We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too nice to called camping.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Dix Hills, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too nice to called camping.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Oliver’s Camp was awesome and on a level of their own. Sure it wasn’t “real” camping but that’s just fine by me. The accommodations were rustic luxury with a campy feel. It was very comfortable and clean. The service was excellent – there were people to walk you to your room in the night to make sure you were safe, they had a tray of tea and biscuits brought to you in the morning and the food was 5 star (especially for dinner). The camp managers – Ken and his wife were very friendly and lovely people. You have dinner with them and the rest of the guests which was really nice as you got to talk and get to know people. The shower was an outside one but done in a very quirky way. Most importantly they had warm water – which they heat with solar panels (they had one for each tent). They even had regular flush toilets in the tents/room. Everything about our stay here was top-notch. Highly recommend staying here and Ken and team are excellent. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwell1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    29
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
119
224
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon USA
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Oliver's was one of three Asilia properties we stayed at. Very enjoyable from all aspects except the Tse Tse flies were pretty bad in this area of the park (not horrible at the campsite but still there..and very bad getting to the game area). People and food were great.

Don't bring food into the tent (they warn you and will keep your goodies in their refrigerator) as Honey Badgers know how to get in. And your do NOT want to come face to face with a Honey Badger (we didn't).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FABOregonUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perl, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful camp and loved every minute of it!! Beautiful setting, loveley tents that offer all luxury that you can imagine yo have in the bush. What really makes this camp very special and memorable is the extraordinary friendly and knowledgable staff. The guides, the service staff, the managers, the kitchen crew all make a stay at Oliver's camp a wonderful experience. Great food throughout. We will try to be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I spent 2 days at Oliver's camp and it was a great start to our safari. The hut was spacious, very original, with nice compfortable king bed and good quality pillows. It is located in the middle of the trees, with very nice view of the park. Each hut is quite far away from each other, offering absolute peace and no sounds (apart from the original and amazing awakening by the birds and the animals near the lodge). A "butler" would wake us up in the morning bringing tea and cookies. The staff was really nice and friendly, the temp manager Tania was very welcoming, accomodated each of our requests. They went the extra mile by organising a very romantic dinner in the middle of the bush for our 1 year anniversary, with champagne and great food under candlelights... Amazing stay, would highly reccommend! Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Ken and Michelle the managers of the camp are very nice people and are running a first class operation. The food is outstanding, the tents are luxury tents, beautifully adorned, and have a running toilet with shower right outside your tent but closed off by a fence.

The highlight of my stay was the walking safari with Luis the walking guide. He is the nicest man, very educated and a Level 3 guide the highest level of achievement.

All in all I would highly recommend Oliver's Camp if you are going to the Tarangire National Park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Oliver's Camp is an incredibly experience. The tents are magnificent with all the comforts you can imagine. We loved the way they were decorated and couldn't stop saying how much we loved our tent. The food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed sitting by the campfire and eating with the other guests. The atmosphere of the camp was magical. All of the staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. I highly recommend the experience of this delightful camp!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Oliver's Camp in late August for 3 nights and would highly recommend it to anyone. You'll want to fly into the nearest airstrip to get to this camp, as it is tucked away and not in the busy, more heavily trafficked areas of Tarangire. And consider that one of the significant benefits of this camps locations. The game viewing is outstanding and the distractions from other jeeps are minimal.

The camp is a luxury tented camp. I find it amusing that such facilities are referred to as camps, but technically, the rooms are tents (fabric walls) that sit on wooden floored platforms. The size of the 'tents' are outstanding and provide plenty of room to accommodate a traveling couple. Rooms are clean and provide the right balance of amenities vs ruggedness. Bathrooms are spacious and provide plenty of privacy. Overall, you won't be disappointed with the rooms.

Food is excellent, and we didn't have any issues with the quality or variety of the food served. In fact, it was amazingly good considering where we were located, since supplies need to be trucked in regularly. Dining occurs at the main lodge (lobby area) and is communal on a very, very large table. Dinner is served at an appointed time and all guests are expected to eat at that time. Personally, I would prefer earlier dining times to give more time to get back to my tent after dinner and prepare for the next days outing. But socializing with the other guests was fun and informative, providing us with details of other camps, and other parks.

We took breakfasts with us and that allowed us to get out very early. Lunch is again communal but it typically not as busy as dinner as many choose to stay out on safari rather then come back to the camp.

Guide services were outstanding. In fact, of the four camps we visited, our guide at Oliver's was probably the best (all were very good) because he was so knowledgable and amazingly friendly.

Electricity for charging devices is only available at the main lobby area. While there are multiple plugs, there are times, when none are available because other guests are using them. And if you are like me, where you need multiple devices and batteries charging, you should bring your own travel sized multi outlet with surge protection (Belkin makes one) to accommodate charging your camera batteries and other devices. This will use only one of the available camp outlets while ensuring all of your charging occurs simultaneously.

Finally, accolades to all the camp staff who were outstanding. I would not hesitate to return to Oliver's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddf200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
25.3 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
398 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
206 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#11 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#19 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecoscience Science Center and Luxury Lodge
Ecoscience Science Center and Lu...
#22 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Africa, just as it should be. Oliver's Camp - in the remote southern reaches of Tarangire National Park - has just 10 beautifully appointed safari tents in a spectacular location close to the game-dense Silale Swamps and overlooking a flood plain of the Minyonyo Pools. Oliver's was inspired by the trailblazing camps that pioneered the early days of safari. It gives you direct access to the dense concentration of wildlife you will find year-round in this remote region, as well as the chance to enjoy walking safaris and fly camping. Oliver's is intimate and personal, staffed by a world-class team that has worked together for many years to perfect a safari experience that guests consistently rank among their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing