We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Around Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed in a bungalow for 2 nights mid- February. The beds were comfy. Hot water was available all the time, electricity in the morning and evening. Shower pressure was adequate, all though the floor can be slippery!
The food is great.. especially the soups. We enjoyed the selection of buffet foods available. I must say that the server "John' was wonderful. He was so friendly and tried to please us with what we wanted it made the difference in our dining experience.
Wifi in the lounge was great, sitting with the gorgeous view just added to the experience.
I loved the animals close by, the dik diks around the lodge and the vervet monkey...and when we left the lodge we immediately saw more animals. It was great.
I would not hesitate to return to this lodge !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you Judi K for Your Fantastic review! = )
And thrilled that you wouldn't hesitate returning again.
Happy you enjoyed our view & our trainee John. Shall let him know.

"Asante sana & karibu tena"

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 937 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is my favorite lodge in Tanzania. From the hearty welcome with refreshing juice as we entered the lodge to the moment we departed I felt at home. The view is incredible with action at all times in the valley below. The staff is most friendly and helpful with good attention in the dining room. I can honestly say that in my opinion the food was the best on my three week safari. Well done, Tarangire Safari Lodge, and thanks for a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: I prefer the tented rooms over the bungalows, but all rooms are spacious and situated to enable a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MzeeDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Jambo MzeeDean!

....."your favorite lodge in Tanzania" - YEAH! = )
Thank you for the 5 star review!! = )
And happy the catering was to your satisfaction. = )

A warm welcome back again! "Karibu sana"!

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spend 3 nights at this lodge in a cottage room with 3 single beds and a bathroom with a shower that has good water pressure and lots of hot water. The beds are comfy enough though the pillows are quite flat and hard and in need of replacing. There are mosquito nets over the beds. In room amenities consist of hand soap only.

However, the star attraction of this lodge is the amazing views from the communal lounge/ sitting area overlooking from above the landscape and river below, oftentimes with elephants, zebras, and other animals visible. We also found waterbuck, zebra, wildebeest and even a giraffe outside our cottage. The sitting area is open air, and the dining area is open air but enclosed with a netting to prevent bugs from entering.

Meals are buffet style though during the quieter season it sounds like they do ala carte. The meals are tasty enough, no complaints. Drinks are available , cocktails running at $10. They will provide boxed breakfasts and lunches on request.

There is an outdoor swimming pool. Wifi is available at the communal sitting area only and is a bit slow, but doable. Power is available from 6-10am and 6-11pm only. Paid Laundry service is also available, prices ranging from $1-3 per item.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hello Halilee,
Thank you for recommending our lodge. = )
I am indeed impressed with your memory of specific prices & times here with your visit
back in September! = )
Sorry you found the pillows too flat - shall check into that!
In all the rooms we do offer shampoo & shower gel and these dispensing bottles are fixed to the shower walls - curious why you only had hand soap!
Sorry about that.
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay all the same!

A warm welcome back again!
"Asante sana"

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a beautiful lodge. We had a bungalow room overlooking the park. Two rooms, two closets, comfortable beds, large shower area. The food was amazing - from the soups to the desserts. We even ate ugali - at the only lodge that served a native dish. Our waitress, Stella, serenaded us every night with beautiful Swahili songs. Brendan, the lodge owners' son, took us on a early morning walking tour of the area. Later, we saw our first kudo on a game drive; we saw many unique situations, but the kudo was a big first. Overall, this was an awesome stop. From the unique gift shop to the picturesque view to our encounter with a lion guarding her kill, we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mishmaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hello Mishmaki,

So happy you enjoyed your stay....with Stella singing = )....meals....view.....accommodation....and for recommending the bush walks. = )
Yeah!!

"Karibu tena/ Asante sana"

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This lodge has lovely communal areas with fantastic views but is badly let down by the shabby state of the accommodation. Our room had mis matched curtains which were hanging down in places, faded bed covers and a dead plant on our balcony table. There were three beds in quite a small space making it difficult to move around.
The staff were nice and the service quite good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hello Belinda N,

Thank you for your review! Always appreciate feedback.

Plants have been freshened up and thankfully have received a new batch of
textiles for bedcovers! But not soon enough. So sorry about that.
Those rooms are set up for triples. And we certainly could have made that up as a double for you.
We shall make note of that on bookings for two.

"Asante sana!"

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Fabulous wonderful lodge, superb, thoughtful and kind staff. One of my favorite places to stay in Tanzania. Lots of animals to see and the food is delicious. Finally they have a very nice gift boutique.

Room Tip: Have the option of a tent or bungalow. If you really want to feel close to the animals choose a te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cheryl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Jambo Cherly Y
Thank you so much for the 5 star review!!!!! = )
And that you came again is a wonderful compliment.
Happy you appreciated our staff and enjoyed our meals & gift shop!

"Asante sana & karibu tena"

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A great stay at the lodge. Our morning walk with guide Brendan was highlighted by a lion and elephant herd passing in view of our observation point. The staff was gracious, facilities comfortable, and food excellent. Jon and Annette are intimately involved with running the camp and have developed a gracious environment for active agendas and placid viewers. Birding and animal viewing from the lodge was outstanding.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Drtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Jambo Drtman,

"Asante sana" for your 5 star review! = )
Happy you enjoyed
- your bush walk! and the bird & wildlife viewing from the lodge.
- catering & 'comfortable facilities'

"Karibuni tena" / Welcome again!



A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
622 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#10 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
89 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
412 reviews
25.4 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
488 reviews
5.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor terrace, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats ~ a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing