We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Memories of Oliver's Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Stormville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Memories of Oliver's Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived at Oliver's Camp after a day of touring Tarangire National Park and spent 2 nights there. It was a wonderful experence-part of our group took a morning walking tour, which they loved, and the rest of us went on a game drive. Everything was frist class-the service, accommodations and food were great. Definitely a camp to be considered for your safari.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our camp. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Oliver's, our walking safaris and game drives. As we always strive for the best service levels and safari experience for our guests we take all feedback and share it with our team for further improvement. Thank you for your positive feedback and on behalf of camp managers - Ken & Michelle - and the Oliver's team we hope to welcome you back to Tarangire one day!

Kind regards,

Marleen Haverkamp
Asilia Africa | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    25
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
103
214
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Spent two nights at the end of Aug. It was a drive to reach the camp but saw many animals along the way and were glad we went that far into Tarangire Park. Swamp was dry in places but lots of elephants. We were welcomed upon arrival with wetface cloths and a glass of juice. We stayed in tent #6, it even had a door. Shower is outstanding with hot water and toiletries. Everything about the camp is top shelf, food, service and lodgings. Heard the lions roar the first night. Take a walk if you can. Hosts Ken and Michelle convinced me it would be fun and they were right. Alex led us on an interesting walk, and we got a different perspective.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BXgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

No internet connection or sockets in the tent so you can really get away from it all and enjoy the scents, noises etc of the African bush at Oliver's. The food and service are both excellent and Ken, Michelle and their team do all they can to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. Couple all that with great wildlife viewing in Tarangire National Park and it's a great place to enjoy safari.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our camp. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Oliver's and enjoyed the remoteness of our camp. As we always strive for the best service levels and safari experience for our guests we take all feedback and share it with our team for further improvement. Thank you for your positive feedback and on behalf of camp managers Ken & Michelle and the Oliver's team we hope to welcome you back to Tarangire one day!

Kind regards,

Marleen Haverkamp
Asilia Africa | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Tarangire National Park is a must see in Tanzania and I cannot imagine a better place to see it from than Oliver's Camp. Wonderful accommodations, welcoming hosts, very good food and elephants blocking your way to accommodations for a few minutes on each of our 2 nights. A nice afternoon walking safari (they also offer morning ones, but the light was so good for pictures in the morning that a game drive is recommended for morning) and our only night drive of a 2 week safari make it even more memorable.

I would recommend it for anyone going to Tanzania.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recreationaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our camp. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Oliver's and experienced a walking safari in Tarangire. As we always strive for the best service levels and safari experience for our guests we take all feedback and share it with our team for further improvement. Thank you for your positive feedback and on behalf of camp managers Ken & Michelle and the Oliver's team we hope to welcome you back to Tarangire one day!

Kind regards,

Marleen Haverkamp
Asilia Africa | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent two nights at Oliver's during our recent safari, and have nothing but praise for the camp. In particular, the service here was top notch, with excellent managers and someone always ready to bring you a drink or get anything you need. We also stayed in its sister camp, Sayari, in the Serengeti. While we preferred Sayari a bit overall (it's just a beautiful camp), I would actually give Oliver's the nod on service. The staff were just a bit more attentive. We also took a walking safari while at Oliver's, and I would highly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NycWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Oliver's camp. We were on honeymoon and all the staff made us feel very welcome, including Ken and Michelle who were excellent hosts. The location was superb, with the outdoor shower enclosure overlooking the plains a particular highlight. The room was luxurious and had everything we could want, and it was fantastic to watch the sunrise and sunset in the bush and hear and be so close to all the animals. The food was excellent and we really enjoyed the communal dining and campfire drinks. We would definitely visit again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our stay at Olivers Camp was the end of Tanzanian Safari Adventure. Unfortuneately for Olivers, we had already stayed at some awesome properties (Sayari & Ngorongoro Crater Lodge), so we did have some fairly high expectations. Compared to our other stays, this place was the most relaxed with everything and it certainly made you feel relaxed! Olivers is a great property and set in an amazing location. If you want to feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, then this place is for you. We had heard stories of lions laying on your front veranda, but on our trip the nights were very quiet, so we opted to do a night safari drive. This is the only camp that allows night drives and we really enjoyed it. We drove across a group of very well fed male lions sleeping right in the middle of the road where we needed to drive! We also did a guided walk one morning, which was a nice change from being in the vehicle. The Tarangire National Park offers some fantastic wildlife viewing, especially the elephant families. We were also lucky enough to see a leopard with her cub, such an amazing sight! Mind you it took us 3 trips of searching before we landed our photo moment, and we were not disappointed with what we saw!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacjacjackeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
8.4 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
25.3 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#22 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Africa, just as it should be. Oliver's Camp - in the remote southern reaches of Tarangire National Park - has just 10 beautifully appointed safari tents in a spectacular location close to the game-dense Silale Swamps and overlooking a flood plain of the Minyonyo Pools. Oliver's was inspired by the trailblazing camps that pioneered the early days of safari. It gives you direct access to the dense concentration of wildlife you will find year-round in this remote region, as well as the chance to enjoy walking safaris and fly camping. Oliver's is intimate and personal, staffed by a world-class team that has worked together for many years to perfect a safari experience that guests consistently rank among their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing