We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to nature.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarangire River Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Close to nature.”
Reviewed December 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night as part of our itinerary during our Honeymoon Safari. Whilst the trip to reach it can be a little bumpy it was worth the wait. We were not dissapointed and wished that we could have stayed longer. We had a tent that overlooked the river (although dry at the time) and during the night we listened to the wildlife coming right to our front door (really safe though) including elephant. It was an amazing experience. We were pleased with our accomodation and food and the hospitality of the owners and all the staff. The game drive the next day was an amazing experience. I would love to revisit and spend longer.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellis-Kennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    66
    23
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
131
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We spent there 2 nights while visiting the Tarangire National Parc. The tents are great, you can relax in front of the tent with a nice open view. Elefants visited us during the night and it was an amazing experience to have them right behind your bed. But don't worry, the tent is placed on a 1meter high platform. The beds are extremely comfortable and the shower was working well after a tiring day in the parc. The dinner was extremely good as well and you could relax near the fire before or afterwards. The parc is fantastic and even if the camp is outside the gate (but animals can walk through), the way to get to the gate is only a short 20mn drive through some disparate huts.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAZA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Stayed at this lovely camp for one night during a tented safari. Out of all the places we stayed this one was best run and wonderfully located with a view high above a river bed! I cannot really understand the comments about the roads and the dry riverbed as some people seem to only accept a picture perfect Africa with Western amenities. The camp is at the park border and therefore VERY reasonably priced for its high standard. The road runs past villages, and you can do birdspotting along the way. The drive is about 20 minutes to the park gate. At night some elephants ate next to our tent but I felt very safe due to the high platform structure and the beautiful verandah in front of the tent. Bathroom facilities were of high standard and charging cameras was possible inside your tent (in comparison to many other places). Cannot state enough how spoilt we felt. Food was excellent too. The photos speak for themselves.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daahoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We booked our safari with Neo Destinations, and dealt with Naphtally, and we were very pleased! I asked a million questions before leaving and he was very patient to answer them! He gave us Hamza as our tour guide, and we had him for 2 weeks, and he became part of our family! Good expertise, good sense of humour, speaks English well, and he found us tons of wildlife! Every one should do a safari at least once in their life! We went for 2 weeks, but I am sure that if you went for 7 or 9 days, and visited 3 parks it would be sufficient (we found the Serengeti to be a must!). Tarangire was a good park too! I was reluctant to deal with a African tour companyz(hence the million questions I asked), but after shopping around extensively I went ahead and took the risk and I saved a lot of money by dealing direct! I found Neo to be very honest! We chose a variety of camps and lodges! We stayed at a Sopa lodge, and Serena hotels, and they were very good! We also stayed at some tented camps, Migunga, Tarangire, and Ngorongoro, although they are small, and not 5 star, and don't offer big buffets like the lodges, we loved them! They are quaint, have a great atmosphere, and they are so quiet! Food was always good (and I work as a Chef)! They have beautiful decks around the tent and usually a grass roof around the outside, and most have a fireplace outdoors! We felt very safe!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Glen065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Maybe this is a pretty place in the wet season. It looks pretty sad in the dry season as the river is completely dry. The camp itself was nice and the service friendly, but it is pretty out of the way. It takes a good 40 min to get to the entrance of the national park. I learned that you really want to stay inside the park so you can go back to your lodge for a lunch break when its really hot. If you stay here, you can't do that because it is pretty far so you end up being in the park during the worse time of the day. Food was pretty good.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathe_rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2008

This site is very out of the way off very rugged roads, taking about a half hour each way. During our visit, the river was dry, so there was nothing to see or appreciate from the location. The tent was far inferior to the Mbuzi Mawe Tented Camp, with some holes in the front, and no fan (it was 94 degrees as we tried to take a nap). The food was reasonable.

Unless they fix the roads and promise you a river that draws creatures, I wouldn't bother making the journey.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nifty "great room"
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Chirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2008

The road into Tarangire River Camp is particularly rough, but the location is amazing. Great view above the river from the main building and the tents.

Service here was impeccable, with a small staff doing everything from serving food to carrying bags. The owner checked in with us at every meal and told some great stories.

Tent #4 was lovely, right on the bluff with a great view. Clean, comfortable beds. Spacious bathroom with plentiful solar-powered hot water.

The best food of all the lodges we stayed at during our 12-day safari.

Tarangire is known for its birdlife and you certainly hear them at all hours of the day and night. If you are a particularly light sleeper or nervous about sounds in the night, then this tented camp is not for you.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ala737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
12.8 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
12.4 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
23.4 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
13.6 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire River Camp

Property: Tarangire River Camp
Address: | Minjingu, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarangire River Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarangire River Camp is located in a Wildlife Management Area bordering the Tarangire National Park. Situated on top of a high river bank over looking the Tarangire River. With spectacular views over the valley and river below, there is no shortage of amazing views and scenery. An abundance of animals come down to drink at the river all day, offering guests that little bit extra. Tarangire River Camp is a popular stop over for most as they travel to and from the Ngorongoro Crater, Serengeti and Lake Manyara. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire River Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing