We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to enjoy rural Cambodia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Manguiers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Manguiers
Ranked #6 of 79 Kampot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to enjoy rural Cambodia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Thank god I didn't listen to the last guy to review this hotel!!! Les Manguiers is the best place I have staying in Asia so far. Sure it is rustic, sure there are dogs that bark, kids having fun and fishing boats, but you're in the country side of Cambodia and that is the point isn't it?? Otherwise why are you in Kampot??

After a bumpy ride to the Guest House and waving to 100's of incredibly friendly and enthusiastic kids we were greeted by very friendly staff who were exceptionally helpful to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We ended up staying one night in room B3 which is my favourite room. A great balcony where you can watch the sun set at night and look out over the river during the day. There was a lovely breeze at night which kept the room cool. The second night we stayed in one of the bungalows next to the river. It was very peaceful and roomy.

The food was great and once you asked how the meals worked it turned out to be economical and exciting as there was always a great spread of different dishes to eat. There is always more food than you can eat too!! I ended up coming back briefly by myself and the staff invited me to eat with them as opposed to being alone. They are very sweet and interested in tell you about their lives and culture.

There are bikes to ride, kayaks to paddle and a great river to swim in. There is also internet and Wifi. Go on the boat ride at night and see the fireflies as there are hundreds of them in the trees. All you need to do is ask the staff what there is to do and they will tell you. They can organize tours, buses, transport etc for you.

I can't say enough good things about this place, it really is worth coming and staying here. i'll definitely being coming back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1countryatatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    58
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
61
71
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Kampot does not have a huge number of locations to stay (yet) so this is still a good choice BUT they have some issues...

Bungalows were nice and clean but the decor could be improved. Turquoise bedding with Santa (Red and White) curtains....

Privacy in bungalows but very noisy with just a fan. Karoke late into the night. Dogs barking always. Roosters always. River boats and other people - lots of cute kids but very noisy.

The owners need to provide more information upon arrival about how meals work and what trips are available. We always has to ask the main desk which was always busy because it is info, drinks, food, check-in, check-out, safe central...we think they should divide this into two areas to accommodate customer needs. We always had to wait.

There are lots of dogs who do not seem that clean or looked after and wandering in areas where people eat.

Set menu - they don't tell us ahead us ahead what it is and does not provide choice for those who might not like everything. Food is good though.
Breaftast was prety sparse for the money - they should at least add an egg.

Service needs improvement. Lots of staff - some helpful, some not so much.

We did not swim because the water quality seemed questionable but lots of people did.

Free bikes and kayaks are great.
Firefly boat tour is good too...as long as you find out about it.
Very family friendly - lots of activities.

Free Internet but so slow, we would rather have paid. only one worked out of two but no one seemed to care

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

Great Bungalows right on the river. No AC or hot water. The charm outweighs the lack of amenities. They had working rice patties and livestock. Bikes to lend out if you wanted to explore Kampot or the surrounding countryside. Night boat rides to enjoy the phosphorescent river and fireflies. Across the river you can hear the prayers and music fro one of the Buddhist Wat or temple.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank folderover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnom penh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We've been living in Cambodia for a few years now, and Les Manguiers is our favorite spot for a weekend get-away. Just outside of town, relaxed atmosphere, nice swimming, good food, free bikes, good staff, boat rides and activities can be organized for fair prices. The place to go.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mystertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

This a great place to stay with lovely views over the river. The rustic bungalows are comfortable and quirky. It is quite noisy at night, but that is due to the chorus of nature. It's really romantic falling asleep to the sound of frogs and geckos. Lovely.
The staff are fantastic and always smiley and helpful. We were ravenous when we arrived and were given a tasty home-cooked meal.
I would recommend a trip on the river by canoe.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinjawitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We had a wonderful week here on our trip through Cambodia and Vietnam. The service was excellent, Watana, the manager, so helpful and friendly and the bungalows charming. Dinner by the river in the evening was delicious and the whole experience is highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anguslhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

A great place for some relaxation. We had one of the bungalows, which was basic but comfortable. A nice terrace with views of the river, good quiet fan and mossie net. We never worked out quite how to get hot water (someone brings it I think) but the normal water was plenty warm enough for showers etc. The bungalows are really well-spaced, and the whole site is quiet. It was full when we stayed, but you never felt your were surrounded. It was extremely peaceful.

This is a lovely spot by the river: three small huts built out over the water are very pleasant for eating, or just lazing. The food is great. We ate several lunches and evenings and enjoyed prawn and pomelo salad, lovely variety of fruit, barbequed meats, baked eggs - all Cambodian dishes prepared outdoors on site.

There's not much info on arrival which is a shame because the activities were a highlight, and rates were very reasonable. It's worth asking. We hired a kayak for a fantastic drift down the river (they took us up a few miles with a trailer) and had a short night boat trip to admire the fireflies. We also hired a moto to explore a bit. It's 2 kilometres into town down a rough track, and if you eat in Kampot in the evening, the tuk-tuks are reluctant to take you back in the dark. Having your own transport is a good option, and fun. The website said it was safe to swim in the river - we were sceptical, but it's true! It's clean, there's no currents and it's a real pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vigonose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
1.7 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#8 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#7 of 79 in Kampot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Manguiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Manguiers

Property: Les Manguiers
Address: Prey Thnot Village | Kampong Kreng Commune, Kampot BP 712 , Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Les Manguiers Hotel Kampot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing