realised the true asset of this establishment is not fancy rooms, the jet boat and the plans for a pool but in their amazing staff and treated them with the respect they deserve this place could be unforgettable to other guests as it will always be to us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

i completely endorse all the positive reviews of this kampot hotel.all our needs were happily met.beautiful views from the rooms and overlooking the river sunsets.look out for mr.chin when you arrive by bus he is so helpful.great food.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exploreraustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This new guesthouse is just wonderful. It is located at the riverside with a fantastic view over the elefant mountains. Everything is very clean and the staffmembers are very ambitious in fullfilling the customers wishes even though their english is yet basic. All in all it is definetly a highly relaxing place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadine170482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Me and my girlfriend had a great stay here at the newly built Natural Bungalows. We originally planned to stay at Rikitikitavi, but fortunately they were booked out and we came across this place. The room we stayed in cost $15 between us which was an absolute bargain. The room came with all expected amenities, AC, wifi, fridge, TV, en-suite as well as lots of character.

The dining area was probably one of the best locations we came across. In the morning we woke up to breakfast looking over the mountains and river.

The staff were very helpful in organising day trips around Kampot, our porter also drove to the caves as well as the pepper plantation (not too exciting, but the caves were cool).

Overall we had a great stay and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Kampot.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank propernice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 107, 108, 109 sind renoviert und sehr schön.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gudsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.7 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Kampot Riverside Hotel
#7 of 17 in Kampot
200 reviews
1 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Java Bleue
La Java Bleue
#7 of 94 in Kampot
180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Champa Lodge
Champa Lodge
#7 of 68 in Kampot
162 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eden Eco Village
Eden Eco Village
#8 of 68 in Kampot
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Bungalows

Address: River Road | 60 Meters North Of The New Bridge, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range: $33 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Natural Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Natural Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing