We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miles and miles away from SHV.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More
Ranked #3 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Well where to start. I am based in Sihanoukville and was browsing through the newest addition of the Coastal Guide a free travel hand book here. I was looking at things to do in Kampot and came across a hidden Wat that was not in the last edition. The opposite full page advert was for Ganesha. The advert was very nice and I rang and booked in for 2 nights with my parents 1st time from the UK. We stayed 3. Would have stayed more. After a busy high season here it took a few meals of great fresh food and a few cans to unwind. I had booked 2 riverside bungalows Urts and walking over the gang plank to these round places to sleep I did not know what to expect at all. You enter the room and the bed is set perfectly so that you can lie down and look over the palms. Mosquito coils with lighter, bottled water, fresh towels, stand up fan, mosquito net. The attention to detail was just spot on. My Parents loved it. Burt the dog is great. Emmanuelle (be met) and Stephanie are great hosts and really help you to chill out and they run a great place and restaurant. Try the Crying Cauliflower if you are brave. I certainly cried for sure. My father had fried veggies with cashews and he said it was the best meal he had in Cambodia. I moved to the house for our last night in a double room for just $8.00. The views are fantastic all around this location. Great for photo's at dusk. Ganesha is located between a Khmer Cham Village and Khmer Buddhist Village and they hire from both so you get a real mix on the menu. Could not fault it at all. Waking with call to prayer at 5.30am with the wildlife then prayer at 6.00am was just amazing. I will certainly be back and I would recommend this to any like minded stressed soul. All the best to you 2. Thank you for a great time. Nick.

Room Tip: I am sure whatever you choose as long as you are going to kick back and relax Cambodge style you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kokopelli1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 276 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Ganesha in February. We originally booked for 2 nights and stayed for 6 - this is how much we enjoyed the place and the company.

Whilst the lodge is a tuk tuk ride from Kampot town this is what makes the place so tranquil and relaxing - nothing but peace and a gentle blowing breeze as you laze your days away. Still if you dont want to laze there are many activities to keep you entertained and Emmanuel and Stephanie are only too pleased to help in arranging these. There are free bikes to cycle into town and the ride through the local villages is a delight.

The accommodation is clean and comfortable - we stayed in a tribal hut where we could sit and enjoy the sunrise and sunset and Emmanuel would even bring us cocktails to enjoy whilst we relaxed watching the sunset. Seriously, nothing was too much trouble for the amazing hosts. We spent many nights playing pool, darts and just enjoying wonderful conversation with the wonderful guests, hosts and staff.

I considered the food to be of great value and the tofu curry was one of the best I ate in Cambodia - I still dream of it now. When we bought zucchini flowers at the local Kampot market (which is great by the way) the chef created a special meal for us to enjoy them - and all this was done with a smile, nothing was a hassle which makes this place so amazing.

Delphine gives amazing massages by the riverside - be sure to have one when you visit - you wont be disappointed!

All in all if you like peace and tranquilty, good conversations, amazing food and delightful company come and stay at Ganesha - it will be a highlight of your stay in Cambodia.

Lastly - take the sunset cruise up the river - at $3 it is a bargain and we saw some of the best sunsets on the river whilst sipping our cocktails - I dont have to say anymore!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ness111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed there as a group (15 people!), and it was a wonderful experience.
the site is beyond beautiful, and allows everybody to have intimacy . the food is fresh and excellent.
the owners were very accomodating .

Would definitely go back again .

Room Tip: the rooms in the main house (above the recpetion) may be noisy due to the fact the restaurant is jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cecile l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My hubby & I stayed here back in October (proud to be the couple Adam's cocktail was originally made for).. & we still dream about this place. The owners really make Ganesha feel like a home away home. Surrounded by beautiful mountains & right on the river, amongst small villages in Kampot this really is the best place ive stayed in Cambodia (& ive stayed in a few!). Our recommendations have also seen many friends go there, with one looking forward to her 3rd trip in just a few months! I couldnt rate this place highly enough for those looking for somewhere peaceful to get away from the rush of Phnom Penh & remember how amazing Cambodia really is.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Mongolian Yurts and initially were worried about the mosquitos, but amazingl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hensbens11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

if you're looking for a place to unwind and relax, if you enjoy nature and serenity, if you're happy not to be available to everyone in the world (no wi-fi), if you want to be around great and caring hosts and enjoy fantastic food, if you want to feel more like a traveller in Cambodia experiencing some Cambodian life style than this is the place for you. It was for me. I loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

OMG SIMPLY AMAZING!! We (2 adults and 3 kids) stayed in Ganesha's beautiful Eco Resort in mid January planning on staying only two nights but ended staying for five nights, we wished we could've stayed for 5 months!! You are doing yourself a favour by staying in such a peaceful, scenic part of Kampot. I would highly recommend staying here. We stayed in The tower then moved to the Khmer House where we got to see the best sunset. Rooms and bathrooms were always spotless and inviting with all the hammocks around. The kids absolutely loved hanging out in them in the Tower with 360oC views of Kampot. Thank you Stephanie and Emmanuel for being the perfect hosts. The owners really are genuine and are more than happy to cater to your every need. Nothing was too much trouble especially since my husband had arrived quite sick and Stephanie and Emmanuel were genuinely concerned and helped out with the right medicine. We loved hanging out at the bar and having a great chat about what we did that day while our kids played pool. Now as a foodie I cannot rate the food highly enough. Easily one of the best places to eat in Cambodia. The food was always fresh and so so tasty. From the juices, smoothies and pancakes that our kids devoured every morning. You can't go past the chefs specialties too. It was a real treat to know that after a day of sightseeing we were more than happy to come back to the Ganesha to relax and eat their amazing food. We used the bikes one day to cycle into Kampot, free bikes what a bonus. Another highlight was going for a boat ride and swim with Bart the Boatman. He took us out on his boat on the river and took us to a place not too deep but so refreshing for a swim. Bart even stopped by the Ganesha to pick up my sick husband to see if he was well enough to join us on the rest of the boat trip. We even saw a hornbill. If you want to relax you can if you want to ride a bike or go for a walk or take a tuk tuk you can. It was very easy to wile away the hours here and just chat too. We also took advantage of having the best massage by Delphine right beside the river out in the fresh air. What a treat that was. If you can stay at the Ganesha plan to stay awhile as it's very sad to leave. We will definately be coming back here. We miss you.

Room Tip: The Tower was fantastic kids loved the hammocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights in Ganesha on our way to Phnom Penn and although there arent bad things I could say about the place I cannot say That I was thrilled either. Maybe due to the fact we were coming from KOh ROng islands so we were a bit spoiled!
The place is basically a few bungalows on stilts on the middle of a field and near a small river and its owned by a french couple ( most of the clients of the place were french). Its placed right in between a budhist and a muslim area. The ride to KAmpot is about 15 m intuk tuk and it costs about $4.

Things I liked: bungalows on stilts were nice and a new experience to me, they also had two entrances which it gives a nice night breeze coming in. They area very basic accommodation with two Mattresses on the floor a fan (handy for mosquitoes) and mosquito nets. Toilets were shared and they were clean. Restaurant had a wide variety of dishes either western or KHmer food. The landlady was very nice and genuinely friendly and did her best to ensure you felt welcome on the place.
No power cuts at all, which is something rare in some resorts here.

Things I didnt like: , Food although was good was a bit pricey for Cambodian standards. The muslim chants at 5am didnt bother me much ( they lasted only about 2-3 m to be honest) but the music coming from the other side of the field was a different thing. It was a mixture of 2 or 3 bars at the same time and although it wasnt too loud you could hear it until midnight ( at some point i felt like sleeping in a tent on the outskirts of GLasto). For some reason also there was some xilophone playing all night from the budhist side ( i think it was due to the king cremation celebrations). Needless to say none of this things were Ganesha fault and they were just little annoyances. Last thing wifi was very slow but then again this is up to the network nor the resort.
Overall we enjoy our staying just as a relax stop over although I felt a bit bored due to the lack of things to do but this, like I said its not a reason to give bad reviews of our staying.

Room Tip: There is a boat trip on the afternoon to see the sunset on the river for $5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheReegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
3.1 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
339 reviews
2 mi away
Sabay Beach
Sabay Beach
#2 of 93 in Kampot
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden Eco Village
Eden Eco Village
#6 of 65 in Kampot
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bohemiaz Resort Cambodia
2.7 mi away
The Magic Sponge
The Magic Sponge
#2 of 65 in Kampot
345 reviews
1.9 mi away
Samon's Village
Samon's Village
#4 of 93 in Kampot
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More

Address: Kompeng Kreang Village | Wat Tuk Well, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Kampot
Price Range: $11 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganesha Kampot has been designed with your spatial experience in mind.. We are an unusually low density guesthouse, of just 9 private units and 4 rooms, spread across 4 hectare, amid rich mangrove and tropical gardens. We welcome you to create unique memories in our hidden paradise, away from the high density and hustle of Asian cities.. Off of the beaten track, your experience starts upon an adventurous transit to Ganesha Kampot, taking a ride through breathtaking scenery, rice paddies and the beautiful surrounding mountains. We are located in Kampot Province, we are on the outskirts of Kampot city center, close enough to cycle, grab a tuk tuk or take the 10 minute drive. We welcome people who seek to immerse themselves in the culture and feel of an authentic Cambodia. Ganesha Kampot offers the perfect serene location for yoga, meditation, photography, reading or the simple luxury of granting yourself time and space, for you! Gaze at the crystal clear Milky Way on the balcony of your very own Tribal Hut in the garden, or enjoy the stunning 360 panoramic views from the top of The Tower. Wander in the incredible tropical garden, take a lazy boat ride down the river drift along in our traditional Khmer canoe or explore the beautiful Kampot countryside on one of our mountain bikes. During your stay here we are happy to introduce you to the extensive choice of outdoor activities, as well as directing you to our favourite local businesses in Kampot. Our restaurant offers both local Khmer cuisine, and Western dishes, all lovingly and expertly prepared by our amazing kitchen staff. We have a large menu for vegans and vegetarians and our staff would be happy to cater for your dietary requirements. Our bar also offers a wide selection of natural fruit drinks as well as cocktails, wines and spirits. Your inimitable stay in the heart of the Kingdom of Cambodia awaits at Ganesha Kampot... See you soon! The Ganesha Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing