We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views but the Tents are very Basic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice views but that’s about it – this would be my least favourite place on our 7 day safari.

There seems to be a couple of different levels of accommodation here so be careful when comparing reviews. We stayed in the tented cabins and that is what this review is based on.

There is a lot to like about the central communal area which has great views of the valley below.

The setup with the high exposed rafter domed ceilings is also impressive. The staff is also extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful.

However we found the tented accommodation to be very basic. These are permanent tented structures with concrete floors and solid walls at the rear that house the bathroom. Power is only available from until 11pm at night and from 6am in the morning so all lights go out at 11pm.

There is no power point in the tent but you can re-charge electronic devices on a bank of power points near the reception area.

There is no safe, and lighting is very dull. The bed has a foam mattress on a slated bed base.

There is plenty of hot water but it is difficult to control the temperature and the shower head in my tent send water in every which direction although I think that this was just a faulty shower head that could be easily fixed.

Wifi is not free and costs US$5 for 30 minutes and is slow. It is only available in the reception area.

The meals were average at best.

When reviewing a place like this you have to compare it to similar “lodges” in the National parks of Tanzania in similar price ranges. Unfortunately for us this place just did not stack up against the opposition.

As mentioned at the start there is some more standard lodge type accommodation here that did appear to be better equipped and so if you did have to stay here I would go for that.

Room Tip: I would probably bypass Tarangire and spend more time in the Senengetti
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozitravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Ozitravel77

Thank you for your review. Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us!
We do have bungalows available for those who do not wish to stay in tents, had you have told us about being unsatisfied with your accommodation we would have been more than happy to move you into an alternative room.
We don't advertise luxurious tents, but we aim to keep them comfortable, clean and practical.
We urge guests to let us know if there is any problems in their room so we can rectify the problem immediately (the shower head for example, and the mattress). We want guests to enjoy their stay as much as possible!

Happy that you appreciated the Service & Location with such a 'low' rating. Can you also give us more feedback on your comment regarding our food 'being average'; we would appreciate knowing where improvement can be made.
Due to the satellite connection being slow, our Wifi is currently free for guest use.

Regarding your last comment about 'bypassing Tarangire'...April/May is not the best time for wildlife viewing and the grass is tall BUT the birdlife as you may have noticed is a year round spectacle! Already we are seeing an increase in animals; Zebra and Wildebeest are returning and yesterday we had 4 lions in the river below us all day. Tarangire National Park should not be missed during our Dry Season months (June > October & January > March) and for visitors who prefer one on one animal viewing without all the cars like the more popular parks.

Also please note that the rate Tour Operators charge you to stay with us is a lot higher than our standard rack rate, so guests' perception of value varies greatly!

Thank you again for your Review.
Hope the rest of your safari was enjoyable.

Kind regards,

S. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 943 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Spent the first night of our safari here. The views upon arriving were spectacular and we enjoyed a wonderful afternoon drinking cold beers and looking over the river playing hide and seek with the animals: giraffes, elephants, impala. The tents are well appointed and incredibly comfortable. We had a lot of hot water to wash off the first layer of dust. Our dinner and breakfast were very tasty as well.

Tarangire is loaded with elephants and the morning of our departure we saw a pride of about 8 walking up to the river.

The staff was very attentive and the owner met us at check in. The views of the river and surrounding savannah are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hello Sallyern,
Thank you for taking time to review our lodge.
And happy that you enjoyed your surroundings, wildlife and meals here.
Great to hear you were comfortable with our accommodation close to nature too!

I hope the remainder of your TZ tour was all wonderful!

Asante sana!

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staying at the Tarangire Safari Lodge was an exciting experience for several reasons. I went with some friends and we stayed in two adjacent tents. As we were settling in the first afternoon, we witnessed five elephants grazing just behind our tents. After that, the impalas
appeared, and apparently, this was their favorite area, because they stayed through the afternoon, into the evening and slept between our tents all night.
Another reason I loved this lodge was the huge viewing area where we ate our meals. It overlooks the savannah and commands a breathtaking view of the Tarangire River. That evening, we watched the best moon rise I've ever seen. Have I mentioned the food and wine? I loved the wines offered and the food was delicious, every last bit of it. We stayed out on the deck for a long time that evening, enjoying our wine and our dinner under the stars watching the moon rise over the Tarangire landscape.
The staff were lovely; everyone bent over backwards to make this a very pleasant stay for us. I would recommend this lodge to anyone as a relaxing place to go for pampering as well as enjoying the glorious scenery of Tarangire Park.

Room Tip: I only stayed in a tent, but the bed was very comfortable, there was a fully equipped shower, and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccadA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear BeccadA,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! Highly appreciated!
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to experience the full moon over the Tarangire valley! It truly is spectacular! :)
We've been enjoying the same herd of Impala around the lodge a lot recently! The grass is still high in most places so they feel safe in the open areas around the lodge! Great that you had them sleeping in between your tents!!!
Its coming into dry season now, so the lodge and the valley below will be teaming with wildlife soon! :)
Hope the rest of your Tanzanian safari was enjoyable!

Welcome back again!/Karibu tena!!

Kind regards,
S. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a wonderful place. It had a spectacular view of the river and all the animals that come to it to drink. The tents were comfortable and the morning we got up to see the sunrise my tent was surrounded impala grazing and there was elephant poop on the walkway. I must have slept through that. The food was good, the recharging station in the lounge was a kick and the atmosphere wonderful. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear handweaver,

Thank you so much for the 5 star review :) Much appreciated!!
Happy you enjoyed your stay!! We've had the same herd of Impala around camp for the last few months, as the grass is cut and they feel more secure! We really enjoy having them around :)
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your safari in Tanzania!

Karibu tena/Welcome again!!

Kind regards,

S. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a beautiful spot! As soon as you get off he car you are rewarded with an amazing view of the savannah and the river below - probably one of he best views in the whole of Tanzania! The staff at the lodge are amazing and provide an excellent service. Annette and her family have run the lodge for many years and do an excellent job of it. Their son, Brenden, took us on a game drive one morning in the lodge's open truck and proved to be a great guide and extremely knowledgeable about animals. We were also lucky to receive a visit from a herd of elephants at the lodge one morning! Our stay was perfect and I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeRuiXin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hello GeRuiXin,

Thank you so much for your 5star review! Much appreciated!!
I will pass on all your compliments on to the staff!!
Hope to see you back here again soon & hope that the rest of your Tanzanian safari was just as memorable!!

Karibu tena!!/Welcome again!

Kind regards,
S. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've stayed at Tarangire Safari Lodge before and will definitely return again. The fact that this place is owner managed and has been for 27 years really makes a difference. The tents are comfortable and simple with no unnecessary frills but everything you need. The staff is professional and attentive and the food was excellent. Bar drinks are reasonably priced, there's a cute boutique and the pool was very welcoming; soon massage services will be available too. The views of the Tanzanian bush looking down onto the Tarangire River are simply stunning and we enjoyed dinner on the outdoor patio. There was wildlife everywhere around the lodge even in this green season . From our tents we saw elephant, mongoose, impala and waterbuck. On other occasions there have been mating lions within site of the lodge. This place is the real deal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Jambo auroraafrica & Asante sana !! for the Sterling review!

Happy that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to have you back here again soon!

Karibu tena!/Welcome again! :)

Warm regards,
S. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

"Awesome View" does not do Tarangire Safari Lodge justice. I was there in the Wet Season, and the green landscape viewed from the Lodge platform conjures up an image of the Garden of Eden with a river flowing past the baobab and palm trees. When you spy the animals - elephant, giraffe, impala, water buck and baboons - you know you are in the real Africa. I could not have felt more welcome - the tents are more than copmfortable, but place you in th world of those first discovering this country; the staff are most welcoming. I was more or less adopted by the hosts, Annettte and John Simonson, with their grown-up children, Sophie and Brendon, and over drinks and meals I felt transported back to the world of Karen Blixson et al.
I cannot be more positive; within an hour of the Lodge, I saw herds of elephant, giraffe, baboons, mongoose and a lion - I cannot wait to retiurn during the dry season when the zebra, wildebeest and other members of the migration return to fill that awesome view by the river.

Room Tip: All rooms have a brilliant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Hi Paul!

Thank you for reviewing us!! :) Much appreciated! Glad you enjoyed your stay!!
Was great getting to know you! We do hope you come out again, and like you said the dry season is great for wildlife viewing!
You can also look forward to a massage next time you visit! :)
Bring your wife along and do stay longer!! :)

Karibu tena!/Welcome again!

Warm regards,
S. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
626 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
90 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
283 reviews
25.4 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
491 reviews
5 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor terrace, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats ~ a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing