We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience! Great staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience! Great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

My dad and I stayed at Oliver's for two days as the first camp on our first safari in Africa - the camp managers were highly engaged, warm, and attentive and the staff was on spot.

My dad has a food allergy and the dining staff was better than those in my home town (Manhattan) in assuring he was fine with the food. To that point, the food was well-prepared and the wine flowing (nice South African wines).

Tarangire National Park is very nice, and Oliver's made the safari tour all the more impressive.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dp750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    25
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
103
214
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

As part of a seven day private safari in Tanzania with Expert Africa in February we spent two nights at Olivers Camp. It is a mobile tented camp which is spread over a big area so that from your tent all you can see is the wilderness - you can't see any other tents. When we arrived at our tent the first time there was a dik -ik outside! The tents are large and comfortable with an attached bathroom with chemical toilet (which was very clean) and 'bucket shower'. The shower was great - you tell them when you want the hot water and they bring it on time, with enough for a reasonable shower for one - then they bring a second lot of water about 15 minutes later.

The personal attention was fantastic - there are only 7 tents - and the food was marvellous. It's on an all inclusive basis, with excellent south african wine included. You can also have pre -dinner drinks in your tent, then round the camp fire.

After dark you're not allowed to wander around on your own, so you have to tell them when you want to be fetched - we forgot and ended up blowing the 'emergency' whistle - causing much consternation.

We knew before we went that Tarangire is not so good for game in February as later in the year - we saw no predators - but we saw lots of elephants and had a couple of exciting/alarming encounters with them. On one game drive a herd of about 50 elephants was being agitated by a bull in must and the herd split and tried to get on either side of our landcruiser. The guide said 'this is serious' and got us out of there fast!

Our only disappointment was that the park ranger who is usually based there was away when we were ther so we could not do a guided walk.

We can thoroughly recommend the camp.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfanaticsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

Wonderful stay, the food and tent were both fanstastic, and the service is very attentive.

Highly recommended, an excellent start to our honeymoon.

  • Liked — Difficult to pick out one thing, but maybe the food or the service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grufti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

Oliver's Camp was great, lovely accomodation with a fantastic outdoor "bathroom". Another gem from our tour operator to escape to. We had fun dinners together with the other guests, the food was delicious here too and the service great. I really liked this place because it felt like a safari camp from the old days (or what I imagine it would be like). The chats by the fireplace before dinner were really nice moments. What we really liked as well was that our guides joined us for the camp fire and meals and we could all share stories and experiences.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annika02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2007

As a family we stayed at Olivers camp for two nights. It has many excellent attributes. The game in the park is plentiful and varied and I must say it is a bird watchers paradise. The birds and the elephants in the swamp will be the main memories I take away. My major criticism is the camp is located a fair way from the main park and so a good journey needs to be made for game drives to begin.

The camp was well organises but lacked a clear host. The tents were probably the best of the camps at which we stayed apart from the bathroom area which contained a chemical toilet. The food was consistenetly good and the company at the dinner table was interesting and varied but lacked a host who could have brought together the guests as one group rather than several groups around the same table.

We also stayed at the sister camp 'Suyan camp' in the Serengeti which was more customer focussed but still managed to retain a relaxed under stated quality offering.

  • Liked — understed elegance
  • Disliked — chemical toilets
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank AndrewGWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2006

Oliver's Camp is more than just a camp or lodge. It's an incredible experience on a safari. You feel like Meryl Streep and Robert Redford in "Out of Africa"; everything is very authentic and nevertheless absolutely luxurious. The infrastructure may be rather simple (although the new tents are very big and brilliantly furbished) - instead of a big restaurant you dine around big table with other guests in an open tent decorated like in colonial times and you have the impression of being just in the middle of nowhere. Food is phantastic, and so is the location of the camp. On our safari, we visited other luxury camps, but this one was by far the best!!!

  • Liked — just everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — go for a walking safari with the camp manager
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank truffaldino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
8.5 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
140.6 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
22.4 mi away
Nimali Tarangire
Nimali Tarangire
#13 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecoscience Science Center and Luxury Lodge
Ecoscience Science Center and Lu...
#22 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Africa, just as it should be. Oliver's Camp - in the remote southern reaches of Tarangire National Park - has just 10 beautifully appointed safari tents in a spectacular location close to the game-dense Silale Swamps and overlooking a flood plain of the Minyonyo Pools. Oliver's was inspired by the trailblazing camps that pioneered the early days of safari. It gives you direct access to the dense concentration of wildlife you will find year-round in this remote region, as well as the chance to enjoy walking safaris and fly camping. Oliver's is intimate and personal, staffed by a world-class team that has worked together for many years to perfect a safari experience that guests consistently rank among their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing