We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find”
Review of Kikoti Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kikoti Safari Camp
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After a dusty drive from Arusha we were warmly welcomed with cold towels and drink, given a safety talk by Danny and shown to our "tent" . This happened to be a large wooden structure raised off the ground on poles. The bathroom facilities were excellent, plenty of hot water, flush toilet, 2 washbasins and plenty of hanging space. The bed was very comfortable, came with mosquito net as did all the places we stayed in Tanzania. There was also a large veranda with table and chairs and a fantastic view of the sunset.
It is a small camp so service was personal and very good, the Maasai lit the fire each evening in their traditional way, served our food then escorted us back to our tent by torchlight.
One small point, there are no curtains so we undressed in the shower area!!
The food was adequate but the whole ambience of the camp was perfect. Often Tarangire is passed by in a rush to get to the Serengeti but this place is a must on anyone`s itinerary.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was nearest the main dining and bar areas but far enough away not to have too mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyGAxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for leaving us a review on trip advisor!
We do not have curtains in our tents-but please be assured that other guests can not see in! I appreciate it may feel a little strange not to have curtains in your rooms, but here in the African bush' this really isn't an issue. Our tents are generously spaced and each room has an overhanging roof, which means although you can see out of your windows, others cannot see directly in!!
We agree, Tarangire should certainly not be bypassed, and we hope to welcome you here again in the near future!!
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 155 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

My tour group/family stayed here on the 3rd and 4th nights of our stay in Tanzania. When I first heard of these "tented camps," I was scared--I'm not exactly outdoorsy! In the end, I couldn't have imagined a better stay in one of the most beautiful landscapes in the world. The rooms are amazing. The views from the bedroom are spectacular--each bed faces out toward the Terengeti National Park. My boyfriend and I could hear animals wandering around our tents through the night---it was unreal! The rest of the tent was perfect from the wood carvings on the shower to the animal skin bathroom and shower "doors." On top of the accommodations, the food at the restaurant was excellent. There was a lot of variety to choose from although I would eat the soup there everyday if I could! The Manager Danny is wonderful as well. He acted as though we were all his houseguests, not just his hotel guests. He took the time to explain facts about the area to us and to make sure we all had a perfect stay.

I thought I'd be sad that the internet was not working but after finding out that the reason was that elephants tripped on the cables somewhere on the campgrounds, I was more than happy being disconnected for a few days.

Now if I can only get back there next year when the pool is installed!

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Yes, you will simply have to find a way to return next year- so you can enjoy our brand new pool that we have arriving soon!!
Thank you so much for your glowing write up, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and ecstatic to be your favourite! Its important to us that you get the most from your stay, and we love talking to all our guests about the park, the animals, and the massai people.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future!!
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our first stop on our safari. We spent 2 nights here. Of all the places we stayed, this was our favorite! The people here were so kind, so welcoming and so charming. Maybe because it's a smaller camp? The touches were fabulous: a real wakeup "call" with coffee on our porch at 6am, watching the African dawn. A hot water bottle buried in our bed. Lovely sheets and amenities. Your hot water is heated, at least in the AM, by firewood, so to smell that wafting over you while in bed or drinking coffee was sublime. The food was excellent - a mix of "American" and Indian cuisine, perhaps? There was plenty of it, too - buffet style dining. Lastly, this place is now non-profit. All proceeds go to the African Wildlife Trust - an organization, that among many things, strives to protect the last few elephants. Come here, stay here! You won't regret it. It's charming. It's Africa!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are so proud to be your favourite! It certainly is a charming place to stay and we agree that by being a slightly smaller property, the feel here is very intimate and unique. We have spent alot of time working with our chefs on a new menu, and are thrilled that you agree it is 'excellent'!
Karibu tena - you're welcome again!
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

After a long drive from Arusha on very rutted roads & seeing our first elephants up close, we arrived at Kikoti with a warm welcome, refreshing wet face cloth, & yummy juice. Danny gave us a thorough overview of the camp as well as safety tips. The very friendly & smiling Maasai brought our luggage up into our lodge - roughing it? I don't think so. An "Out of Africa" feel with satin throw pillows, warm colors, great linens, draped mosquito netting set up at night, 2 sinks, shower "stall", & separate toilet. Night sounds were enchanting. Meals were freshly prepared with quality ingredients & breakfast was complete with an omelette station! So picturesque with covered open air lounge/bar area. Being close to Tarangire was wonderful & we saw many elephants - these magnificent animals must be protected from the ivory poachers. As our t-shirt says, "ivory only belongs on elephants." It's a wonderful park & having water year round assures good populations of animals. We also saw many zebras, impalas, giraffes, leopard with 2 cubs, buffalo, & many birds. Danny, the new manager, has many exciting plans & is passionate about protecting the elephants' habitat & future. This became our favorite lodge during our 11 day Roy Safari trip! Please consider donating to the non-profit African Wildlife Trust.

Room Tip: All locations are easily accessible to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

wow, we are delighted to hear Kikoti was your favourite lodge on safari! We know we're biased, but it truly is a very special place, with all the profits going straight back into helping the conservation of the animals you come to see! We certainly are passionate about protecting what we have here, and we are so pleased that by staying here with us you were able to help us too!
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Great way to experience a tented camp with the luxury of you bathroom! The camp is located 20 munutes drive from a side gate of Tarangire National Park. It has a great wilderness feeling. Rooms are bungalow on stilts each with itd own terrace with great sunset view. Though rooms are quite big, they can only fit 3 beds each, so children will have to share a bed. As a matter of fact the bugalow are quite distant one from the other and in the dark (after 7pm) it is not safe to walk unaccompanied. You need to signal with the light for one of the Masai gaurd to escort you (he usually has a shotgun). Animals roam around at night, so it is not for the children to be left alone. Service is great, food amazing, both at breakfast and at dinner. There is a fire in the common area for a "bushman TV" experience. No plugs in the room (though there is electricity thanks to a generator) and no internet except in the office area (it did not work when we were there).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Unfortunately from time to time, due to our remote location, we can experience problems with our internet connection, and we do our best to make sure we get online again as quickly as we can. We currently have the wifi system set up in all our communal areas, such as the lounge, fire pit, and dinning area, and we hope to eventually extend this signal too the rooms.
Although some of our rooms are currently without charging sockets we do provide a 'charging room' complete with adaptors.
We hope to welcome you back to Kikoti soon!
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Kikoti is a truly beautiful camp - if you look on a map you might feel worried that it's technically outside of the park but as there are no fences this really doesn't matter! The views are amazing and you really feel like you're in the heart of the bush. We absolutely loved the food and all the staff were incredibly friendly. We had incredible ele viewings and I'd say Kikoti is the perfect base to explore Tarangire from.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHP1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your review!
Yes, technically we are outside of the national park, although only by 1 kilometre! In actual fact we see this as one of the many great things about Kikoti, as being outside of the park, we are able to offer our guests activities such as guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted inside the park. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Hearing the magic noise of Africa in your chalet luxury "tent" has been a fantastic experience! The managers and the staff were the friendliest in the very friendly Tanzania. The chalet tent was very clean and fine, the food was the best in the whole trip. The Massai even did a fire lighting ceremony for us. What I would not expect, even the Internet connection was quite good. We saw hundreds of elephants in Tarangire. Of all lodges and hotels, we liked Kikoti the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VilagVandor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We are delighted to hear that of all your experiences in Tanzania you liked Kikoti the best!
The massai love showing our guests their traditional way of life, whether it be in a dance or by teaching you to start a fire using just two sticks!
Thank you for leaving us such a great review! and we hope if you ever come to Tanzania again you will pay us another visit!!
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
0.0 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kikoti Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikoti Safari Camp

Address: PO Box 284 | Arusha, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: $170 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kikoti Safari Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kikoti Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing