We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a location!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We loved this place. We stayed for one night and could not get over the views and the way the hotel sits on a bluff overlooking the Tarangire River with elephants and other animals right in front of you. The lobby is perfectly set up for these views. Service and food were good. Might be a little too rustic for some but we loved its character and the bungalow we stayed in way well done.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Jambo jon s

Happy you enjoyed our location & lodge! = )
Thank you for coming & welcome back again.

"Asante sana"!

A.Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    241
    44
    10
    5
See reviews for
212
383
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I know this property is very popular but it was my least favorite lodging property during our Uganda/Tanzania safari. The tents are well maintained – clean with electricity and hot water - and most have nice views. There are lots of dik diks and black faced monkeys that roam around the property. The lobby area has amazing views and you could hang out there for hours watching the wildlife on the river or the stars at night. This is a large property and during our stay, a large travel group took over the majority of the property. The tents were not the most private with so many people walking up and down the paths in front of the tents so often. The travel group had reserved the lobby seating area and the majority of the restaurant. That made our stay pretty disappointing as the service provided was all devoted to the travel group who had reserved the common areas. I also dropped off some laundry to be washed and we were on our way out for a game drive when it was returned, so I did not have the time to go thru the returned laundry. What was returned was the dirty laundry I had dropped off – not one item had been washed, which was pretty disappointing. I would make sure to double check anything that you drop off to be laundered..

Room Tip: Tent #22 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Hello TravelerfromCO,

Good to get your comments here so we can make sure that tour groups do not "take over" as you say! And for sure every guest is as important as the next so I regret you expereienced otherwise.
Your laundry situation is out of the ordinary. Unheard of. Can you remember which tent you were in or location here at the lodge?
I wonder if it was a time factor. Still you ought to have been notified beforehand. "Pole sana"

And Asante!

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband & I stayed here on the first leg of our African adventure. Let me say that nothing will prepare you for when you pull up and see the view from their terrace. The pictures do not do it justice. When we first arrived we looked and saw giraffe's and elephants grazing below. We stayed in the bungalow, and it was perfect, the bathroom was HUGE. The food was great, a lot of variety, and we made some friends while sitting on the terrace during their "happy hour" with snacks (delicious popcorn!). We woke up and saw monkeys right outside as well as several dik dik. Seriously loved this place, you cannot beat the view and the people working there were very sincere and wanted to make sure you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Jambo Dominque A,
Thank you for including Tarangire Safari Lodge in your "African Adventure" and for sharing
such a happy & positive experience! = ) YEAH!!
Thank you for the 5 Stars! And for appreciating our location, our catering & staff.

"Asante sana! Karibu tena"

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Out of all the lodges/ camps we stayed at during our 9 day safari this was by far the worst. There was absolutely no service to speak of. when you check-in all they do is give you the tent number and ask you to show yourself to it. There was no one at the reception to check us out the next morning. The staff at the restaurant are rude. They asked us to seat ourselves and when we did the lady tells us we need to get up because we were 2 people sitting at a 3 person table. All she needed to do was to move one chair and place setting to another table. The tent was dirty and there was a big gaping hole where the tent met the permanent restroom portion for the tent. We needed to leave for a 6.00 am game drive the next morning and of course there was no electricity in the morning. Apparently they turn on the power only at 5.45 am which was too late for us. The only thing good about this place which got it 2 stars instead of 1 was the view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello PPPilgrim,
Wow! Wish we could re-wind your visit and start over again!
What a pity!
Would you remember the name of the Receptionist & Dining Waiter ?
Certainly do not want your poor experience repeated.
We always like to warmly welcome all guests to this lodge!
Thank you for giving us the heads up.

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Imagine coming in from a long day on a game drive, then relaxing with a glass of wine overlooking the park. Elephants, lions, giraffe, baboons, and many more more animals travel to and from the river as evening begins. Glorious!

The staff are attentive and thoughtful without disturbing the flow of conversation, and the accommodations are quite delightful. Warm showers, real beds, all with the thrill of Africa right outside. We heard hyena and elephants traveling in the night. What an incredible experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMGoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Jambo KMGoss,
What a happy review. Thank you for sharing your stellar experience. = )

A very warm welcome back for a longer stay next time.

"Asante sana"!

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

When we first walked into the huge open reception lounge area we were amazed at the view of the valley below. The tents sit on a ridge looking over a river and wandering around we could see elephants giraffe and impala. The tents were spacious and very comfortable, we had twin beds ensuite with good hot shower. Dinner was smorgasbord...lots of Indian food and ok overall. Breakfast was plentiful and the staff all helpful.

Our tents were the furtherest out and during the night the roaring of lions seemed particularly close!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Jambo lolly61,
Love the Review Title ! = )
And thank you for the 5 Stars. = )

Happy you enjoyed your stay!
A very warm welcome back again!

Asante sana!

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have started our Safari tour from Tarangire, Stayed at Tarangire Safari Lodge for 1 night, location is awesome, early morning walk within the camp is magnificent experience. worth place to relax near to nature.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiren_D_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello Hirendhiya,
Thank you for your review.

And happy you chose our lodge to start your safari from! = )

"Asante sana"

A. Simosnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
591 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
398 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#11 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
458 reviews
25.3 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#19 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Property: Tarangire Safari Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor terrace, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats ~ a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing