We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Amazing Tarangire”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Amazing Tarangire”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is an absolutely amazing place to see the animals of Africa. The main buildings are impressive pole and thatch structures, with furniture made from a shipwrecked vessel. The food is varied and delicious. Staff is friendly and very helpful. The views from the deck are stunning, as you have a view of a busy river valley below you. You may see lions hunt while sipping a gin and tonic. The park is vast and underrated as well. You won't find a better value for your safari dollar than this exquisite oasis. It is the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beepydean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    235
    44
    10
    3
See reviews for
203
368
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The room, service and people were very pleasant. The food reminded me of home cooked because it wasn't perfect but it was delicious and edible.

Hanging out during the day while other guests are out on safari is not wasted as the view from the deck is breathtaking. You can watch the masses of wildebeest, zebras, elephants and lions comes to feast and drink just below. In the evening you are lulled to sleep by the roars of the lions.

Follow the rules and don't leave your tent while it's dark because you don't know who or what you could bump into. We had elephants and impalas on the grounds with lions just over the ledge.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachkaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Tarangire Safari Lodge is a fantastic place to stay with a beautifull surrounding, nice service and very good food! I enjoyed staying there very much and can recommend everyone to spend a night at this special place.

Greetings, Manon

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVO2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our family of 4, traveling with a guide and organized by a small tour company, spent 2 wonderful weeks in Africa. We stayed in many lovely places but Tarangire Safari Lodge, which was our last stop, was beyond our expectations in many ways! The Lodge itself is absolutely lovely, open, spacious and welcoming. The people we met were friendly, helpful and met our every need. One of our sons was ill and the management went out of their way to make him comfortable! Wonderful "happy hour" on the deck watching the sun set over the savanna, delicious food, absolutely gorgeous views down to the river, great tents.... what is not to love. If we could go back to Africa from California today, just for one night.... this is where we would go - hands down!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonflylady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarangireSafariLodge, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive review and happy to hear
that you all enjoyed your stay and that you recommend our lodge.
Look forward to welcoming you back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Our safari operator inadvertently did not receive confirmation for our stay at Tarangire Safari Lodge. While she tried finding alternate lodges (and finding out there was not availability in or out of the park) the park manager was very nice and gracious in explaining the situation. I am not sure if her being a friend of our safari operator played a huge role in the solution, but the management was more than gracious in trying to accomodate us. They set up tents for us in the swimming pool area along with mattresses and torches. The lodge staff made sure we were very comfortable. The meals were delicious and the view out of the is world. Annette was very kind and we were more than happy to be able to have stayed here...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfamilysandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Feb 2011 was our 2nd visit to the lodge. It is a fantastic place to stay, hence the return visit. We cannot fault our stay in any way. Everything about the lodge was really great--accommodation great (tented area), the food-always plenty of it; everyone was so friendly and helpful, and of course the views and wildlife -absolutely stunning. When out on Safari we saw everything. It was a great time of the year to go--fully recommend the whole experience to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great accomodation in either tents or small cabins. Swimming pool. We saw cheetah & a whole pride of lions & cubs and all in just 1 weekend from Arusha. The owners & the staff are the best, so friendly & knowledgable. And buffet breakfast wonderful after an early safari

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
566 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
385 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
154 reviews
25.3 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Property: Tarangire Safari Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 2703 | Arusha, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor patio, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats, which make a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! "Karibuni" or Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing