We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
188 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The usual Sopa Lodge chain comfort. All of their resorts in northern Tanzania (but they still prefer to say Tanganyka!) are quite similar in appearance, level of service and (unfortunately) price, as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgialdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    250
    87
    17
    5
See reviews for
126
278
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Super food and service. the amin building with dining room, lounge and rerstaurant were beautifully in keeping with teh surroundings. The rooms were great . The upper floor rooms may have a slightly better view over the bushes but no hardship having a the lower floor.

The game drives in the park were amazing and on one drive we saw lion, elephant, cheetah as well as all huge numbers of zebra , deer etc. Not as busy as some parks.

Room Tip: Upper floor probably best choice as you can see over bushes but no issue with ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a great experience. At first we thought we saw all the animals there were to be seen in Serengeti National Park. We saw lots of elephants, zebras and giraffes and lions. It was a one day safari and very worth it. The Sopa lodge was beautiful. The animals come all the way near the dining area, if you are lucky, you might just get to see them. Good service, good staff and clean rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms a fairly away from the main lobby where the restaurant and bar is. Ask for rooms closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monapatel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our Friendly Planet group of 12 stayed here after a delightful game drive through the National Park. Deep inside the park the resort has been designed beautifully to allow wildlife viewing right up to the backside of the building. Beautiful lobby area, bar area, and dining room. Lovely gift shop. Internet in public areas. Lively local youth show at dinner. Candles on dinner table. Especially friendly and helpful wait staff. Lovely rooms; the best built of our two week tour. No noise from other rooms. Beautiful facilities. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J D C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was the only lodge in the Sopa group we stayed at. Compares very well with the Serena Chain. We had a nice large room overlooking the pool. Lunch was beside the pool which was a nice change from eating in a restaurant. Large lobby area with lounge and restaurant.
Tarangire is a wonderful park to watch elephants and certainly not as busy as some of the more well-known parks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The lodge is situated within the Tarangire park and blends nicely into the surroundings. There are animals all over the place and as I drew my curtains in the morning I found a monkey on tehe small terrace outside. There is a pretty pool area where lunch is served as well as a nice restaurant and bar area inside. Internet is available free of charge - a welcome change to other properties in Tanzania - in the lobby, bar and poolside areas. Food was plentiful and tasty. Rooms are located in a circular shaped setup and never too far from the main areas. There was a mosquito net set up over my bed that in itself was very comfirtable. Staff was courteous and I really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms closer to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PharmaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

THe veranda that winds around the spacious dining, lounge, and lobby area is actually on the 2nd floor providing great tree-top views of the surrounding area.

The service is unobtrusive, the environment is serene and peaceful, the food was excellent. I especially loved the lower level room experience. I was concerned about noise and echo, but once in the room no people noise except maybe through the bathroom window.

Interesting bathroom design was beautiful, but no shelf available to place toiletries. Definitely was not designed by a woman!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the lower level are cooler and the shade over the balcony makes for a wonderful afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#2 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
201 reviews
10.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
385 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
430 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Property: Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarangire Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tarangire Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarangire Sopa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing