We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird's eye view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bird's eye view”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently stayed at Tarangire Safari Lodge for two nights while touring with Serengeti Select Safaris. The experience was wonderful. Perched on the rim overlooking the river below, one had the feeling of looking into a National Geographic set. One could feel rather removed from the wild animals until you see signs that elephants have passed by your tent recently. My only disappointment was not hearing something wild outside the safety of my tent at night!
Staff were friendly and attentive and the owners were present and helpful.
Thanks for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneElizabeth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello AnneElizabeth5

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR 5 STAR REVIEW! = )
So happy you enjoyed your stay here.
Will pass on your compliments to our staff.

I hope the remainder of your safari was a success.

A warm welcome back again for some night noises next time.


A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    241
    45
    10
    5
See reviews for
213
383
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a spectacular place!! .
The view into the valley below is something else. There are not many places around that you can see major game from your tent and the terrace!! You could hear elephants at night and have been told that they even come really close to the camp itself.
The tents are worth getting over the bungalows i think. They are very cozy, have comfortable beds and good bathroom facilities. One day i was just laying on the bed with the tent flaps up and just the insect flap zipped up. From my bed i could see a group of elephants in the river below.
The staff were great and food good. My oonly minor gripe (and i hate to be too picky), but they need to look at trying to cover some of the buffet food. At breakfast especially there were flies landing on some of the items, which was pretty off putting and not good in Africa. Some basket style food covers would easily solve this and make this a perfect place to stay. The hot things were covered so i just stuck with that.
Oh and Tarangire National park is amazing also!

Room Tip: Go for a tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanHobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello DanHobs,
Thank you for the 4.5 star rating & review.
And happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. = )

Another thank you re. your tip for covering up food.
Will look into sourcing food covers meanwhile.

"Asante sana & Karibu tena!" ("Thank you & Welcome again!")

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

An awesome view from their very beautiful lodge which houses the dining room and bar. The accommodations (all with excellent views) are, for the most part, zippered tents with toilet & shower. They were all clean and comfortable but since our agent had booked us into one of their 'bungalows', we were slightly put off by the fact that we were assigned a tent. The food was great, the service excellent and we'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 36bay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hello 36bay37,
Thank you for your review!
And that you would recommend us to others! = )
Can you let me know where the mix up happened with your room allocation?
If you can supply the date you were here and the company you were traveling with - maybe we can try to figure it out so it wont happen again.
Our regrets meanwhile.

"Asante sana" !

A.Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Read up on this gem of a tented camp and you'll often see, "Location, location, location!" Only a fairly short drive from the Main Gate, the camp is situated in a prime location above the river in the northern end of the reserve. The panoramic view from the camp is breathtaking (see photos of view, one from terrace (chairs) and one from my tent). The tents are comfortable, but the bonus is the wildlife that will be strutting their stuff nearby. Nothing quite as cute as like looking out your tent door flap early in the morning and staring into the doe-eyes of a dikdik.

Nothing reflects more positively on a camp's feel than the service rendered. I was lucky enough to have Elise as a server in the dining area. I was traveling solo and seeing her radiant smile at each meal brightened my spirits. Further, Annette, the owner, upon hearing from her friend that I was interested in photographing owls, escorted me herself to a tree where a resident African Scops Owl was resting. It's these acts of kindness that remain forever in your memory, making the thoughts of the safari all the more sweet.

No question, the Tarangire Safari Lodge is one of the best values I've come across in my African journeys.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveb108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hello Steve108,
Thank you for the wonderful 5 * review! = )
I'm happy for your positive time here and that you enjoyed your experience!
You also came at such a great time of the year - when wildlife abounds around the lodge and throughout the park.

A warm welcome back again!
"Asante sana"

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on our safari with Swala Safaris. As there were 3 of us we stayed in a bungalow and it was great. It had a huge bathroom and a lovely terrace outside the room with a great view. The food was good - especially the cakes - by far the best we have had in Africa. We actually preferred the buffet lunches to the served dinners. Whilst most of the staff were very friendly we did seem to draw the short straw when it came to our waitress who didn't seem to smile much and was shall we say " a little abrupt". The large terrace in front of the bar does have an "Awesome view" and is great place to sit with a drink as the sun goes down. The lodge was also very well located within the park for game drives. We would definately return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShepofBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Jambo ShepofBristol,
Thank you for your review!
I always appreciate it - even when criticism is included.
Can you remember your waitresses name or a description? We do expect friendly service for All of our guests.
Great you enjoyed your accommodation, meals and location.
A warm welcome indeed for another visit.

Asante sana.
A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

There were 17 of us (mostly spoiled women from the US) on this adventure and we were delighted with the accommodations at Tanangire Safari Lodge. I had been very apprehensive about all this tent stuff but my fears were assuaged as soon as I saw the tile shower and flush toilet! ;-) Our tents were in a beautiful location overlooking the huge valley floor below and the river. The sounds at night were amazing - I really thought an elephant was giving birth one night! The food was really good and Esther, our waitress, couldn't have been more charming! What a smile. The charging station at the bar is so fun... any and every possible electronic gadget can be found there! The park itself is full of elephants and zebra -- 2 of my favorites! We saw tons of other animals and birds and of course the iconic baobab trees! If we didn't have lots more to see, I would have loved a 3rd night here.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a tent facing the valley and river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi LauraJ48!

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review!! Much appreciated!!
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! :) & saw lots of animals!!
This time of year in Tarangire is truly magic, great that you got to experience it!! :)
Welcome again/Karibu Tena!!! Next time for 3 nights :)

Warm Regards,

S. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in TSL and enjoyed them both.
The location is superb, right in the middle of the park and view was amazing. Free snacks are served before dinner on the lovely terrace and the staff and place are very nice. Tea and coffee are also complimentary.

Our tent was large and comfortable with a toilet and a shower which could easily be found in a regular hotel (much fancier than we expected).

It's a great place to relax in while visiting the park.

We stayed in tent 22 which is last one. It has a great view but is quite far away. It might be THE tent to book in wet season (as it faces the river) but doesn't seem to be a necessity in dry season.

Room Tip: We stayed in tent 22 which is last one. It has a great view but is quite far away. It might be THE t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank he_who_is_he
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello he_how_is_he
Thank you so much for your review and sharing your experience.
And that you enjoyed both nights!

Regrets that you felt the last tent was too far. We would have been happy
to move you closer. Next time! Welcome back again - in the wet season?

I hope you enjoyed your safari!

A.Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
594 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
399 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#10 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#19 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
159 reviews
25.3 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Property: Tarangire Safari Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor terrace, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats ~ a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing