We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Tarangire but Anglo oriented”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Place in Tarangire but Anglo oriented”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Me and my partner spent 3 nights at Oliver's at the beginning of our Safari in Tanzania.
Oliver is located in a very exclusive part of the Tarangire park, away from the crowds but still with lots of wildlife all around. I remember taking a shower looking at elephants wandering around! The camp is beautiful and the staff very welcoming. Excellent service, excpet for food that was Anglo oriented with no much choice for Mediterrenean people or Local food lovers. There was no Tanzanian food and nothing else that British cuisine. The lodge is all north European-American oriented ( maybe because of the most of the guests).
Anyway, our overall experience was amazing and we definitely recommend Oliver's, hoping in some little change that will make this lodge one of the best in all Tanzania.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indiacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear your stay at our camp was amazing, although we are sorry to hear the food did not meet your expectations. Usually our guests enjoy the wide variety of food we offer from local Tanzanian (ugali or katchumbari), to Asian (duck pancakes, pork and almond stir-fry) and Australian (bbq or Anzac biscuits) dishes to name a few. However, there always remains room for improvement. Therefore I have taken your feedback and re-iterated with our chefs that we continue improving to offer a balanced variety of food to all our guests.

I am very pleased to read that - besides your disappointment about the food - you have enjoyed your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me at marketing@asiliaafrica.com should you have any further comments and/or remarks.

Kind regards,
Marleen Haverkamp | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    26
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
104
214
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful days in this fabulous camp and understand why it is rated No1 on this site. The management, staff are exceptional, warm and caring and the facilities are excellent. Food was really fantastic. Night drive super fun with great guide and spotter. Thanks especially to Michelle, who took such good care of us. Everyone is made to feel special and nothing is too much trouble.
We have such happy memories of our time spent here, any visitor to Tarangire would appreciate this magical place. It is great!
Marie and Sarah

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We flew from Arusha on a very small aircarft into the Tarangire airstrip after arriving from London the previous day. We were the only passengers.
On our approach we flew right over a huge herd of elephants which was incredible on its own. As soon as we landed our guide met us and pointed over to an area behind tyhe strip where there was a massive herd of buffalo - all in less than 5 minutes.
We were asked if we wanted to get to the camp or to take a 3.5 hour game drive en route (a no brainer). We drove all of 250 yeards before meeting 5 giraffe (2 adults and 3 young) which is not a common sight we were told.
Over the next 3.5 hours we saw hundreds of animals (elephants, zebras, numeros antelop species, buffalo, warthog etc etc). Just before we reached the Camp we saw 2 rock pythons (1 enormous one that head eaten about a month before and was just lying on a branch slowly digesting it and another, a bit smaller, which had only been there a couple of days).
We arrived in the Camp and met Ken & Michelle, who were superb hosts, as well as other guests who were having lunch. We met some really lovely people here and, due to the nature of Asilia properties, we met several of them again for a day or two as we overlapped at different camps. This proved to be an added bonus for the trip as we have made some really nice new friends who all shared the same desire to see the wildlife.
The tent was superb (the outside shower is lovely when it is hot outside) and they are spaced to provide a high level of privacy. Our view was straight across a valley to the river below (out of sight) so there were elephants to be seen at any time of day or night. the front of the tent is a screen which allows air and sounds in but no biting insects. On our first night we were invaded by a honey badger which fancied our rehydration salts - it looked like we had been burgled - so Ken tied up the zips the next day and this stopped the badger.
One night bwe had a huge Bull elephant standing outside the front of th tent and as he walked round the tent his ears flapped on the roof. We never felt in any danger and just really enjoyed waking up at various times in the night, after hearing something, to look outside to see what we could see. As in all the Camps we were escorted to and from the tents after dark and felt safe at all times - having animals in the camp is what makes it very 'up close and personal' which is the experience we wanted. Lunch was delayed one day as an elephant was picking up seed pods all around the mess tent and blocked the route to the kitchen. It was interesting to see that even local staff, who lived with this all of the time, were as captivated by the animals as we were.
We had a fantastic 3 nights there and spent most of the time out on game drives, including a night drive, when we saw all of the smaller nocturnal cats as well as some lovely owls and lots of eys shining in the darkness.
We saw a lot of rare bird and animals including African Hunting Dogs which the guide told us we might not see again as they are endangered.
Many of out game drives allowed our guide to take us to remote places and one of the great things abvout this area is that it is not crowded.
One of the funny things is that there is a picnic spot with tables etc PLUS fully tiled, spotlessly clean, flush toilets with soft tissue - we couldn't believe it.
We will return to Olivers becuase it is a wonderful camp with excellent management, staff, guides and vehicles PLUS superb game viewing opportunities in an uncrowded area - hard to beat.

Room Tip: Not much to choose as they all have different views but the distances between them are such that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Oliver's is in the southern part of Tarangire, which separates it from the majority of the camps in this park. It takes a little longer to get there, but then there are fewer vehicles to jockey with for game viewing. The hosts are very attentive and the meals are communal. We encountered some of our fellow guests later in our safari, and it was like running into friends again. Safety is clearly a priority but when we had an elephant circle the dining tent during lunch, we certainly had a memory worth saving, and savoring.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

- The Camp manager Ken picked us up at the Tarangire airstrip, and every one else on our flight went to other vehicles, so we had the most amazing personal first safari before going to the camp. We even saw Wild Dogs.
- Oliver's camp is fantastic, the accommodations, Ken & Michelle really made us feel welcome and like everything we saw on our drives or walks were important. The staff, from Andrew who looked after us with wake up calls, our room, and evening escorts was so friendly, the rest of the staff were so great... you never told us we would put on weight, food was fantastic!
- The guides; Mizanga our driver, and Alex our walking guide were not only informative, but had amazing eyes, told us such great stories and history, and we all had a lot of laughs.
- Highlight included our first day and not being able to return to our tent because a group of elephants were on the trail, or just sitting on our little deck and watching the elephant troops wander across the valley in front of us.
- We were really sad to leave our first camp, and I wouldn't hesitate to go back their again... Tarangire is stunning!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_warfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Came to Oliver's as the first stop on safari having climbed Kilimanjaro. Fantastic camp - amazing wildlife and exemplary hospitality and amenities. The walking safari a definite highlight of the trip.
Will definitely recommend to others. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxNZgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This luxury camp is situated outside of the Tarangire National Park when coming from Arusha. When we were there the usual managers had taken a break and Tania was their replacement. She is everything a manager should be, welcoming, warm, instructive, full of personality and a leader. The tents were clean and comfortable. They in fact do your washing for you as part of the price you pay. Nice touch. The eating facilities are very welcoming and gives you a chance to meet fellow travelers, firstly over drinks and nibbles (free) and then over a delicious dinner cooked to perfection. The same applies to breakfast. The lunch boxes supplied to us were also delicious. It is a privilege to stay here and when you leave you will not regret paying for this service.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent as close as possible to the dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
25.3 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
385 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
566 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#22 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Africa, just as it should be. Oliver's Camp - in the remote southern reaches of Tarangire National Park - has just 10 beautifully appointed safari tents in a spectacular location close to the game-dense Silale Swamps and overlooking a flood plain of the Minyonyo Pools. Oliver's was inspired by the trailblazing camps that pioneered the early days of safari. It gives you direct access to the dense concentration of wildlife you will find year-round in this remote region, as well as the chance to enjoy walking safaris and fly camping. Oliver's is intimate and personal, staffed by a world-class team that has worked together for many years to perfect a safari experience that guests consistently rank among their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing