We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel, and specifically its staff has been the highlight of all our travels of the last years. Attention to detail, excellent food and spacious family rooms are but a few of the highlights. Book a packed breakfast and enjoy it at the picnic spot in the park with an excellent few of nature. Sopa's service made us recommend it to many people, all of which had excactly the same delightful experience there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    243
    87
    17
    4
See reviews for
123
274
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Wow! We were really impressed with this hotel. Rooms were very large with a sitting room at the entry and two double beds with mosquito net around both. Everything was first class with enthusiastic and attentive staff. These hotels operate on generated power so that hot water is limited to morning and afternoons. The only down side, we agreed the meals, although good, we're not at 5 star standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here on day 6 of our 6 night safari booked with Bobby's Tours in Arusha. Our last night away.

The rooms were very good here. Smaller than the Serengeti Sopa but nice. They were a little warm at night tbh, even with the fan running.

Our room was downed (prepared for bedtime) each night. The mosquito net surrounded both double beds and it was like a little camp. Really cosy! I must say the room attendants were great here too.

We thought the internal public areas here were fabulous. Very classically decorated and furnished. Very similar to the Wildlife Lake Manyara (not a Sopa Lodge). We didn't have much time to enjoy these areas during our trip but on this occasion we ordered a bottle of wine. Drank in the bar area, relocated to the restaurant to eat, then returned to the bar with what remained. We paced ourselves! It was a great environment to enjoy a drink in.

The restaurant here for dinner was half table and half buffet service. There was more staff interaction here than Ngorongoro but less than Serengeti. Breakfast was a buffet type set up . Food was good with a variety of choice.

The atmosphere here was far better with the staff doing a similar performance during dinner of singing at one end of the restaurant and then walking round. Their 10min performance was greeted with smiles and clapping. Again a really great touch and experience.

A small down side was some of the external public areas smelt of animal urine. It can be expected though due to the environment you're in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncle-Jayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a good stay at the lodge. We were there as a family and the children and I enjoyed playing in the pool. Very good for children as it is not too deep and has an interesting round shape which was good for playing all sorts of racing games, etc, and most importantly not crowded with too many guests at any time. The room was clean, more basic than luxury. I did enjoy the buffet as did other in the group. There were interesting dishes and some very nicely spiced, even Indian-style. Given the fact that food in anglophone Africa is not half as good as that in Francophone Africa, I was pleasantly surprised and ate very well. This was our first lodge and it was better so as they got more luxurious as the trip continued. All in all I can recommend for clean, decent lodging, especially if with kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Not as good as Serengeti Sopa or Ngorongoro Sopa. Food mediocre at best. However, location surrounded by animals including buffalo, elephants, warthogs, and more. This could be a plus for some travelers or a minus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidGoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The potential of the hotel is very high. The location is very nice as it is inside the park, the staff very friendly and nice and will always be ready to help, the food is good and it is clean. But no internet in the hotel, or we had internet in the lobby but super slow compare to other lodges on the same level that we have been during the trip. We like it but in my opinion it could be better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNIGHT_WEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel was the last stop on our safari. The staff were very helpful and did everything they could for us, and the pool and sunbeds were great for a well deserved rest, but it was the location that was the best thing for me. The elephants were literally in touching distance, and we were able to watch them from our room. It was amazing! If you love elephants as much as I do, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elle_beeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
15.7 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.1 mi away
Nimali Tarangire
Nimali Tarangire
#13 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Property: Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarangire Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Tarangire Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarangire Sopa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing