We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch for scorpions!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night early December 2013. After a safari drive the room was welcoming but not as good as one of the Serena Lodge rooms - shower OK. Food was average and the staff were friendly enough. The way to dinner was very poorly lit and led through a basement to the base of the stairs. At the base of the stairs my wife was stung by a scorpion - fortunatley one of the large (but scary) black ones. After dinner our party were "escorted" back to our rooms and there were many scorpions on the steps and pathway and in one of the rooms. This hotel did not warn anyone that there were scorpions around and did not provide adequate lighting so that we could see our way safely. In the morning there were 15 "splatted" black scorpion bodies in the 70m or so from our room to the bottom of the stairs and also one splatted small brown scorpion (the much more dangerous kind). The hotel has a duty of care to warn residents if they were going to encounter such a mob of scorpions and a duty of care to keep the area as clear as possible - failed miserably on both counts.

Room Tip: Get one that is scorpion and bug free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dawsonofwhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 625 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here overnight & for dinner. Can't fault this place . the staff were great. I have never come across such great service & so polite. The room was excellent, the dinner was excellent. We were in the quiet season , so loads of staff. Maybe a bit over attentive at times.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliffbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We really liked the hotel. Very clean. Lovely staff very friendly. We had lots of surprises because
It was my husband,s 65th birthday. Chef was personally meeting us & was cooking what we liked. Again we had lovely masala ginger tea in morining. We really enjoyed our food .lovely
View of Tarangire National Park. Will definetly go back again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pushpa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had no idea what to expect really so were pleasantly surprised at what we found. This is a hotel that caters well for large numbers of people. There is plenty of space in the main meeting area to relax and enjoy a drink. The Mossies are a problem mind you but hey we all know that. The pool area is lovely and offers a good buffet lunch. Dinner and breakfast too were more than satisfactory. Lilian who looked after us at meal times was very pleasant and made sure we were looked after.
The room was spacious and comfortable, however with no air con we did find it desperately hot but probably should have turned the fan to a higher speed.
Staff generally were very conscientious and keen to be of help. We enjoyed ourselves here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here as part of Thomas Cook Taste of Tanzania Tour for one night. Fantastic lodge with friendly and helpful staff.
Room was very large as was bathroom. Dinner was good and there was plenty of choice for breakfast.
The hotel setting was pleasant and well landscaped.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_and_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The lodge was 1960 style-old and tired. This needs some updating.
Not as elegant as Serena Lodges. But Wifi was great. The buffet lunch around the pool was wonderful. Colorful birds all over. Loved the pool with the swim up bar.
Bathroom is large, but thead bare towels and hot water from 6AM-9AM & 6PM -9PM make this just an average rating.

The screen door came off the track in my hand and we had to go and get someone to fix it. NO TELEPHONES IN ROOMS. This can be a MAJOR problem in case of emergency. For wake up calls: a person knocks on your door in the morning.
Room was not well maintained. Many light bulbs were missing. Carpet in rooms is old and grimy. do not walk around barefoot. Inside the rooms is a separate sitting area. Kind of strange layout.
This place needs a major updating.

Room Tip: We were in room 46 - overlooking the pool. Not far from reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Hotel is a bit smaller than soe others we visited, possibly duie to the less popular park it is in, but don't be deceived it is really lovely.
The room was huge and had two double beds and we had a small balcony outidsde with seating for two and the woldlife was right outsided the door, including Lizards, Buffalo and Waterbuck, as well as a host of birds and the Hyrax that seemed to live on the roof.
The main hotel area was clean and spaciious and the bar was exellent, as wad the restaraunt where we served by Robert, whose enthusiasm knows no bounds and who sees nothing as being too much trouble.
A very nice Hotel in a wonderful national Park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
412 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
283 reviews
15.7 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
89 reviews
18.3 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#3 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
246 reviews
13.3 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: $544 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarangire Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tarangire Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarangire Sopa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing