We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you feel like a bit of luxury, you get a lot for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nataya Roundhouse Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you feel like a bit of luxury, you get a lot for your money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Found this place by accident while exploring the area on motorbikes, came from Phnom Bokor and saw a sign for the resort and figured it might be on the seaside. When we arrived we had a drink, watched the sun set and had a meal, then decided to come back the next morning, spend the day in the pool then have a night of luxurious dining and sleeping in a very expensive room. I am not a fussy traveller and always stay in budget places, so my 1 night here with 2 friends was really amazing. Didn't have any problems with staff or with pool being too full, even got to use the pool at night and had the whole thing to ourselves! The food is delicious (had King Crab with green pepper), if a little pricey, and the rooms were impeccable. The outdoor shower didn't work unfortunately. The location is the main attraction, on the sea with a private jetty where you can walk out and watch the sunset over the tip of the peninsula that sticks out beyond the resort to the west. Definitely worth $115 for the room, divided between 3 people, but definitely not for travellers on tight budget. Building work going on wasn't too big an issue and won't always be going on. Highly recommend for couples with medium budget, or anyone if you have a few extra dollars and want to splash out.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are very close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    43
    32
    17
    13
See reviews for
32
64
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice and beautiful place with big swimingpool and big bungalows. As others posted, the staff is friendly and attentive but definetely they are not well trained. Their English is poor and the operations just a disaster. You feel the chaos when having dinner for instance. A lot of staff, standing next to you but not knowing what to do. The manager should take care more of this and coach them better.
It is also not so clean as it should be.
The internet connection is a nightmare even though there are more than 7 routers around the resort.
Next time, I will try another hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Xavier o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

There were certain aspects of our 4 day stay which were fantastic and others that were not so good. The grounds, pool and round houses are fabulous - no complaints there. Our problem with the hotel was that when we arrived, they were undergoing building and renovation work to the main building. There was no restaurant or Oyster bar and much of the area looked like a building site. The calm and tranquil setting that we were looking forward to, was somewhat shattered by the sound of angle-grinding, drilling and hammering! The fine dining and air-conditioned restaurant that is advertised, was definitely not our experience, we ate by the beach! By our last day, the place was looking better and breakfast was served on the lawn, which was a huge improvement. When the drilling stopped, the atmosphere was shattered yet again by non-stop music being played by the hotel. I guess it is what their clients want but is not what we were expecting. The hotel has so much potential to be so much more.
The beginning of our stay (from Tuesday) was less busy, but by Friday the weekend visitors were coming in. Day visitors using the pool, as some reviewers have said, weren't a problem, the hotel staff took our names and room numbers each day when we went to the pool to ensure you were a residents.
Kampot is about 16k from the resort so not easy to get to if you want to look around or eat out of the hotel. The staff at Coral Bay were friendly and helpful.
Would recommend but with some reservations. I'm sure it will be greatly improved when the building work is completed.

Room Tip: The delux rooms are larger than the superior rooms and in a quieter area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoneyPenny548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We also stayed at the end of a busy holiday weekend in May. When we arrived there were many day visitors and it did take a short while to get into our bungalow. However this was soon forgotten. We really enjoyed the two nights and it would have been better to stay longer, The staff were very good. The owner's family members that we met made us most welcome and made sure that everything worked out well for us. We enjoyed the long and interesting chats with them.
The chef was also very customer focused and cooked us some delicious indian meals.
We had a wonderful relaxing stay at the nataya resort.

Room Tip: Each of the bungalows seemed to be well placed and close to facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FullTime_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place could be perfect. Unfortunately, our experience was a nightmare. We came over from Kep to Nataya to spend a long weekend with friends. Our group shared 5 bungalows. Prior to leaving from Kep, we called Nataya reception to arrange a pick up from Kampot as Nataya is in fact quite far from the town of Kampot. The car and driver arrived over an hour late...foreshadowing...so was the nonexistent welcome upon arrival. The room, with zero pressure for the shower, TV cabinet door that wouldn't close and dead cockroach on the floor would have been excusable had our complaints been dealt with effectively. Surprisingly, the manager even made an appearance after we called reception. He inspected the dead cockroach on the bathroom floor and tried to talk away the other problems. Amazingly, he did not even bother to remove the dead insect!
Things really started to turn sour at the pool. For one, the water was a deep green, resembling more a murky lake than the sky blue pool advertised in the hotel prospectus. We called management once more. They assured us that it was safe to swim in.
As we settled on our deck chairs and ordered lunch (Pizza) that took over an hour to arrive, a convoy of 3 vehicles kicked up dust throughout the resort. We didn't even know that cars were allowed on the 'foot' path connecting the bungalows with the rest of the resort. That the convoy stopped in front of the pool was our luck! Ignoring the large sign that read something to the effect of 'Pool For Resort Guests Only", out came more than a dozen 'day guests' who immediately conquered every remaining square foot of the pool area. To our great dismay, a sub-group proceeded to enter the pool - in their day clothes! - without showering! Now the colour of the pool started to make more sense to us.
Outraged by this, we suggested that they at least shower (as per pool rules displayed). They refused so we called management - again. After another half-hour wait, someone finally showed up. We explained what was going on but it quickly became apparent that there was nothing the hotel could do to prevent these uninvited guests from enjoying their swim in the sun.
The situation got even more heated. After our complaint about them entering the pool in their clothes, the goup's men decided to enter the pool without any, wearing nothing but their kramas! We could not believe our eyes when when we saw one of them washing himself in the pool with what seemed to be a bar of soap but to our amusement turned out to be a chlorine pellet! At that stage we simply lost it. After a fierce shouting match with the manager, we finally beat the day trippers into retreat. But not without one last incident that easily could have turned out very very nasty. As my wife was walking down the path inside the resort she was intentionally struck by the car leading the departing convoy. Another resort guest (not from of our group, btw) witnessed this and gestured to the driver to stop. The driver (the leading patriarch of the group) laughingly ignored this until the guest kicked the side of his car. What ensued was a shouting match bordering on physical assault as the driver's body guard snatched the phone out of my wife's hand she had used taken pictures of the car's driver and registration plate. We insisted on calling the police but in the end accepted 'mediation' by the hotel owner who admitted that she was powerless to prevent this group of well connected (and incidentally armed) officials from entering the grounds of her hotel. The official's apology (forced by the hotel owner) to my wife defused the situation somewhat. At that stage, we even gave the hotel the benefit of the doubt, and decided to stay another night. But when the leg of my chair broke through the rotten wooden plank of the roof terrace where breakfast was served, even I had enough. We checked out a few hours later and went back to Kep - which suddenly became an even better place - thanks to Nataya and its lovely staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank voyager_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampot hotels

Phnom Penh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here during a busy holiday weekend so our experience may have been affected by the fact that the resort was full and there were a lot of day visitors. The resort itself is great - our two young children could build sandcastles while we watched them from the balcony of our hut and they loved the pool. Niggles included:
The pricing of the rooms is very unclear - we were unable to work out if our room was superior or deluxe - there were not the number of each as advertised - I suspect they are converting cheaper rooms to the more expensive type.
Breakfast was under-resourced, both in terms of staff and food.
The place needs to catch up on some general maintenance.
The pool could have been cleaner.
There were a lot of day-visitors which rather took away from the staying-in-a-resort theme,
The huts are not well sound-proofed (there are two separate rooms in most of the huts) - you really are at the mercy of your next-door neighbours if you want an early night or a morning lie-in.
On the other hand, the setting is great - the staff were helpful (if a little haphazard) - the food was good.
Not sure if I would go back at the prices charged.
Overall, the place would benefit from professional top management.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our young family stayed here for three nights (for the price of two) and had a great time. The staff went above and beyond in helping us feel welcome and comfortable, even looking after our two young kids sometimes when we were eating or in the pool. The garden setting on the seaside make for a very tranquil relaxing stay, and the pool... amazing! We stayed in a deluxe room which were large, clean, sea views, and the outdoor shower and bath a feature. Excellent food, and unlike most places like this, they don't take advantage of the isolation by over charging. We will be going back soon. Cant recommend it highly enough!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMptpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampot
9.9 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
17.1 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
9.9 mi away
Two Moons
Two Moons
#7 of 17 in Kampot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#9 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nataya Roundhouse Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nataya Roundhouse Coral Bay Resort

Property: Nataya Roundhouse Coral Bay Resort
Address: Prek Ampil | Off Road No. 3, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nataya Roundhouse Coral Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 16 km from Kampot and nestled at the foothills of Bokor Mountain, Nataya Roundhouse Coral Bay Resort and Spa Provides something unique to fulfill every traveler’s dreams and desires. We have become a popular retreat for romantic escapes, family reunions, destination weddings, and eco-vactions, as well as small team building and conferences. This prime location is as alluring as it is rich ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nataya Roundhouse Coral Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nataya Round House Coral Bay Hotel Kampot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing