We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
160 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I can't say enough good about this palace. The tents are very large and well appointed, and isolated. They have an outdoor shower and lots of hot water heated buy a solar system. There is electricity 24/7. The best may be the food which is almost gourmet. They have a fire each night before dinner at which everyone gathers and talks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    26
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
104
214
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We came here as our last stop on our trip to east Africa. It was a great way to end things, in a beautiful, comfortable setting. The camp is extremely nice and the staff top notch -- our driver/guide, Erasto, was especially great and incredibly knowledgeable. We are so glad we came to Tarangire and to Oliver's and our only regret is not staying longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigmops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Oliver's was the first, and best, camp we experienced during our safari in Tanzania. The tents were luxurious and the outdoor shower just added to the whole African experience. We can never forget the wonderful view from our tent and the noise from the lions at night. I strongly recommend the walking safari as you do gain intimate knowledge of the local habitat. Jacky, Justin and Lewis are an amazing team and they provided an outstanding safari experience for us. We only have praise for our stay at Oliver's.

Room Tip: This is small camp so really all tents are accessible and amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was an amazing place, from the lovely tents, to the campfire, and the great hosts, Jackie and Justin.
It is luxury in the bush, and the drinks and food match the theme.
It's a great place to stay for game viewing in Tarangire and we saw hundreds of elephants along the swamp very day on the way in and out of camp. Amazing place.
We booked via Nick from Tanzania Specialists and he was sopt on, booking us fabulous accomodation for our safari's and Zanzibar stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 10 which was quite far from the communal camp so if you want to be closer as them fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShudTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently stayed at Little Oliver's Camp. I guess Oliver's Camp was so popular and always booked so they added a few more cottages down the road. There is nothing little about it! It is wonderful, intimate and the bonus with it, they have both indoor and outdoor showers. Angel is the perfect hostess and everyone makes you feel like family. I miss the hot coffee and tea as a wake up call now that I am back home!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jandabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed two nights at Little Oliver's camp right up the road from the main Oliver's camp. With five tents, it is an intimate place and having quality other guests for the family style drinks and dinner is important. Our family of four took two out of five tents, but we were fortunate that the rest of the accommodations were filled with fun and interesting travelers, making meals a treat.

The location is great. You are a couple of hours from the main Tarangire gate, so in the morning and the evening you have wildlife to yourself. Quite the contrast from the mobs in Ngorongoro. Also, there is quite a bit of wildlife right around the tents, which are widely spaced and very private. We had seven elephants parade right in front of our tent me night, and tent five had a leopard sniffing around.

The staff was Bret, and dining with Angel and Alex was a treat. We would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Tent 1 and 2 are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We just returned from spending time in Tanzania with a first stop at Oliver's Camp. You will love it there! The hosts are completely charming and the entire staff eats dinner with the guests every night family style. The food is fantastic. I loved out tented room with a private view of the sun coming up from the bed with the call of the animals just outside. The service was the best. If I could rate this higher than a 5 I would! Highly recommend! We felt like we were staying with family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilynnann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
25.3 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
385 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
566 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#22 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Africa, just as it should be. Oliver's Camp - in the remote southern reaches of Tarangire National Park - has just 10 beautifully appointed safari tents in a spectacular location close to the game-dense Silale Swamps and overlooking a flood plain of the Minyonyo Pools. Oliver's was inspired by the trailblazing camps that pioneered the early days of safari. It gives you direct access to the dense concentration of wildlife you will find year-round in this remote region, as well as the chance to enjoy walking safaris and fly camping. Oliver's is intimate and personal, staffed by a world-class team that has worked together for many years to perfect a safari experience that guests consistently rank among their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing