We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do keep the reservation”
Review of Les Manguiers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Manguiers
Ranked #6 of 85 Kampot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“They do keep the reservation”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Made a booking 6 weeks in advance vie internet
Were told that only the most expansive bungalow was available, we agreed
Gave our visa number and were told that they would keep a full one day fee in case of no show.
When we did arrive the bungalow was occupied, and we add to wait one hour for an alternative.
A second class bungalow was offered free of charge and the next day we could move to the
"New bungalow". It was worth waiting as it is a charming bungalow with nice view and as it is built over the river
you can just jump and swin.
Pity the booking procedure is not reliable

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    59
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
61
73
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a relaxing 4 days at Les Manguiers with our 7yr old. The food was lovely and the setting was beautiful. We swam in the river ,did a trip to see the fire flies [7yrold loved that] and they arranged a trip to Bokor .
Very helpful staff and an amazing setting

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue44Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very french family run huge complex on the riverside with rooms in houses & bungalows on stilts. So peaceful, excellent food ( I took breakfast & set dinner), Endearing family & staff for every need. Kampot is just a riverside town & to get to Les Manguiers is a 20 min walk or 10 min tuktuk along a rough track road with bumps galore. Very popular so often full. Attracted young people & older ones. Eating & sitting areas on stilts over river. River swimming. Hammocks, river kayaks, bikes, board games & PCs in common areas. 3 days was not long enough as lots to do but I just enjoyed its paradise. Friendly town too with few visitors/tourists. Good value & at the end of my busy trip, a sense of bliss.

Room Tip: Rooms in houses were cheaper, but own bungalow was a real treat, if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rucksack_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

this was paradise. after 3 days in bustling phnom penh it was paradise to come to les manguiers. just by the river and with a view to the mountains it's the perfect setting. we stayed two nights in a big bungalow and one night in a small room in the main house. both really good value for money.
the bungalow was big, well organised, a very well done bathroom and clean. the room was 10$ and really good value for money. it had direct access to a living room which had access to the big terrace, both really smart when travelling as a family and maybe be needing some extra space when the children are asleep. the bungalow had a terrace for the same purpose.
the place has several river terraces that are perfect for the delicious food they're serving all day.
the service is very friendly and it seems as one big family you visit. all the staff speaks quite good english and several speak french.
the garden is great for children and there are several activities such as kayaking, bicycling, card games, ping pong, etc. to do.
only minus: it seems as a fast developing area where loud-music-in-the-evening-places open up which disturbed the illusion of being far away from other civilisation + just disturbing the beautiful setting. it was worst while staying in the bungalow. it seems as the house is more isolated against heat and sound.
this is the perfect family place where children will feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

(1) We had already booked private car from "Les Manguiers" by E-mail and confrimed. However, we lose time over one hours for waiting his private car. But we arrived at Les Manguiers, there had not any staff to say apology.
(2) Before at Les manguiers website, they provided free canoe using service to guest. However, we need to pay 40USD for rent canoe by check-out. Also, they had not any notifying or advising for us before.
(3) One cold bread and some jelly has gone sour and tea, you need pay 3USD.
(4) The room was very very dirty and more mosquito and flea. And there was no quiet because so many party and Karaoke at around.
(5) When we complained the about problem to staff, they locked the main gate and told us "you dislike, you move out now! but all money you must pay!"

Room Tip: "Natural Bungalows" is including air-condition, hot water for bath and breakfast, clearly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank you5042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I made a reservation for tow days but Tory(manager) made a mistake and gave us different worse room saying we can move tomorrow. But tomorrow Tory said there is no room available without no apology just crippy smiling. We asked to make a reservation another room in town. Tory said they have no room available. But at night when we were having dinner in town, there were room available there. Tory lied us many times....except that!
I won't go there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louis738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Although we experienced some hiccups at Les Manguiers (e.g. no water in our bathroom on waking up, our door did not lock), we felt really good about staying here. The location is just perfect, the staff are extremely helpful and put things right very, very quickly and always with a smile. It was so relaxing sitting on the chairs on one of the riverside bamboo/wooden platforms looking at the motor boats going past or reading a book. Free cycles are a bonus as they get you into town very quickly.There are mosquitoes at night - to be expected at a riverside location - but the mosquito net over the bed ensures a good night's sleep. It was simply wonderful and we wished we could have stayed more than one night.

Room Tip: We had one of the chalets furthest from reception, so it was really peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishtravelfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
2.0 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#9 of 17 in Kampot
26 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#4 of 85 in Kampot
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samon's Village
Samon's Village
#3 of 85 in Kampot
289 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sabay Beach
Sabay Beach
#4 of 58 in Kampot
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Manguiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Manguiers

Property: Les Manguiers
Address: Prey Thnot Village | Kampong Kreng Commune, Kampot BP 712, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Les Manguiers Hotel Kampot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing