We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it! Great for a safari honeymoon stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed for two nights at Oliver's Camp. Tents / Rooms were of a very good standard. Service / staff were great. We really enjoyed the pre-dinner drinks around the camp fire both evenings under the stars! Food was extremely good (although maybe for me slightly small portions but not for my wife!). We thought this place was a perfect start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 468 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2009

We really loved this place! The surrounding and ambiance are great. Unbelievable that such a deserted place can offer such a great service. The staff is very helpfull and prepares good food. The "outdoor" bathroom and interior of the tents makes it a real "out of Africa" experience. The parc were Oliver;s is located is famous for it's elephants, but don't think you can't see anything else. We saw leopards, cheeta and indeed many elephants!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

My husband and I just returned from our safari holiday in Tanzania. Oliver's Camp was our first camp stay where we lived for 2 nights. The staff here were wonderful with a warm reception and attention to a quality run camp. The tent was located so that we had a direct view out into the park and it's wildlife without actually seeing other tents as they were positioned apart quite nicely. Ambiance and amenities were above our expectations as we were living in the wilderness. The lighting in the tent was with electricity for 1 night and on the final night there was a problem with their generator and they took the time to provide all tents with kerosene lamps so that we all could still see. The bucket shower, sink and toilet were more than adequate. They even provide shampoo and lotion and soaps along with necessary towels and linens were of top quality on the oversized queen bed. The sundowners by campfire were exceptional and the stars never were brighter in the skies above at this location. The food was exceptional and the local South African quality wine was poured as soon as the glass approached empty. We truly enjoyed the walking safari with Rudolf as our guide. Although the tsetse flies were annoying us all during this 7:00 am 4 hour walk, we came within 200 metres of some buffalo while we hid behind a fallen tree for our protection. We saw a leopard tortoise and Rudolf taught us various paw prints and their identities. We also saw the black markings of the dik-dik which marks their territories. Each morning as we awoke we saw 2 dik-diks in our tented area which must be their territory we were living in. We appreciate their allowing us to stay here. After leaving Oliver's Camp to continue onto our journey of other camp sites, we learned to truly appreciate what a special place Oliver's Camp is and how great the people who run the camp, including Camp Manager Helen, who was very personable and who engaged all the guests to ensure we were all having a good time. We enjoyed that we ate as a larger group to find out where everyone was from, what their travels had brought them and what they each saw on safari. Thank you Helen and Rudolf and of course all the staff at the camp for taking such good care of us and ensuring we had a good time. Barb & Baden Smith

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barblovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

My dad and I stayed at Oliver's for two days as the first camp on our first safari in Africa - the camp managers were highly engaged, warm, and attentive and the staff was on spot.

My dad has a food allergy and the dining staff was better than those in my home town (Manhattan) in assuring he was fine with the food. To that point, the food was well-prepared and the wine flowing (nice South African wines).

Tarangire National Park is very nice, and Oliver's made the safari tour all the more impressive.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dp750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

As part of a seven day private safari in Tanzania with Expert Africa in February we spent two nights at Olivers Camp. It is a mobile tented camp which is spread over a big area so that from your tent all you can see is the wilderness - you can't see any other tents. When we arrived at our tent the first time there was a dik -ik outside! The tents are large and comfortable with an attached bathroom with chemical toilet (which was very clean) and 'bucket shower'. The shower was great - you tell them when you want the hot water and they bring it on time, with enough for a reasonable shower for one - then they bring a second lot of water about 15 minutes later.

The personal attention was fantastic - there are only 7 tents - and the food was marvellous. It's on an all inclusive basis, with excellent south african wine included. You can also have pre -dinner drinks in your tent, then round the camp fire.

After dark you're not allowed to wander around on your own, so you have to tell them when you want to be fetched - we forgot and ended up blowing the 'emergency' whistle - causing much consternation.

We knew before we went that Tarangire is not so good for game in February as later in the year - we saw no predators - but we saw lots of elephants and had a couple of exciting/alarming encounters with them. On one game drive a herd of about 50 elephants was being agitated by a bull in must and the herd split and tried to get on either side of our landcruiser. The guide said 'this is serious' and got us out of there fast!

Our only disappointment was that the park ranger who is usually based there was away when we were ther so we could not do a guided walk.

We can thoroughly recommend the camp.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelfanaticsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

Wonderful stay, the food and tent were both fanstastic, and the service is very attentive.

Highly recommended, an excellent start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grufti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Oliver's Camp was great, lovely accomodation with a fantastic outdoor "bathroom". Another gem from our tour operator to escape to. We had fun dinners together with the other guests, the food was delicious here too and the service great. I really liked this place because it felt like a safari camp from the old days (or what I imagine it would be like). The chats by the fireplace before dinner were really nice moments. What we really liked as well was that our guides joined us for the camp fire and meals and we could all share stories and experiences.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annika02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
25.3 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
403 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
220 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#11 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
278 reviews
19.9 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
#17 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: $1,021 - $1,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Africa, just as it should be. Oliver's Camp - in the remote southern reaches of Tarangire National Park - has just 10 beautifully appointed safari tents in a spectacular location close to the game-dense Silale Swamps and overlooking a flood plain of the Minyonyo Pools. Oliver's was inspired by the trailblazing camps that pioneered the early days of safari. It gives you direct access to the dense concentration of wildlife you will find year-round in this remote region, as well as the chance to enjoy walking safaris and fly camping. Oliver's is intimate and personal, staffed by a world-class team that has worked together for many years to perfect a safari experience that guests consistently rank among their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing