We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really special camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A really special camp”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Tarangire National Park is a must see in Tanzania and I cannot imagine a better place to see it from than Oliver's Camp. Wonderful accommodations, welcoming hosts, very good food and elephants blocking your way to accommodations for a few minutes on each of our 2 nights. A nice afternoon walking safari (they also offer morning ones, but the light was so good for pictures in the morning that a game drive is recommended for morning) and our only night drive of a 2 week safari make it even more memorable.

I would recommend it for anyone going to Tanzania.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recreationaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our camp. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Oliver's and experienced a walking safari in Tarangire. As we always strive for the best service levels and safari experience for our guests we take all feedback and share it with our team for further improvement. Thank you for your positive feedback and on behalf of camp managers Ken & Michelle and the Oliver's team we hope to welcome you back to Tarangire one day!

Kind regards,

Marleen Haverkamp
Asilia Africa | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    25
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
103
214
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent two nights at Oliver's during our recent safari, and have nothing but praise for the camp. In particular, the service here was top notch, with excellent managers and someone always ready to bring you a drink or get anything you need. We also stayed in its sister camp, Sayari, in the Serengeti. While we preferred Sayari a bit overall (it's just a beautiful camp), I would actually give Oliver's the nod on service. The staff were just a bit more attentive. We also took a walking safari while at Oliver's, and I would highly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NycWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Oliver's camp. We were on honeymoon and all the staff made us feel very welcome, including Ken and Michelle who were excellent hosts. The location was superb, with the outdoor shower enclosure overlooking the plains a particular highlight. The room was luxurious and had everything we could want, and it was fantastic to watch the sunrise and sunset in the bush and hear and be so close to all the animals. The food was excellent and we really enjoyed the communal dining and campfire drinks. We would definitely visit again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our stay at Olivers Camp was the end of Tanzanian Safari Adventure. Unfortuneately for Olivers, we had already stayed at some awesome properties (Sayari & Ngorongoro Crater Lodge), so we did have some fairly high expectations. Compared to our other stays, this place was the most relaxed with everything and it certainly made you feel relaxed! Olivers is a great property and set in an amazing location. If you want to feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, then this place is for you. We had heard stories of lions laying on your front veranda, but on our trip the nights were very quiet, so we opted to do a night safari drive. This is the only camp that allows night drives and we really enjoyed it. We drove across a group of very well fed male lions sleeping right in the middle of the road where we needed to drive! We also did a guided walk one morning, which was a nice change from being in the vehicle. The Tarangire National Park offers some fantastic wildlife viewing, especially the elephant families. We were also lucky enough to see a leopard with her cub, such an amazing sight! Mind you it took us 3 trips of searching before we landed our photo moment, and we were not disappointed with what we saw!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacjacjackeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA (USA)
Level Contributor
349 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This small tented camp sits in the remote south of Tarangire National Park and it is a bit of a trek to arrive here -- about 75km from the park entrance which in turn is about 100km from Arusha. The camp manager (a sub from Kenya filling in for the regular manager) was Rachel and she and her staff greeted us warmly at the entrance and gave us the usual cold drink and towel -- very refreshing after about 5 hours on the road. The camp is beautifully located overlooking a green valley -- the chaises on the deck perfectly positioned to soak in all the lush surroundings There are plenty of easy chairs for relaxation and folks usually gather for a sundowner around a large fire every evening. Meals are served "family style" and the food is good -- especially the chocolate mousse! The have a decent variety of wines, most from South Africa of course. They pack picnic breakfasts or lunches if guests are out for longer game drives and need sustenance. The "tents" are very nice, and we had our first bucket shower which was cold given the afternoon wind. The camp is very eco-conscious (no plastic water bottles, solar heating, etc.) so the frizzy hair look resulting from the lack of hair dryers was a small price to pay. The camp feels very private, given its location within a national park. Tarangire NP is very large and very diverse, but it doesn't seem to be the draw that other parks in Tanzania are which is a pity -- though it did mean we never had to fight for space around interesting sightings. There are animals galore! It is located on the migratory path so in the dry season it is thronged with large herds of elephants, zebras, buffalo, wildebeest, eland, giraffe, waterbuck, baboons, monkeys, hyrax, dikdiks and the ever-present impalas. You will definitely hear the wildlife during the night and while that is at first a bit nervewracking, you get used to the rhythm of the place. Tarangire has more flora than the Serengeti with mixed woodlands and acacia, plus the iconic baobab trees. The park also boasts literally hundreds of bird species, especially around the Silale Swamp. Drives are done in open vehicles, though Oliver's also has twice daily walking safaris which are quite interesting. We did not see any big animals on our walk (with a park ranger, a camp guide and a Maasai) but we learned lots of interesting details about animal behavior/spoor, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I began our Safari at Oliver's camp. Two nights is definitely not enough! This park was definitely our favorite! We saw so many animals! We were on the road to Oliver's and saw lions mating! There were thousands of zebras and elephants. Lots of giraffe. We were greeted by Rachel who was so kind and accommodating to us! I'm a vegetarian and she made sure the kitchen staff had my dietary needs met! Alex was very friendly and did our morning game drive. He was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The views at Oliver's camp were superb, the picturesque Africa actually came through here. We had several best moments at Tarangire NP and Oliver's camp. Two that stick out are the night drive that we did with Simon - we spotted a lion devouring a baby wildebeest and after being less than 15 feet away from her we departed only to spot two cheetahs who likely had gotten the wildebeest first and had a quick bite to eat before the lion overtook them! Simon told us cheetahs loose 80% of their "kills"! Wild! On our return to our camp we spotted a male lion lounging in the road and he gave us quite the evil eye! The next morning we departed - it was certainly too soon! But we did see something strange in the road ahead as we were leaving...we thought they were monkeys and our driver said...hmmm...honey badgers? Nope! It was 5 cheetah cubs playing in the road! It was spectacular! Momma quickly came to find them but we'd gotten plenty of photos and videos by then!

I can not express enough how much we LOVED Tarangire NP and Oliver's camp! Next trip we'll definitely stay there longer! I think 3-4 days would be perfect! And the time of the year we went was great too! Not too many tsetse flies - though they were definitely a few! Those boogers are tough! Spray helped some.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Camp is in immaculate condition. It is evident that the running of the camp is handled with pride and the utmost of care. Ken & Michelle are wonderful hosts and their passion for wildlife photography is truly inspiring! Their images of cats and caracal in particular are so very good. We had spent a night fly camping (and being on foot close to Elephants) which is highly recommended. This is one of those experiences you do not want to miss out on. I wish I could have stayed a week.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlzeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
8.4 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
25.3 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#23 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Africa, just as it should be. Oliver's Camp - in the remote southern reaches of Tarangire National Park - has just 10 beautifully appointed safari tents in a spectacular location close to the game-dense Silale Swamps and overlooking a flood plain of the Minyonyo Pools. Oliver's was inspired by the trailblazing camps that pioneered the early days of safari. It gives you direct access to the dense concentration of wildlife you will find year-round in this remote region, as well as the chance to enjoy walking safaris and fly camping. Oliver's is intimate and personal, staffed by a world-class team that has worked together for many years to perfect a safari experience that guests consistently rank among their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing