We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantatsic First time in Africa! Thank you!!!”
Review of Kikoti Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kikoti Safari Camp
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Absolutely the best experience I could have ever imagined!

The service is impeccable and the tents are wonderful. I am not sure exactly what I was expecting as a camp but whatever it was Kikoti blew away and preconceived ideas of what my experience would be "camping" in the bush.

You are greeted by such a wonderful and caring staff to a beautifully kept camp site. The lounge/bar area as well as the dinning area are perfectly "African" in decor. The bar has hand carved animals at it's base with large sofas for you to sit back on and enjoy a beverage after your long day out on a game drive. The dinning area just as well might be a five star restaurant with it's linen table cloths and place settings and the staff takes great care with preparing and serving your meals. All this and you are way out in the bush!

The tents are on elevated platforms separated from each other by maybe roughly 25 feet for complete privacy. They are kept very clean and they have a small desk and chair as well as sitting area as well as a full bathroom. I have to admit I was not expecting an actual toilet and shower in my tent but you have both as well as a double vanity sink and hot water for your shower! The tents also have a very nice large porch with two large chairs for you to sit back on and look out over the African landscape.

I loved hearing the wildlife at night and the birds in the morning!

This was my first time at Kikoti camp as well as my first time in Africa and I will definitely be going back to Kikoti not only because it was a great place to stay but to visit again with the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertLouisCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 155 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

A wonderfully African experience in very comfortable and unigue tented chalets with morning tea and coffee delivered.

Good buffet food and an authentic Tanzanian ambience.

Your rooms are built seperately almost like having your own house let alone room with a good size verandah(one night a bush baby was hiding uder the chair on here!)

Make sure this is on your list as Tarangire was a wonderful experience an not to be missed , it shaped up well next to Ngorongoro and Serengeti!

Room Tip: We had tented chalet number one which was very close to the reception and I found this a benefit on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penwyllt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your stay at Kikoti Safari Camp! And thank you for your wonderful review of Kikoti on Trip Advisor! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Kikoti Tented Camp in October and it exceeded our expectations. Our tented room was on the second floor and was beautifully furnished and plenty spacious. Even had an outside sitting area. We sprayed as we did at all camps we stayed at, but we never saw a mosquito either inside our tent or outside near the barnfire or dining area. The staff was very friendly and efficient and the food was good, not great. Dining area and bar area were lovely. You flet like were staying in a top notch place. We took a sunset walk with a guide and we recommend that you not pass up that opportunity. It was the perfect end to a long day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the dining room.. It's a shorter walk for breakfast and dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagoguy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The camp has a beautiful location. It has thatched rooftops on the tents and an outdoor bar/ dining area. The tents are built up on stilts to take advantage of the view.
The rooms are okay but definitely need some fixing up. While there are mosquito nets over the beds, you still need to wear mosquito repellant inside the tent. There are spaces in the floor boards big enough for the mossies to get in and they will. I got very few mosquito bites in Tanzania, but this was one of the places they occured.
The walls of the tent are plaster part way up and there were several places in our tent that needed patching. Ther curtain across the toilet needs to be larger, as it does not close tightly. The shower is large and has great hot water, but beware the floor is very slippery.
The dinners and breakfasts at this camp are very good but the packed breakfast and lunch boxes were just okay.
In spite of these small criticisms I would still recommend it as a place to stay. The location is lovely and the views are great. If the owners do some minor repair work, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdieboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you so very much for your kind words about Kikoti Safari Camp! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Kikoti is our "home" in a sense. We are thrilled with your feedback and hope we can host you again one day soon! If you ever do want to come back to Kikoti, just let us know!
Thanks again and we are happy you loved your stay and your visit to Tanzania.
Your feedback is very important to us. Thanks again.
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay in this camp. We wre escorted from the main lodge area to our individual accomodations and spent a very comfortable night with something hopping around on the roof. The facilities were emaculate. The meals were very good. The one small problem was a low table with a pointed end that was a shin hammer point at the 6:00am wake-up coffee and roll delivery in the dark before power was turned on. The coffee and pastries were good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canongate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safarilegacy, Director of Sales at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for your stay and for your excellent review! I love your description of Kikoti as "a stay in a canvas treehouse"!
Jennifer
Safari Legacy/Maishi Collection- Kikoti Safari Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The tent cabins, bar and dining facility are beautifully designed and furnished; however, the facility has some problems. While I appreciate that it is probably very difficult to manage a lodging and resturant in such an isolated location without running water and that depends on solar and generators for electricity, nevertheless, one expects that basic public health standards related to food handling and maintaining food temperatures appropriately will be strictly followed. Myself and one other member of our party both became violently ill from food poisoning exactly 12 hours after eating the chicken in the box lunch. Since the other members of our party didn't eat the chicken we ate, I am fairly certain that the chicken leg and thigh were the culprit. The two of lost an entire day of safari because we were throwing up for about 6 hours and were unable to keep much down over a 24 hour period. The fact that the beers and sodas were never really cold and that food from the buffet dinner showed up in the next day's lunches are probably clues to the less than fastidious attention to maintaining food temperatures adequately. Overall, the food at Kikoti was mediocre with a heavy emphasis on boiled vegetables as the side dishes.

The resturant/bar service people are all very friendly, but there were some issues in terms of the staff being able to keep drink orders straight and charging the correct items to the appropriate room.

I like a hot morning shower and over a two-night stay received COLD showers even after ordering a hot one the evening before on two occasions. The evening shower people in our group and my sister who ordered a hot morning shower got her morning shower okay--so I'm not sure if it was a communication issue or that there was something wrong with the stove for our unit.

The rooms at this facility are very beautiful, the veranda and view is wonderful, but there is a bit of a lack of privacy in terms of the toilet facility. There is a flush toilet, but it sits behind a leather flap doorway which affords little in the way of privacy if that is important to you.

Lastly, this camp is really a long drive outside the park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DakotaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Unfortunatelly, we had to change the camp we initially booked for Tarangire and ended up at the Kikoti tented camp. The camp is located in the middle of the nature, as most of the other camps, however we found the tents a bit over the top.
The rooms are raised few m above the soil, however the walls of the tent very similar to mosquito nets. Hence there is not much privacy in the rooms. During the night we were blown by the wind in our beds. Also getting hot water was a bit tricky - we had to wait for a long time to get the wooden fire started and the water warmed up.The food was not amazingly good either, a bit greesy and not wildly varied :-). The personnel was trying to do their best and were very friendly, however we did not enjoy too much this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kara2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
492 reviews
0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#11 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
90 reviews
0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
283 reviews
0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
413 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#3 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kikoti Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikoti Safari Camp

Address: PO Box 284 | Arusha, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: $170 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kikoti Safari Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kikoti Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing