We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet riverside location good value”
Review of Natural Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Natural Bungalows
Ranked #52 of 93 Kampot B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The entrance to the Bungalows may make you wonder - road is rough and some surrounding locations not very scenic. But after you walk through the gate you'll be glad you did. The bungalows are set around a lovely garden area. They are clean, with air con and comfortable bed. The restaurant area has a main section and two other sections that are sitting out on the river itself. The menu offers a wide selection of food and drink, which was always good, especially at dinner but the english is limited in many staff and service was very slow some days. It is a short walk from there to the downtown area of other restaurants and some shopping if you are interested. Sunsets along the river are beautiful and sitting out on the floating terrace was a lovely way to enjoy them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eelgrasslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 197 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

we had a nice stay, the bungalow is spacious, clean, wifi working good.
But we had sreious trouble with our passports. They promised they will arrange our visa for vietnam in 2 days.
So we booked flights etc... They said to be sorry, but because of chinese newyear it would take several days more...
So, it is a fine place to stay but not when it is TET.
The staff is not working, they close the restaurant for 3 days at least without warning.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mieke-g15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We got to this place after looking around for a place for the night! It was getting dark and most other place were fully booked. The staff greeted us very warmly but their English was extremely basic or even say limited, below the average of other places around the area. Never the less, we were shown two rooms on the second floor that overall, we're lovely and definitely a good value for money!!! We took these two rooms without seeing more and had a great two nights there. The resort itself is very nice and chilled out place. Everyone were pretty nice and looked very welcoming, and professional. The only exception was with the laundry that was missing some stuff so I had to check with them twice (once at the same evening, guess they couldn't see a thing as it was dark) and again in the morning. They were however, so apologetic. They even had their own tuk tuk to take us the few hundreds of meter into the center of town for free. We took it two times and the guy was even willing to wait for us while we had dinner. The only food we had the was the breakfast that was included in the price of the room. Though basic it was nicely served.
There were several aspects they were very poor about. First, they did not have any business cards!!! (I always take one whenever I check in in case I will need it and for future reference) and I was quite surprised how little number of guests they had considering all other places were fully booked. This place has a great potential but needs proper marketing, and more English (possibly other languages) training.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EESTWIMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place, a collection of "rustic" bungalows set beside the river, is strictly budget only - don't expect any 5-star comforts here.

The location, down an unpaved extension of the river street, seemed a little dodgy at first but this impression quickly passed. It's an easy 10 minute walk down to Kampot's river front action.

Our room (on ground level - the upstairs rooms have a balcony) was basic but otherwise large and comfortable, with TV and A/C but no fridge. The bathroom was also large with a clearly defined shower area but unfortunately no power point. We found the biggest nuisance to be the lack of hanging space provided.

The undoubted star here, however, is the lovely terrace on and over the river out the back. A perfect spot to kick back and enjoy a drink, a meal or just watch the sun go down. We found the food on offer to be more than adequate, both for dinner and breakfast. The dinner menu is extensive, with the best choices probably being those featuring the local pepper. Breakfast is more limited but only the exceptionally fussy would have difficulty finding something suitable.

We found the staff to be generally friendly and helpful. A good value laundry service is also available. Overall an excellent budget choice for a few days stay in Kampot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a lovely couple of days in Natural Bungalows. The room was very clean - pretty amusing pink themed decor with some bizarre pictures on the wall.
The food was good and the guy on the front desk was hugely helpful! The location is great for access into the town.....maybe a little close to the busy bridge, but not too bad.

Rusty Keyhole, great for food. Fantastic Khmer food and the ribs are pretty awesome too!!
Evening river cruise $5, great value and a nice way to spend a couple of hours.
Tour to the lime caves, pepper plantation and Monkey Island $17 - again brilliant value and a great day out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakleybokely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Our first room was on the left as you enter and was fine (apart from a shower curtain covered in mildew) until we went to bed, at which point a family of what we assume were rats started fighting every couple of hours. There were also cockrills making their racket first thing. No big deal, we just moved rooms. The new room was on the other side and absolutely fine.

The location on the river was nice, and their jugs of frozen margaritas also great.

Negatives;

Overpriced bottles of water (manager please note: it's water and it's petty to charge double what it costs outside).

The breakfast was average at best. Avoid.

The guy on reception with the decent English and the cool hair (Daro) is rude. We were always pleasant to him, but he was icy and aloof, demanding we pay for everything immediately. He also came to our room on the morning we left to tell us we were late. We reminded him that he said the bus comes at eight and it was ten to. His reply; "it's eight now" in a condescending tone. We were downstairs on time and he smirked and told us that we were too late and it had left. It came back for us, but his disrespectful tone left a very sour taste. Sort his attitude out and my review would be much more even.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliussssssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were part of an Intrepid trip. The location is Very pretty but a bit out of town. Breakfast on the deck was perfect. Dinner was very ordinary. Better dinner options in town. Room was good. We had the pink room.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.4 mi away
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Kampot Riverside Hotel
#7 of 17 in Kampot
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Two Moons hotel
Two Moons hotel
#8 of 17 in Kampot
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Eden Eco Village
Eden Eco Village
#6 of 65 in Kampot
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#8 of 93 in Kampot
369 reviews
9.8 mi away
Nataya Roundhouse Coral Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Bungalows

Address: River Road | 60 Meters North Of The New Bridge, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range: $33 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Natural Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Natural Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing