We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, beautiful and completely chilled!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More
Ranked #3 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small, beautiful and completely chilled!”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Ganesha, run by chatty German Dirk, is a wonderful small scale resort slightly out of town (Kampot). Comprising a mixture of Yurts (around $15/night) right on the river, a Khmer house and "The Tower", this place is sheer heaven for a week (or more) relaxing, walking, canoeing etc. Set in the forest and surrounded by farms and a small village, it offers the independent traveller a great opportunity to sample local Cambodian life and a chance to meet other like-minded individuals.
A good menu although the Western food options (cardboard chips and plastic bun) are nothing like as good as the local options (serves me right for even trying Western!)
Lovely, well-cared for gardens, excellent staff overseen by the extremely helpful and knowledgeable Ms Piri, make it a brilliant retreat.
This place wouldn't suit everyone, however. Cold showers and sometimes no water (but able to substitute with a water tank and hand-bucket, and sometimes noisy neighbours who love to play their local Cambodian pop songs late into the night with serious sound speaker systems.
We stayed in "The Tower" ($35/night) - an unusual stone and wood building on three floors, we were delighted to find we could get wifi on the top floor which overlooks the gardens and fields around and offers a spectacular view of the countryside.
The owner offers his wooden canoe for paddling on a small tributory to the main river and on the main river itself - a magical experience! Bicycles also available for free. But not easy to nip into town (3 km away) unless you've hired a motorbike or bicycle.
All-in-all, a brilliant place to stay if you're into nature and the environment, good food and company and very comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRealSnowQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    38
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
106
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

A wonderfully special place which well exceeded our expectations . Beautifully located & within easy reach of Kampot --- the surroundings give an insight into the " real " Cambodia , especially life on the river . Staying in one of the riverside Yurts gave us a superb viewing spot , also great views towards the mountains . Staff couln't have been more helpful & accomodating . Don't hesitate to stay here !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Ganesha with his adult daughter and we were thrilled to have discovered this place. It is serene, beautiful, relaxing and a tiny slice of paradise off the beaten track of Kampot.

In defence of the resort and "jeniabcn's" comments, there is SO much that this place has to offer. There was also a wedding happening in the neighbouring village while we were there causing the music to reverberate into the resort till late at night. But that's all part of being in an ecolodge where sounds echo off the trees and the stillness of the night can be interrupted by the buzz of an insect of the wailing of a nearby rock band.

I wouldn't for a moment trade the wide open windows and views across the jungle for a soundproofed, air-conditioned room. And we actually found the religious chanting to be quite charming and another local touch from the countryside, regardless of what time it occurred.

Since we were three adults, we stayed in the Tower room, which is quite unique. It consisted of three floors -- the bottom one with a sitting area and bathroom (with shower, I may add), the middle level containing two large beds and the third a beautiful airy space hung with four hammocks where you could dangle and gaze across the countryside and river.

Also in contrast to jeniabcn's comments, I found the staff to be delightful. The owner took special care to stop over and chat with us every time he saw us and the prompt and courteous emails from Pheara were welcoming to us, days before we arrived.

We ate all three meals at the lodge since we really didn't want to leave and take the pretty long ride into town. Why go anywhere when you have it all right there? The food was delicious, considering the remoteness of the place, and the peace and tranquility of the evening and early morning canoe ride was enough to convince us we would, without a doubt, be returning the next time we have family or friends in town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

After starting out down the dirt track to reach the place, the whole family were worried we had made a BIG mistake! Shouts of go back hailed from the back seat of our SUV as it bounced and hobbled down the narrow rock riddled track!
We were worried I have to say that this was going to end in disaster!
As it turned out it was possibly one of the great highlights of our 10 day road trip... The location is just beautiful and what Dirch/Dirk, Akoo & the team have done here is a mind boggle!
We simply loved the place... relaxing, friendly, quiet, fantastic food, beers and company!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHS009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We spent two nights in one of the Yurts on the river. Simple room - though all you need and lovely to be over the river with the locals going by in canoes fishing. A stunning spot in the middle of the countryside side by side with local life and nature. I felt that it was very responsibly run - quite basic for example no showers but this is reflected in the price. Good food and very helpful staff. A really memorable trip - will definitely visit again.

However, if you need fancy bathrooms and hate bugs then perhaps this is not the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Unfortunatelly, our expectations weren't fullfiled in Ganesha. We moved from Utopia hotel in search of proximity to Kampot and total relaxation, but we didn't reach any of those goals.
Although everyone was welcoming us in Ganesha, we didn't feel welcomed at all, it was our sad dissapointment. Probably it was due to that we were the only couple in the whole resort. The stuff was really helpful, but can't say the same about the owner. We had a feeling that this is more an ECOnomising project, than a real wish to have an ECO friendly and responsible guesthouse. All bathrooms are shared outside, and there're no showers, only the tipical Cambodian toilet and no toilet paper provided, although it's announced on the web as included. Although the web says Yurts are rented with canoe, you need to pay 5$ for its usage. It's a nicely built place, beautiful nature, but during the 4 nights we stayed, there were some very loud concerts in the near villages, which could be a bad luck of course. But take into considerence that Ganesha is situated in the very proximity to the muslim community, so be prepared to listed to muslim priest every morning around 5am as he was praying in your room.
Must say sleeping in Yurt is a very nice experience, although we couldn't sleep there for the planned 4 nights: it was raining hard on the 2nd day and the roof had a leak, so we had to move. We think it's an expensive place as regards to price - quality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeniabcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2010

This is the best resort in town. This resort is build at the best location just outside Kampot hidden behind tree's and rice fields. Easy acces with a bike you rent for $5,- a day.
Wonderfull location and really nice owners. Derrick keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eelcoenpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
3.2 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#10 of 17 in Kampot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Samon's Village
Samon's Village
#3 of 83 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bohemiaz Resort Cambodia
1.1 mi away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#7 of 83 in Kampot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More

Property: Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More
Address: Kompeng Kreang Village | Wat Tuk Well, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganesha Kampot has been designed with your spatial experience in mind.. We are an unusually low density guesthouse, of just 9 private units and 4 rooms, spread across 4 hectare, amid rich mangrove and tropical gardens. We welcome you to create unique memories in our hidden paradise, away from the high density and hustle of Asian cities.. Off of the beaten track, your experience starts upon an adventurous transit to Ganesha Kampot, taking a ride through breathtaking scenery, rice paddies and the beautiful surrounding mountains. We are located in Kampot Province, we are on the outskirts of Kampot city center, close enough to cycle, grab a tuk tuk or take the 10 minute drive. We welcome people who seek to immerse themselves in the culture and feel of an authentic Cambodia. Ganesha Kampot offers the perfect serene location for yoga, meditation, photography, reading or the simple luxury of granting yourself time and space, for you! Gaze at the crystal clear Milky Way on the balcony of your very own Tribal Hut in the garden, or enjoy the stunning 360 panoramic views from the top of The Tower. Wander in the incredible tropical garden, take a lazy boat ride down the river drift along in our traditional Khmer canoe or explore the beautiful Kampot countryside on one of our mountain bikes. During your stay here we are happy to introduce you to the extensive choice of outdoor activities, as well as directing you to our favourite local businesses in Kampot. Our restaurant offers both local Khmer cuisine, and Western dishes, all lovingly and expertly prepared by our amazing kitchen staff. We have a large menu for vegans and vegetarians and our staff would be happy to cater for your dietary requirements. Our bar also offers a wide selection of natural fruit drinks as well as cocktails, wines and spirits. Your inimitable stay in the heart of the Kingdom of Cambodia awaits at Ganesha Kampot... See you soon! The Ganesha Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing