We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down badly”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Paris Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paris Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 79 Kampot B&B and Inns
Perth WA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Let down badly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We arrived at 6.20 pm to find that our booked room had been given to someone else. The man on reception just laughed and said we were not there by 6pm. He did not attempt to help us or offer any suggestions of places to try. He silly turned aside and started chatting to another person. We were planning to stay for up to four months so they have lost a long term client. I don't know what happened to the friendly and helpful staff mentioned in other reviews.

Room Tip: Despite booking well ahead and confirming our booking our room was not kept for us. There was no way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynQPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
16
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Pros:
+ Excellent central location with noise-suppressing, thick windows
+ Cheap
+ Well managed by Sophia, a lovely lady who will bend over backwards to help
+ Clean room
+ Excellent quality bed

Cons:
- The cleaning woman blaring Buddhist chants on TV early in the morning (just tell Sophia)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyKiwiBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

This guest house ticks all the boxes if you're looking for the following. Comfortable room at a reasonable price, centrally located and a friendly staff. By no means 5 star, but delivers a lot for the price. If in Kampot again we would stay here

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelseale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Paris guest house is a great little guest house located in a central spot in Kampot Ideal for getting around with bike rentals and friendly helpful staff. Clean,spacious rooms. Brilliant value for money

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and could not have ben happier.Nice room,comfortable bed and quiet.Not far from the river and nearby restaurants.Have stayed in Kampot before but this place was a lot better than previous guesthouses.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huib V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice basic hotel near the river. Simple but clean rooms, great value at $8 for a double fan room. Cheap bicycle rental and right next to Chims where motorcycles can be rented. Plent of places to eat nearby and all within walking distance. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LamesMcFuzzyBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nites in jan 2013
We paid 15 dollars for a twin room with air con ,tv,hot shower and wi fi in room.
We found this to be a pretty comfortable stay in kampot .the room was big and clean , air con worked well , the beds were big and really comfortable ,and the bedding wad clean.the wi fi worked well in our room and we were on the top floor .
We were asked every day if we wanted the room cleaned ,which is not always the case in cambodia ,and the young lady who did the cleaning was always happy and smiling .
on the second nite we had a problem with our tv and Sophia the maanageress got a man to come and fix it within an hour !!
as other rewiews have said the bathroom does have a ventilatiion brick that lets you hear whats going next door ,but its set to high for anyone to peek in .
We hired motorbikes to go up bokorhill ,as the road up is now the best kept road in cambodia and had a laugh when we got back to the hotel ,and were told to park the motorbikes in the hotel lobby overnite to keep them safe -great customer service .
Sophia the manageress is a really lovely lady , she made us feel really welcome and when we had a problem with a travel agent who forgot to book our bus ticket to sihanoukville to leave she rang them and sorted it all out , even though we did not book it with her , she really is a star.
We would happily stay at the paris again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmmh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.1 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paris Guesthouse 2
Paris Guesthouse 2
#8 of 79 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Magic Sponge
The Magic Sponge
#2 of 56 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Naga House, Kampot
Naga House, Kampot
#17 of 79 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Birds Nest
Birds Nest
#31 of 79 in Kampot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Piphub Thmey Guesthouse
#40 of 79 in Kampot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Guesthouse

Property: Paris Guesthouse
Address: 19 Phum1, Ousaphear, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paris Guesthouse is a modern Guesthouse ideally situated near to the river, the bus station and town center. The location allow you to discover most of the city by foot. Paris Guesthouse offers some budget rooms price, and Sophea also her friendly familly will be happy to answer your questions on Kampot and surrounding area. Victim of her success Sophea has opened a second guesthouse: "Paris 2", not far from Paris Guesthouse. For more information or see photo, please consult the page "Paris 2 Guesthouse". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paris Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing