We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Nearby Hotels
$86
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ark Hotel(Dodoma)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
Modern Hotel(Dodoma)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
468
31
4
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
31
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking safarioutdoor showerother guestsgame drivesfirst stopfamily stylehoney badgersouthern partthe managersshare storiesbush tvlong tablewonderful hostsbucket showerprivate dinnerpark rangersafari experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 507 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2007

Wonderful stay, the food and tent were both fanstastic, and the service is very attentive.

Highly recommended, an excellent start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grufti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Oliver's Camp was great, lovely accomodation with a fantastic outdoor "bathroom". Another gem from our tour operator to escape to. We had fun dinners together with the other guests, the food was delicious here too and the service great. I really liked this place because it felt like a safari camp from the old days (or what I imagine it would be like). The chats by the fireplace before dinner were really nice moments. What we really liked as well was that our guides joined us for the camp fire and meals and we could all share stories and experiences.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annika02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2007

As a family we stayed at Olivers camp for two nights. It has many excellent attributes. The game in the park is plentiful and varied and I must say it is a bird watchers paradise. The birds and the elephants in the swamp will be the main memories I take away. My major criticism is the camp is located a fair way from the main park and so a good journey needs to be made for game drives to begin.

The camp was well organises but lacked a clear host. The tents were probably the best of the camps at which we stayed apart from the bathroom area which contained a chemical toilet. The food was consistenetly good and the company at the dinner table was interesting and varied but lacked a host who could have brought together the guests as one group rather than several groups around the same table.

We also stayed at the sister camp 'Suyan camp' in the Serengeti which was more customer focussed but still managed to retain a relaxed under stated quality offering.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank AndrewGWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

Oliver's Camp is more than just a camp or lodge. It's an incredible experience on a safari. You feel like Meryl Streep and Robert Redford in "Out of Africa"; everything is very authentic and nevertheless absolutely luxurious. The infrastructure may be rather simple (although the new tents are very big and brilliantly furbished) - instead of a big restaurant you dine around big table with other guests in an open tent decorated like in colonial times and you have the impression of being just in the middle of nowhere. Food is phantastic, and so is the location of the camp. On our safari, we visited other luxury camps, but this one was by far the best!!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank truffaldino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews