We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, worth the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boundary Hill Lodge
USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place, worth the trip”
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We were based here for 2 nights while exploring the Tarangire area. It is a very nice lodge. The rooms are unique and the view is spectacular. The bed was very comfortable. The food was quite good and the service was surprisingly good. "Ema" was our waiter and he was especially good to us. We took advantage of going on a Maasai led walk, visiting a local Maasai boma and doing a night safari drive here. I would highly recommend all these activities.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boringscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    16
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We spent two nights at this lodge in January 2010, with family, so we had 3 rooms (there are only 8 at all), and only room nr.1 had the tub on the terrace :-( Views are fantastic from all the rooms, I think it can't be outdone!
The lodge itself is quite a long way from main road, and also from the park entrance (it takes about 40 minutes to get in the park on those bad roads), there is no air-con in the rooms, and the rooms are quite far away from the dining arera, but I think these are the only negative things I can mention.
Otherwise rooms are ok, very spacious, and quite comfortable, food was closest to our special Central-European taste :-) And the highlight of our stay was the night drive: we have seen 2 leopards!!!!!!!!! If You go there, do not miss it!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egermadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2010

I was on safari with a friend and we stayed here 3 nights and it was fantastic. Our room had great views with a bath on the verandah and you could see elephants below the verandah. There were views of Kiliminjaro although in the far distance in the early morning. The dining room was open with views over Tarangire. You could see elephants and Impala while eating breakfast. As others have said the staff were great,very friendly, the toilet in our room had a great view. can you imagine sitting on the John and watching elephants walking by. The food was really tasty and more than enough. We went on a night drive and saw a leopard. This was one of the highlights of our trip. The road while bumpy in parts was more than made up for by the lodge and was only about 30 minutes drive from the park gate. There are a lot of rough roads in Tanzania.We saw many giraffe and elephants during this drive so it is really just part of the park. The lodge is remote has only 8 rooms but who wants to be surrounded by a million tourists,even though I was one.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justbackWarrnambool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We stayed at Boundary Hill lodge on the last 2 nights of our 7-day safari. It was very beautiful, and I agree with everything the previous reviewers mentioned. Unfortunately, our tour was tempered by the fact that it takes a really long time to get to the lodge, and we had an early flight from Kilimanjaro after our safari. If you go in through Tarangire, it takes 2 hours to get to Boundary Hill lodge, as you basically drive into the park, across it, and out on the other side. The road from Boundary Hill lodge to the main road, which doesn't go through the park, was impassible because of recent rains. We ended up having to get up at 4 am and driving through the dark to get to our flight at Kilimanjaro at 10:30 am, which was pretty stressful and didn't lend itself to relaxation at the lodge. I would love to go back at another time when we didn't have that kind of time pressure and enjoy the lodge. The views are beautiful, we enjoyed the outdoor shower and bathtub, the food was fantastic (especially the bread!) and the staff are just as wonderful as everyone says. Just make sure you have plenty of time to get where you're going if you stay here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slobina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

My wife and I just finished a 2 day stay in early November in Boundary Hill. It was really a great hotel and probably one of the more underrated places in Tarangire. It's a very interesting place and has probably one of the most remarkable settings you will ever see for a hotel. Getting to theres is a bit tough, requiring about an hour drive up an extremely poorly maintained road (not the hotel's fault, its an 8 room hotel that requires a 30 kilometer dirt road up a large hill for access and it's really the only place using the road, no way it could afford to really maintain the road well). The hotel actually does not have a lobby or an indoor dining area- you check in outside under an overhang. The eating area is on an outdoor patio with panoramic views of the valley below, can make for a buggy experience, but dining there one of the most remarkable things I've ever experienced and something I believe everyone will appreciate. Quite honestly, it's one of the most beautiful settings I've ever seen. Rooms are spectacular, can have some bugs in them, but that inconvenience is more than made up by the views (including the view from the toilet which is pretty unreal). Your room basically has a panoramic view view of a huge conservation area outside of Tarangire. In our 2 days there we saw giraffes, antelope and elephants from our room and some of the most amazing sunrises ever (rooms face east so no sunsets). The staff are all masaai tribesman and are probably the nicest people you'll ever meet and really bend over backwards for you. All in, I'd highly recommend this hotel, at least for a night. Food was also very good, but for full disclosure we were the only people in the hotel both nights so we didnt have a buffet. Not sure how that would change the dining experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danmeds12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazuno, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I've been to safaris to Ngorongoro twice, Lake Manyara and the Okavango. This was by far the most impressive safari for various reasons:

LOCATION
As the name suggests, it's on the boundary into Tarangire National Park. As some of the other reviews have mentioned, the road to the lodge is quite bumpy but definitely worth it when you get there as it’s the only settlement in sight with amazing views. You can see the Milky Way at night when the sky’s clear. The gate into the National Park is also very close although we didn’t go (as you need to pay park and car fees). You can only pay the park fee by credit/debit card.

ACCOMMODATION
Each room is out of view of the others, not that it mattered on the first night as we were the only couple there! The one we stayed in had a comfortable double bed, a bath outside as well as the shower, and panoramic views even from the loo (see photos). You can just sit on the balcony and spot animals (binoculars recommended), or the rock hyraces might come and greet you!

Electricity is run on solar panels – there was no electricity on the second night but we had torches so it was fine. Also the sockets are old three pin ones (at 120 degrees to each other), so I couldn’t charge my phone but I didn’t need it anyway. We had hot water from the shower all the time but we didn’t fill the bath as we wanted to preserve water.

SAFARIS
We did walking safaris and a night safari as we're not huge fans of being in a car all day. Even though it was very dry, we still saw giraffes, elephants, zebra, etc. and ate baobab and marula fruit while walking. The guides were amazing at tracking and identifying faeces of different animals. We were lucky in that it was cloudy during the first morning walk. Some of the walks can be quite exhausting if the sun’s out so stay at the lodge during the midday sun – the guides will be happier that way as well!

The night safari was awesome! We saw animals that we hadn’t seen before, such as porcupine and wild cats. Even the ones we’d seen before seemed different at night. Moses, one of the guides, would scan the area with a spotlight, and when he spotted something, the driver would go off road to chase it until we lost sight of it. If you have a spare torch, take it with you.

During the walks we would have three guides – Papa, a young Maasai warrior with his spear; Moses, a slightly old man with his piece of plumbing to bash the snakes apparently; and Imma(nuel) who speaks quite good English. During the night drive, Papa would be replaced by the driver (John?)…

FOOD
Every single meal was delicious, and we only felt bad because there was so much of it every time – enough to feed us twice over! I ate so much on the first night that I literally couldn’t move, and we were glad on the last morning when we opted for brunch instead of breakfast and lunch. We took our own bottle of wine which they kindly opened for us (no corkage) and provided wine glasses. Bottles of water were included in our package.

HOSPITALITY
Excellent. From getting picked up by Simon at Arusha and been invited to tea and coffee at his house, the stay at the lodge and all the staff being kind and flexible, all the way to being dropped off at the bus station back in Arusha.

PRICE
Paid $320 each for three days two nights (all inclusive) and was worth every dollar, plus the tips we left behind. We were asked for $50 deposit each beforehand which we did through Exim bank in Moshi, and paid the rest in a mixture of dollars and Tanzanian shillings. They don’t accept credit card.

RECOMMENDED?
Yes! Especially for a romantic weekend, but also for families. Maybe ask beforehand what the climate is like in the conservation area, since if it’s the end of the wet season/start of the dry season (June?), then you’ll probably see as much in the conservation area as in the national park itself, and you’ll save park and car fees. Also they had a pool which wasn’t operational yet, but maybe during the wet season? Would definitely like to go there again, maybe with our families.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

What a surprise to arrive here after a long trip!
The masai guided us to the lodge at the end of the hill, holding a light, showing the way, and when we opened the door we saw the most beatifull view we've ever seen!
the lodge itself was amazing, the big bed, the nice bathroom downstairs (also with view) and the balcony with bath outside. The day safari in nice Tarangire National park was great, we met hunderds of elephants, giraffes, zebra's and a leopard and hardly any other tourists.
The food and service was absolutely perfect!!!
I was stunned and overwhelmed by this beautifull place and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickZwolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecoscience Science Center and Luxury Lodge
Ecoscience Science Center and Lu...
#22 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boundary Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boundary Hill Lodge

Property: Boundary Hill Lodge
Address: | Sakina, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literally perched on the edge of Tarangire National Park, among trees and rock outcrops, the lodge is nestled into the cliffs and huge granite slabs. Built of natural materials, predominantly local stone, wood and burnt brick, Boundary Hill Lodge offers outstanding views over the Silale and Gosuwa swamps, where elephant and buffalo graze among the acacia and baobab trees beneath the vastness of Africa's sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boundary Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boundary Hill Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing