We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Oliver's was our first camp on our first ever safari. We arrived with preconceived expectations about what the camp would be like, mainly derived from previous trip advisor reviews and Asilia's own website. We therefore thought it would be good, but nothing could prepare us for the truly unforgettable experience we had over 3 days.
From the outset, tumbling out of the jeep after the long journey from Kilimanjaro, being met with a cool drink and cold flannel was just the 'pick us up' we needed. Justin and Jacky were patient and wonderful hosts, carefully explaining camp rules to 4 rather jet lagged safari novices!
Unforgettable for us means sitting by the campfire for pre-dinner drinks with our guide discussing the highlights of the day and plans for the next, meeting fellow guests and the hosts at dinner for lively discussions, wonderful food (incredible quality and variety), the elephant which interrupted our showering whilst he casually carried out some garden maintenance, the views through the mesh screen, and seeing the sunrise with a hot flask of coffee.
The safari drives from Oliver's were exceptional and with the location away from the main tourist trail, we enjoyed the relative tranquility and exclusivity of the area.
The camp would not be so successful without the wonderful friendly and attentive staff, so a HUGE thank you to Justin, Jacky and the team. We shall not forget or time at Oliver's as the first stage in our amazing journey!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TriciaF-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 468 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

The first part of our family safari was at the almost brand new Little Oliver's Camp in Tarangire National Park. As a group of ten we took out 5 of the 6 tents on the property. Friendly welcome from Angel, Alex and the team, great food, camp fire sundowners, exceptional 24/7 outdoor showers (the best of our trip) and very comfortable accommodation. The huts are spread out - each hut is very private - and as the camp is unfenced the after dark pickups are handled via walkie talkie.

Our guides Stamford and Jackson were exceptionally good and for those into birdlife, there is a lot to see here. The other great benefit of Little Oliver's and its sister camp is the proximity to the Silale Swamp which gets little day traffic and where we saw hippos, families of elephants bathing and lots more besides. Nowhere on the rest of our trip did we see elephants in such numbers and as up close as here in Tarangire.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindfieldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were there with 4 kids.
Tarangiri is beyond believe and expectations,
You can see there all. And we mean all!
Land scape , wild life, swamps and more,

OLIVER'S CAMP:

Great management, Austin and his wonderful wife jacky are running the place in a way that makes you feel at home.

The stuff is so service oreiented that you keep on smiling,
They are so generous,
All what I add with only spoil.
Don’t miss it!!

I is 10!!
Well done guys

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had an outstanding 3 days with our hosts, Justin and Jacky at Oliver's Camp. This permanent camp comes with spacious tents, that are a cross between a tent and a cabin. There is a large bedroom area, comfortable beds, a bathroom area with flush toilet and dressing area, a "porch" with recliners, and delightful outdoor showers. It is a true bush experience. One day we couldn't return to our tents after our afternoon game drive as a large bull elephant was blocking our way! We just had a few beers in the community area until the elephant moved along. Evenings are so much fun with great Sundowners with our delightful hosts, Justin and Jacky, who make you feel as if you are the only person in the camp. They are fun, full of energy, and outstanding at what they do. It is clear that the entire staff adores working for them, and everyone followed their example of gracious hospitality. It was a happy place. One evening the entire staff came out singing the "Jambo" song. Pretty soon Justin and Jacky had our entire table up dancing around the table. It was so much fun. I'll remember that forever. The food was delicious and the wine was excellent. Dinners were served graciously on a beautiful candle lit table. They do take credit cards if you care to purchase something from "the mall", a small cabinet of souvenirs, or purchase a beverage that is outside of the offerings of the full board accommodations. We loved every minute of our visit. Here is a little tip about the only potential downside, the tse-tse fly population in the Tarangire. They are more present in the forested areas as opposed to the open areas. We applied (four of us) the skin-so-soft insect repellent and even when the flies were buzzing all around us, not a single bite on any place where the SOS was applied. I was the only one to get bit, several bites on my stomach! The flies bit right through my insect repellent shirt to a place where I had not applied the SOS. Not a single bite on my bare arms! It comes in convenient packets, or you can also get a tube that also has 30 SPF that works equally well against the flies, and also protects from the strong African sun!

Room Tip: Rooms close to the dining area might be best for anyone with walking issues.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chjada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

As part of our safari, we stayed at Little Oliver's Camp for three nights. Little Oliver's is just down the road from Oliver's and also run by the Asilia group. The Camp is relatively new (opened in June 2013). The Camp Manager and her team provide an outstanding level of service. The location of the tents allows guests to watch the wildlife from their deck or perhaps even from bed. The tents are roomy and comfortable with a most wonderful outdoor shower - not to be missed! We would highly recommend this Camp to anyone visiting Tarangire National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_traveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

By now, we have spent three week in Tanzania. We were in four camps, all of them different
in style and experience. We loved Oliver's Camp. If I were to be picky, I would say that the
"breakfast and Lunch to-go" we not the best. I would definitely go back.
John

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AprilJohn477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our two week vacation in Tanzania. I can say without a doubt that Oliver's Camp was my favorite camp. The accommodating staff, the "tent" and definitely the outdoor shower made this an absolutely enjoyable experience. Don't let the words "camp" or "tent" scare you. Oliver's was like staying at an outdoor four or five start hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
25.3 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
403 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
220 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#11 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
278 reviews
19.9 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
#17 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: $1,021 - $1,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Africa, just as it should be. Oliver's Camp - in the remote southern reaches of Tarangire National Park - has just 10 beautifully appointed safari tents in a spectacular location close to the game-dense Silale Swamps and overlooking a flood plain of the Minyonyo Pools. Oliver's was inspired by the trailblazing camps that pioneered the early days of safari. It gives you direct access to the dense concentration of wildlife you will find year-round in this remote region, as well as the chance to enjoy walking safaris and fly camping. Oliver's is intimate and personal, staffed by a world-class team that has worked together for many years to perfect a safari experience that guests consistently rank among their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing