We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice camp with a little problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tarangire River Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We visited the river camp on our safari trip and spend there two nights. The location is o.k. just outside the Tarangire park. the tent is quite big, the bed is comfortable and there is a hot shower and a sink inside the tent.
The service is excellent and there is also a little nice pool.
The breakfast is good. The dinner is also good but there is only two main course to choose from.
We took from the hotel lunch boxes for two days and they were not edible. we got little and absolutely rotten. the main course in the lunch box looked also very bad and we were too afraid to even try it.
In conclusion we do recommand the place but there is a serious need to improve the lunch box.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liran80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 283 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a fantastic place. Situated right outside Tarangire National Park. The road in to the river camp makes you seriously question what kind of place you've booked, but once you get there you are very quickly relieved of your worries. The place is fantastic.

Big tents on platforms elevated from groundlevel and additional roof makes takes this tenting experience to a whole different level than what most people are used to.

Very friendly staff, excellent food, a well assorted bar and a great swimming pool which is so handy after eating dust on safari all day.

Once you get there the location is very good on top of the river bank. However, when you're done with the safari you just want to get there and relax and the drive from the gate to the camp feels as if it takes forever. It's not a long drive, but it takes about 30 minutes from the gate due to the lousy road. We sort of "ended" our safari to get to the camp way into the Park so the drive back took more than an hour which felt very long for the two kids I had with me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikingsven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This camp is perfectly located just outside the Tarangire Park, even if you like to go and visit Lake Manyara and the Ngorongoro crater (the last one being a 2x2hrs drive away ...., but worth it).
We stayed 3 nights and visited those parks, being an amazing experience.
The camp left us with a very mixed feeling.... It's like you are in the middle of the park and not outside : elephants walking around at night (1 night we had 5 just nearby our tent .... wow...), giraffes walking through the river bedding in the morning, water bucks, amazing views, ... and, the great real sound of the bush all time. You experience wildlife here, even before you take off for your safari. Beautiful !
The canvas tents and facilities are top including all the comfort you can think about (even more considering where you are....having a swimming pool in a safari camp, that's not what you normally expect). So, all highly recommended.
On the other hand, this camp is mainly visited by safari tourists staying 1 night on the way from the one to the other park. High focus on getting as many as possible in & out (we stayed during high season...), something I understand, but don't make this treatment part of your management : dinner at 8.00pm (don't be late, or don't have a drink in the bar 2 mins after 8.00, management will come and get you as if you and you alone mix up the complete planning.
They manage to get dinner finished (for everybody // about 50 people) within 40 mins (record was 35 mins). Not what you are looking for considering the great location where you can enjoy the night 'views and sounds' during your meal.
Hoping that after dinner, you can enjoy the rest of your bottle of wine on the deck enjoying the million of stars, well you can, but expect the manager to come by after 20/30 mins to 'gently' get you back to your room (no bar service after dinner...). On the 3 nights we stayed, we were pushed back to our tent between 9.00 and 9.15 pm. By the way, for a 50 people service, in such a short time, the food was ok, but we normally look for better.
Breakfast as of 6.00am (don't ask a service before that time, impossible to get a coffee and or packed breakfast if you like to leave early for a morning safari // trying so ended up in a discussion with the management completely escalating), being very good by the way. Packed lunch is ok, but after 3 days you had enough potatoes...
Be ready to leave your room at 10am .... returning after a morning safari before we left and hoping to take a quick shower...impossible...the next shift of tourists came in....
It all looks like minor details, but it's the missing piece to make this camp really the absolute top. Having had an escalating discussion with management, you feel like you are part of the crowd (you are, I know, but hide it), being the one more number they have to handle. So, stick to the planning and don't ask for something, and more, don't argue ...you will be handled as by a major at the army...(could be me).
Different management at this place could make a major change, but again, if what you are looking for is wildlife and a great location, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location, very friendly staff. Animals on the door step. The rooms themselves were very comfortable with complementary bottled water Strongly recommend this for visits to Tarangire and Lake Manyara.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beechwoodmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Tarangire River Camp is an amazing place to stay. We visited this palce during our honeymoon safari and it really was a case of saving the best till last.
The rooms are a canvas tent supported on wooden platforms, ours was number 1 - Duma, which really did boast the best view as it looked down towards the river bed and was open to the wilderness to 3 sides. We saw elephants, water buck and empala right outside and also heard lions one night!
The facilities are very clean and just what you need, the only thing is you can't use hair dryers but that didnt bother me - better for your hair! haha. Every evening their are traditional tribesmen that guard the camp and the staff let down your mozi nets and spray your room.
The food was delicious, every tea time there is a starter of soup and the main is a choice of 2 - 1 being a traditional zwahili meal which i opted for each day.
The pool was always clean and very refreshing after a hot day of driving and was even better with a nice cold beer from the bar.
The thing that really set the camp miles above any place we have stayed at was the husband and wife duo that run the place........from the instant you meet them they make you feel like long lost relatives, very inviting and always willing to come over for a chat with you. It made the place feel very homely. LOVED IT!! Mr and Mrs Williams

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at several tented camps during our safari in Tanzania, all of them of high standards, but Tarangire River Camp was our favorite. The tents had hardwood floors with tasteful furnishings, and the bathroom was enormous. Electricity was available 24 hours a day, food was delicious, and they even had a swimming pool (but water was bit cold for comfort). We saw waterbuck from our room and giraffes and baboons in the distance. The manager puts out birdseed in the morning and a flock of lovebirds comes to feed. The staff is kind although the South African managers are a bit more formal and serious. Really felt like luxury and my entire group loved staying at Tarangire River Camp. And Tarangire National Park is probably the most underrated national park in Africa!!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank mebiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here on our Safari in Tanzania and this was our favorite of all tented lodges.
The tent we had was behound our expectations for such an isolated area. The service and food was exceptional.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
13.6 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
412 reviews
23.5 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#3 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
245 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#10 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
89 reviews
25.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire River Camp

Address: | Minjingu, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: $430 - $707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarangire River Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarangire River Camp is located in a Wildlife Management Area bordering the Tarangire National Park. Situated on top of a high river bank over looking the Tarangire River. With spectacular views over the valley and river below, there is no shortage of amazing views and scenery. An abundance of animals come down to drink at the river all day, offering guests that little bit extra. Tarangire River Camp is a popular stop over for most as they travel to and from the Ngorongoro Crater, Serengeti and Lake Manyara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tarangire River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarangire River Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing