We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kikoti Safari Camp
Nearby Hotels
$86
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ark Hotel(Dodoma)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
    $15
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Average 3/5
      No availability for your dates from our partners
      Modern Hotel(Dodoma)
      No availability for your dates from our partners
      Reviews (155)
      Filter reviews
      155 results
      Traveler rating
      110
      33
      11
      1
      0
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      110
      33
      11
      1
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewson stiltssun driedwater heaterwake up callfood was wonderfulgreat sunsetbed was very comfortablevisiting tanzaniacentral areaspent nights heretwo night staylaundry servicebefore dinnertoilet and showerour honeymoonlounge areastayed longer
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      44 - 49 of 155 reviews
      Reviewed October 30, 2013

      My husband and I recently stayed at Kikoti as part of our honeymoon, and it was a wonderful experience. They have a beautiful location and the tents are very comfortable. We enjoyed delicious dinners every night and the hosts were great! We also loved the safari walk with sundowners and the night game drive. It was a perfect way to end our trip.

      Unfortunately, after returning back home to the United States, we unpacked everything and realized that we lost all of our digital camera cards. We think we left them in our tent area. We tried emailing the camp to see if they found it and received a delivery error. There is no way for us to contact them directly.

      Room Tip: Tent number 18 is a far walk but it's great for being away from everyone.
      • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank mizmary17
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

      Thank you for your review!
      I am so sorry to hear of your misfortune regarding the loss of your memory cards, I can only imagine how disappointed you must be, especially loosing that fabulous shot of the leopard on the night game drive!
      We did receive an email from our US representative a few days after your departure, and I can assure you that the camp, including your room and all the public areas were searched thoroughly, although unfortunately no cards were found. I do hope that they will turn up soon.
      Im pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the activities on offer here.
      Thank you again for your review.
      Alice

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed October 27, 2013

      Wonderful reception area with a beautiful hand carved bar. Fire pit for entertainment by Masai. Our tent was adequate though we had issues with water leaking in the sinks. While maintenance came to fix it happened again.
      Had to charge electronics in a separate area..not in our tent. That was a pain.

      Room Tip: The tents are located down a sandy path away from the reception area. #1 is the closet. There is another equally as close but I don't know the number. It may be 8. I stayed in #3
      • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Acey071368
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on trip advisor.
      We are sad to see that you have only awarded us three out of five stars, and that you felt our rooms were only adequate.
      We do our very best to ensure all our rooms are at their best before you arrive, and im very sorry you had some plumbing issues that you felt were not resolved.
      In regards to the charging facilities it is true that at this moment in time only half of our rooms have plug sockets, and for the rest there is what we call a charging station. This facility is located in the same room as the reception and opposite the dinning and lounge areas, before our recent renovations all guests charged their batteries here, and even now some still choose to do so as the adaptors in the charging room fit all plug types. It is perfectly safe to leave items charging here over night and any member of staff would be more than happy to assist you bringing your items here to charge.
      I also feel I ought to point out, that while you lists our camp as being 'in the midst of renovations' there is actually no renovation work being carried out while we have guests in camp. We started some work earlier in the year (during our low season, when we had no guests in camp) and unfortunately, due to an unprecedented amount of rainfall the work was unable to be completed, which has meant that the minor changes being made to the rooms - such as the addition of plug sockets - has only been achieved in half of our rooms to date. Not wanting to cause any disruption to our guests, we are waiting for our next low season to be able to complete the rest of the rooms.
      Thank you again for your review.
      Alice

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed October 21, 2013

      Kikoti is as pretty and comfortable as it can be while still giving you an authentic out-in-the-bush experience.

      It's a small camp, with I think 18 rooms spaced apart, out in the game reserve, and up on a bit of a bluff so that you have an unobstructed view of the landscape. The rooms are called "tents," but they're really more like cabins -- solid wooden structures, up on stilts, with a broad roof overhanging the screened walls. Even by myself, I felt perfectly safe. Yes, I woke up at night to the howls of hyenas and what felt like an earthquake when a buffalo scratched his back on one of the support poles. But that's why you stay in a safari camp! It's clean, the decor is charming and warm, and the beds are comfortable. The little details like the hot water bottle at your feet at night really make it special. Another reviewer complained about the fire-heated water tanks. To me, that was just part of the place's charm.

      The best part about Kikoti is the staff. Danny, the camp manager, made me feel right at home, and even sat with me at dinner so that I wouldn't be bored. Everyone else was great, too: the Maasai guards who walk you to your tent at night, Mary and the other cooks, the wait staff, Mzee John, the sweet lady who brought coffee to my room at 5:30 in the morning. And you can just leave your camera and your passport and everything in the room, and you don't have to worry about anything getting stolen, which you really appreciate if you've been traveling around and having to lock your stuff up all the time.

      Based on some of the other reviews here, I would suggest that information about the wildlife be made available so that people aren't frightened by things like a bat flapping around outside. Maybe a booklet in the rooms -- a brief guide to the noises you might hear at night and what they mean. There's no reason for anyone to be upset about a bat eating up some of the mosquitos!

      Finally, it's worth noting that 100% of the proceeds at Kikoti go to the African Wildlife Trust, a conservation organization that is working to save Tanzania's elephants. Given the current poaching crisis, that alone is reason to stay there.

      But regardless, I would definitely recommend Kikoti. I got way too comfortable there, and was very sorry to leave!

      • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Ms_Maraya
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

      Thank you so much for your detailed review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much that you felt you didn't want to leave!! Im glad that the staff made you really feel at home here, that is part of our objective, you arrive as guests and leave as friends!
      We would be delighted to welcome you back to Kikoti again!
      Alice

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed October 18, 2013

      My husband and I stayed at Kikoti on the last night of a 6 day safari that started in the Serengeti and ended at Tarangire. It was without question our favorite accommodation of the entire trip. The "tents" are tastefully designed with keen attention to detail and quality...vessel style sinks, hardwood floors, large showers, custom made towel racks and clothes hangers, comfortable sitting areas...the list goes on!

      The food was wonderful. The lamb that I had for dinner was tender and full of flavor. The pumpkin soup starter was creamy and well seasoned and as for the dessert [apple pie] it was top notch...flaky crust, fresh fruit and the perfect blend of spices. Breakfast included eggs cooked to order, fresh fruit, pancakes, bacon, fresh baked bread, and a selection of beverages. The wait staff was friendly and professional. Loved the open air dining and fabulous sunsets.

      Appreciated having Wi-Fi access and a charging station for electronics.

      I would return to Kikoti if in the area again.

      • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Sandy V
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

      We are thrilled to read that we were your favourite accommodation whilst on safari in Tanzania, and would love to welcome you back one day!
      The open air dinning experience is truly a magical one, with the stars twinkling over head and the sounds of the African bush accompanying your meal....we believe this is what Africa is all about.
      Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, and 'Karibu tena' - welcome again!!
      Alice

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed October 14, 2013

      Kikoti is a small camp with less than 20 tents. The tents are elevated for protection, given that the camp is not enclosed with electric fencing. All of this is very good and adds to the experience. as another writer said: "Very cool having the Masai walk you to your tent after dark." The Masai are armed with a rifle and a flashlight.

      Thr rooms are good size and the decor borders on African kitsch. I thought they were colorful and interesting.

      The staff was very friendly and helpful. They made us feel like they really wanted us to enjoy our stay. One night the dinner tables were set up outside by the fire pit and we enjoyed a gorgeous sunset overlooking the surrounding landscape. The "indoor" meals were just as nice, since the dining area is open-air.

      One other writer really liked the food, but noted that some friends who had stayed at Kikoti the year before weren't impressed by the food. He thought there might have been a change of chefs. We had the same experience. Some friends who had stayed the year before did not like the food. We found the food to be excellent. Although there wasn't anything too fancy, everything was perfectly prepared and tasted great. We went out of out way to compliment the chef. So, yes, there must be a new, excellent, chef this year.

      On the negative side there was a colony of bats living between the top of our tent and the thatch roof that covers it for shade. The manager said they were aware of this problem (our tent and others) and that they were going to do something about it. Also, there was no WIFI as the elephants had taken out the satellite dish.

      Overall, an excellent choice for Tarangire National Park.

      • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank TheTruthIsOutThere50
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

      Thank you so much for your thorough review of Kikoti.
      We do indeed have a new chef from last year, also a new menu, and Im delighted to hear that you, and other guests thought the food was 'excellent'!
      We are aware that unfortunately the bats can cause an issue in some of our rooms, and I can assure you we are in the process of replacing all the ceilings inside the tents, making them all 'bat proof' for the future!
      We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
      Alice

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews