We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Nearby Hotels
$86
$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ark Hotel(Dodoma)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
Modern Hotel(Dodoma)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
468
31
4
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
31
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking safarioutdoor showerother guestsgame drivesfirst stopfamily stylehoney badgersouthern partthe managersshare storiesbush tvlong tablewonderful hostsbucket showerprivate dinnerpark rangersafari experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 507 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We went to Olivers as the first stop of out 2 weeks safari last August. We had read all the great reveiws and were excited to experience it for ourselves, but nothing could of prepared us for this place.
Set in beautifull surroundings, miles away from anywhere, the camp was a welcome site at the end of a long day of travelling and game drives. We were met by a really warm welcome from all the staff before being taken to our tent. I say tent but that is a bit of an understatement. Beautifully decorated and really comfortable. My wife did have a little difficulty sleeping though- not because the room was uncomfortable- just because of the lions that insisted on walking around our tent!!!
The food was also excellent and way above what you might expect in such an isolated place.
All in all I would reccomend this lodge to anyone who wants a true luxury safari experience- you wont regret it. As for us, we will be back there as soon as we get a chance. Thanks Olivers camp !

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed in August 2009 and have been remiss in submitting our review.

In looking at other reviews for Oliver's Camp, it's important to know what you value and what the lodging has to offer. Yes, it is a semi-permanent tented camp IN Tarangire NP and has chemical toilets and bucket showers in an open air bathroom attached to your tent. The bathroom was clean. The tents are spacious and we thought romantic. Morning tea and coffee are delivered at a time of your choosing (seems to be standard on safari) and at that time they will fill your wash bucket with hot water. Don't take a shower in the morning; wait until afternoon break when the sun is out and the air is warmer. They will fill your bucket shower at any time you wish with hot water. The Asilia guides (Martin, Alex and Alex) were fantastic. It is nice to already be in the park. Another reviewer said you had to drive out a bit every day. We agree, you do drive out a bit to get to other locations of the park, but really the wildlife is all around you (even sometimes next to your tent).

We also happened to really like the food, which was buffet style (eat as much as you like) and communal seating which we also really enjoyed and think other camps should do the same. In particular as a home cook, I was impressed what they did out in the bush and the food while fly camping was also fantastic. The lounge appeared "Out of Africa." Staff were always very friendly and accommodating.
We assigned value three stars because while Oliver's is exceptional, we paid for exceptional.

This is NOT Sayari in the Serengeti. Sayari is now a permanent camp and has a totally different feel. We actually preferred the more rustic and private Oliver's camp.
We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joopiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

"Without doubt with KIRAWIRA tented camp the highlight of our recent trip to Tanzania." Olivers is the real africa you go to sleep after port with cheese in the dining tent accompanied by the scamper of dik diks around your tent and are awakened by the majesty of a competitive pride of lions on the surrrounding plain at Tarangire. Alex is the perfect ghost and impressario if you are (we were) lucky enough to have an entertainer at Dinner. The food service and boma all superb complemented by great company of fellow guests. Make no mistake Olivers with its bucket showers and REAL african experience will remian long in your memory long after you've forgotten the many five star experiences you may have had in your lifetime in terms of perfection we can only compare it to its opposite La Posta Vecchia Ladispoli Lazio Italy in terms of absolute perfection. Just cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandpD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

we stayed at olivers as part of a month long vacation in kenya and tanzania. while the accomodations were ok, we did not know there was a bucket shower and chemical toilet. while we could adapt to this for the few days we were there....the food was mediocre and there did not seem to be enough staff. more than once, we went down to the "bonfire," which was not lit, and sat in the dark alone for 15 to 20 minutes..........
i o\would not recommend this camp!!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Olivers is a luxury authentic bush camp experience - the tents are large and well located for views/privacy, the beds very comfortabe and the bush style bathrooms (bucket showers and chemical toilets) are very well done and very adequate indeed. During our holiday we stayed at camps that were more luxury (see Sayari camp) but we felt Olivers had a more authentic bush atmosphere. Dinner is communal style which worked well. Food, was the one poor point - not bad but not luxury and just OK. There are a lot of flies and sometimes buffet food was inadequately covered. Also there did not do a sundowner in the bush, but this was made up by drinks around a camp fire each night (until the elephants came and we had to retreat into stafety!).

Staff were always helpful and guides great. The highlight was our night fly camping and a bush walk next morning with Alex.The fly camp whilst being out in the wild was a great experience. This was so well done it left us with a great memory. You do get close to the wildlife - we had lions around our tent at night and the next morning on the walk we saw two lions (one large male and his mate) and a herd of buffalo! And at night being far from anything, the stars are very clear. Having your food cooked around a camp fire stirs some ancestral feelings.

Tarangire park was also the best of all of the parks we visited - it teams with wildlfe - we had a friend staying with us for 2 nights who had not been to Africa before and he couldn't believe how easy it was to see he animals! - there were leopards and lions just hanging off the trees (yes, in this park the lions hang in trees too!). Elephant, zebra and buffalo abound - and bird life is fantastic - we saw a Martial Eagle right next to us in a tree. Superb starlings and so colourful as are the lilac breasted rollers.

Well worth including 2-3 nights in your safari schedule. We flew in from Arusha (20 mins) and then onto Lake Manyara (20 mins) - well worth it as you maximise animal viewing in the park (the alternative is a 4 hour drive from Arusha).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews