We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful lodging among the elephants”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful lodging among the elephants”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had a great experience at Tarangire! The highlight of the lodge is its common area which overlooks the trees and land below where elephants hang out. We watched them cross from one end of the panoramic view to the other, crossing a river. The food was great and the rooms were unexpectedly modern! We walked into the tent expecting very rustic style lodging and once we passed the beds, we walked into the second part of the tent which was a fully-tiled bathroom with a working toilet and shower. Great place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aisp264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Hello Alinaispas.
Thank you so much for your review.
I like your title " wonderful lodging among the elephants." = )
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here.

And a warm welcome back again.

Asante sana.
A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    233
    44
    10
    3
See reviews for
200
365
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This was the last hotel/lodge we stayed at during our safari. We loved the authenticity of the tented camps. It really makes you feel like you're camping in the wild! We went during Tarangire's low season, so we were among 6 other guests staying, which was why we found it to be peaceful. This place has the best view of Tarangire. You look down and can spot elephants right away!

The team and manager are amazing. Everyone enjoys what they do and are very professional. The owner is there to greet you and engage you which is a very nice personal touch. The food is excellent.

I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elanou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Hello Elanou,
Thank you so much for your review.
Happy you found it "breathtaking & peaceful" and that you could enjoy the
surroundings here.
Also thankful that you would recomment our lodge to your family and friends! = )

Your review was happily received.
Thank you for taking the time.
"Asante sana"!

A.Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We loved this place a lot. The tents are in good shape and food was excellent. Love the main reception area that feels like a Boma and the evening snacks in the garden. We heard a lion outside out tent one night! and watching the elephants down the plain from the yard is just amazing. Great hospitality and would love to visit there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halfpiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hello halfpiza!

Sorry for taking so long to reply to your review!!
We appreciate all the feedback we can get! :)
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your TZ safari!
Karibu Tena!!/Welcome Again!!

"Asante Sana"

S. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Nice bungalows, but better are the tents. Toliets and shower in the tents on concrete surface, good standard for "tents".

From what I understand, this is one of few privately owned lodges on the northern circuit, and that you can see by the staff on the lodge, they show more joy then from the lodges in Serengeti.

You will get a nice reception and a memory for life. As many have mentioned, the view over the park and river are absolutely great.

Also really plus for the wifi, great to be connected in the bush after some weeks safari.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smokingorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Hello Tredje,
Thank you so much for the great review!!
We really appreciate it when our guests take the time
to send us their feedback.
Welcome again!

"Asante sana!!
Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I wished we had more time to stay longer at Tarangire Safari Lodge. The permanent tents with self-contained washrooms were first class. The staff and management couldn't have been better. The food was to die for and the picturesque scenery was out of this world. This place gets 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Hello Dave D !
Thank you so much for the 5 star review!! = )
It was a pleasure hosting you & your group.
A warm welcome back again!


"Asante sana"!
Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dassel, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Incredible setting, with a big lounge filled with comfy chairs, an open-air diningroom, and expansive patio that all take advantage of the views. All of the tents and bungalows overlook the grasslands below. We ended up in a bungalow, which was very comfortable, and more private and noise-proof than the tents. Very friendly staff: our waitress took it upon herself to teach us some new Swahili words each day, even writing out a list for us. I understand that in the dry season--June-September--all of the animals come in great numbers to the river below the lodge, but even in February we saw the occasional elephant or giraffe. Wonderful place!

Room Tip: The tents are close together. The bungalows are more widely spaced and are more soundproof, but sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moxiesmom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Hello or Jambo sana!
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
Enormously appreciated.
Am happy to hear you were able to sleep well / be accommodated with
the panoramic view! = )

With a hearty thank you for your review.
A & J Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed at Tarangire Safari Lodge in October, 2011. Every aspect of our stay in this our favorite Lodge exceeded expectations; it was truly a delight. The accommodations and hospitality at the Tarangire Safari Lodge of our one-month stay in Tanzania (including Hiking Kili) was like being home with family ( I have never been treated better at any resort anywhere bar none. It was not about being pampered, it was being treated with a kindness that only you find at home with your family.
This tent lodge is magnificently positioned, thoughtfully built & maintained, and the food and service (always with a wonderful smile) are ideal. The casual courtyard overlook of the Tarangire National Park is breath-taking, especially at sunrise and sunset. Sitting on the over look our first night enjoying a nice glass of wine we witnessed the magnificence of Mother Nature as a female lioness hunted down a zebra not a 100 yards from our perch. The eating and lounging areas open directly onto the expanse of a beautiful view of the Tarangire.
Dado Sarah served our meals during our stay; she was simply a perfect example of what every human should be.
Annette the owner was always available, and a Gracious hostess.
The lodge’s location just within Tarangire Park made it an ideal safari experience without even leaving your tent porch. Each day before launching our Jeep tour we already had the pleasure of having been visited by elephants and any number of other magnificent wild beasts. Did I mention the location, owner hospitality, great food & service, and beautifully appointed lodge and very comfortable bed?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FireDataMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Hello FireDataMan,
What a fantastic review! It wams our hearts.
Very pleased that your time/experience was exceptional.
Very happy indeed for that 5 STAR rating!! = )
A warm welcome back again.

ASANTE SANA!!
A & J Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
25.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
25.3 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Property: Tarangire Safari Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 2703 | Arusha, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor patio, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats, which make a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! "Karibuni" or Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing