We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice view but poor toilet & tapwater quality”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Sevan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harsnaqar Hotel Complex
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Sevan
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good location and nice view but poor toilet & tapwater quality”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel is located in a complex directly linked to the highway and Sevan Lake. The view and surroundings are very nice with the lake and mountains around it.

The hotel room is decorated with old English style furniture, spacious. We first got a standard room with twin beds but the toilet was out of order so we had to change the room. Since all rooms were fully occupied we were luckily upgraded to a suite room with two bedrooms and a large living room with a window overlooking the lake. Furniture are old-fashioned English style. The big bedroom has also a balcony where we can relax, sip tea and watch the sun rises above the surface of the lake. All seemed to be OK, except that the quality of tap water in this hotel was very bad. It smelt like rust and there was always some parts of weathering steel coming out with water. We had no choice but to shower under such water quality. We could not brush our teeth with tap water and has to use bottled water instead.

The hotel restaurant served only continental buffet breakfast with small varieties of bread and boiled eggs. Nothing more.

I guess the only advantage of staying at this hotel is that it provides a good view of the lake and is convenient to take a ferry to the nearby Sevanavank since we can walk in 3 minutes to the pier from the hotel.

Room Tip: Request room with a lake view. Not a highway view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrapassornNathonglor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
14
18
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

There are not many hotels to choose from on the lake, so this hotel is adequate. However, it is a very dated hotel and not very appealing. Our room was large, but had granny's settee and similar furniture in it - altogether very average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ulrike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

When we came to this hotel, we were ready to face problems, but it was good suprise.
Rooms were huge, clean, with no bad odours, it looked like they were newly renovated. Nice big bathroom. Good position near the lake. Breakfast very basic, but OK.
Good value for money.
Now the minus side:
Unhelpfull staff, and problems with paying by credit cards.
Although in our booking it said that we can pay with credit cards, when we wanted to pay they would only take cash. No ATM near, so we had to pay for taxi to take us to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vekiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers, Pays de la Loire, France
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

nice from the outside the hotel is getting a bit old in the inside. Still services are good,restaurant and breakfast were ok. We had a little trouble in the room, it was fixed 5 min later. Beach and waterpark are well taken care of... and yes it has an armenian style which is not always of best looking but guess, this is Armenia ! Look around and dont be so rude !
So it remains a good 3* with no more to say

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc-Antoine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

From the outside, the hotel looks rather grim and uninviting. Inside, it's not much better. The bedroom was comfortable to a point, but there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke (also right through the hotel). The carpet was almost clean. The bed was like sleeping on a wooden board. There was no air conditioning, and it was stiflingly hot. The bar had no atmosphere whatsoever and resembled an airport departure lounge. (An empty one). It closed at 9pm. So there was nothing to do for the rest of the evening. On the plus side, the views were good from certain rooms (not mine!) ant the breakfast was passable if unimaginative. May have been excellent in Soviet times, but we have moved on from then. The hotel hasn't.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy/belgium
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at the Harsnaqar Hotel on the Sevan Lake for one night as part of a tour of Armenia. I was really disappointed: the hotel was shabby, rooms were dusty and poorly illuminated, the bathroom did not appear clean. Staff was not interested in being helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was really ugly: no jam or honey, no cereals, no cold milk, no yogurt. We were only offered some bad quality coffee, bread and some eggs and sausages.
Common areas were also dusty and in real need of refurbishment.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Sevan hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here one night on a tour of Armenia and Georgia. There are good views of Lake Servan. The Sevanavank church complex atop a nearby hill is well worth visiting.
The rooms are large with somewhat fancy furniture for western tastes.
We were taken to another restaurant for dinner- so can't comment on what their meals are like.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daviddocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Sevan
27.3 mi away
Tufenkian Avan Marak Tsapatagh
1.8 mi away
Best Western Bohemian Resort
14.3 mi away
Tsaghkadzor Marriott Hotel
Tsaghkadzor Marriott Hotel
#1 of 17 in Tsakhkadzor
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Elegant Hotel and Resort
Elegant Hotel and Resort
#4 of 17 in Tsakhkadzor
61 reviews
22.5 mi away
Arthurs Aghveran Resort
Arthurs Aghveran Resort
#30 of 70 in Yerevan
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tsaghkunq Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harsnaqar Hotel Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harsnaqar Hotel Complex

Property: Harsnaqar Hotel Complex
Address: Tsamakaberd | Tsamakaberd, 38610, Armenia
Location: Armenia > Gegharkunik Province > Lake Sevan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Sevan
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Harsnaqar" Harsnaqar is the only hospitality complex in the area of Sevan Lake. Thanks to geographic location and high altitude, the complex has a wonderful view of the Lake and the Sevan peninsula. A one of the two aqua-parks in Armenia is in Harsnaqar, with a magnificently large pool intended for 950 people. The complex is one of the few that has its beach with more than 1 hectare territory. Harsnaqar is intended for sports fans too. Here are a mini-football ground, basket-ball, volley-ball and tennis, courts, conforming to professional standards and free for visitors.One of our unique points is the cottage section of the complex where families can enjoy their holidays. There are 14 family cottages, two-storied, furnished with all the modern conveniences and natural gas. The cottage section has a separate pool and beach intended only for those renting cottage. This section has a striking view of the Lake. We have considered also the needs of people on business trips and official meeting. The five presidential cottages and the conference hall are intended for such purposes. It`s worth mentioning that the heads of CSTO states and Dmitri Medvedev, the President of the Russian Federation, stayed at these cottages in 2010. The conference hall is furnished with equipment and an interpretation system of 50 people.There is an internet centre with new computers and free Wi Fi connection available over all the area, making the stay of business people most comfortable. Those who prefer passive rest many enjoy a game of billiard, tennis, cards, chess or nardi. The bar with a variety of drinks is a nice surprise for our guests. Your child won't get bored here either as there are a wonderful attractions. The closed pool is available year all long. You can get rid of your stress at the modern saunas and through professional massage at our complex. Another way of distressing and relaxation is a cruise on the lake on a yacht or water motorcycles. Another unique point of Harsnaqar is the opencafe right on the beach where you will be served a wide range of dishes. And if you still do not find your favourite dish in the cafe menu, you will find an amazing list of meals in the restaurant of Harsnaqar. All year round, there are live music performances in the hall of the restaurant intended for 250 people. The staff is ready to host any event, from wedding parties to official dinners, and for business meetings we have banquet halls, which can host 10-40 people. The large parking areas, the launderette, the shop of souvenirs, the winter park, the satellite TV, 24-hour security, the polite and friendly service of staff and many other aspects will make your stay at Harsnaqar an unforgettable experience. <> With love... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harsnaqar Hotel Complex Lake Sevan, Gegharkunik, Armenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing