We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$54
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$14
Agoda.com
View Deal
$27
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Nam Hotel(Dodoma)
$26
Jumia Travel
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
Modern Hotel(Dodoma)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (977)
Filter reviews
977 results
Traveler rating
650
261
51
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
650
261
51
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivercharging stationamazing viewsdik dikfree snacksbuffet stylegame drivesafter darkwatch elephantsreception areahot wateranimals walklate afternoonmorning and eveningmain buildingenjoy the viewpermanent tents
Filter
Updating list...
682 - 687 of 977 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Already 25 years owned by one couple! Beautiful location and nice atmosphere. Comfortable rooms and bathroom. Excellent food and very kind staff. Good swimming pool and amazing terrace with wow view.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Thank you Jos W for your review! = )
We always appreciate reviews and especially the positive ones! = )
Happy that the lodge was a good memory for you.
I hope your Tanzania safari was memorable too.
Asante sana!! & Karibu tena!! = )
A.Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have traveled to East Africa four times and have stayed at at least 8 different lodges. Nothing tops the Tarangire Lodge for location, service, and relaxation. The food is fabulous and the tents are great. We will be returning there for our fourth trip this coming August. If you are in Tanzania, don't miss this hidden treasure!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I was debating between average and very good on this one and very good it is. The view from the lobby and the permanent tents is breath taking! You can literally sit down, look down from the cliff and watch the game. Around your tent elephants will be strolling, monkeys playing antelopes grazing; you may even see a lion nearby. The food is rather good. The tents are on permanent solid base and very nice. The electricity on/off but more on than off. Minor inconveniences include the failure of internet and the need to charge your devices and cameras in the lobby since rooms do not have outlets. Safari in Tarangire is good but arguably not as spectacular as Serengeti. If i come back will make sure I sit more at the outdoor balcony and just find time to take it all in. The owner of the lodge is kind and attentive to her guests.

Room Tip: all tents face the savanna valley ,the view is spectacular everywhere and the rooms practically identical. Outer parameter on the left of the lobby features a few solid buildings but the rest are tented structures.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Tarangire Safari Lodge has much to offer - an awesome view, abundant wildlife, excellent food, comfortable accommodations, courteous and well trained staff. Annette and Jon Simonson are thoughtful and gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I have had the opportunity to visit tanzania 4 times. Tarangire safari lodge is definitely one of the highlights of the trip. The large patio is a great place to relax and enjoy the amazing view both day and night. A great place to see all the stars you might not get to see in the city. The tents are the best at night you can hear the sounds of the animals and see the sunrise in the morning. The restrooms and hot high pressure showers are wonderful after a dusty day of safari or enjoy the pool for a refreshing afternoon splash. The meals are delicious and Annette and her staff very welcoming and informative. A must stay if you are in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews