We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine accomodation, but the other Sopas are nicer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
klasf
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fine accomodation, but the other Sopas are nicer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed in the Sopas in Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Serengeti, and this was the most disappointing. Like all Sopas the rooms only have 2 x double beds (no king/queen) and the rooms are a bit run down and dated. The bathroom only had a shower (a huge shower, similar to the other Sopas), however the toilet didn’t flush properly and the bathroom door didn’t close all the way. Also, while the menu selection was vast, the food was a bit underwhelming. You don’t have a lot of accommodation options while on safari so if your tour does put you here you will be comfortable, however the other properties are nicer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    243
    87
    17
    4
See reviews for
123
274
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

As many others have mentioned, the biggest advantage of this lodge is its central location in the park. For a short 2 day safari, this is useful as it allows the first game drive to be from the park entrance to the lodge and the second game drive to explore the central and southern parts of the park. The highlight of our trip was the Sahale plains, which is on the Eastern edge of the park and towards the south. This area had a large concentration of grazing animals and we spotted a pride of lions and a leopard in this area. This area would be difficult to reach from the park entrance from a 1 day drive.

The lodge itself was good. The lunch buffet is a great meal and it is served poolside. The pool is relatively shallow and provides some views of the plains below. We did see a few lizards and birds on the grounds, but the large mammals tended to stay away from this location. The service at the hotel is good and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Make sure to use the mosquito nets that they provide. There were several mosquitos flying around our room during the day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mudphud08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
289 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

The hotel is well located in the park so we were able to have lunch there and then go out again on a game drive. Rooms are reasonably sized with fans in the ceiling directly over the beds and inside the mosquito nets. trees surround the property so there isn't much to see except trees.

The food was good and served by the pool at lunchtime and in the dining room at night - the staff entertained us with music after dinner. Watch out for vervet monkeys at lunchtime - they steal food!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eaglet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We had booked our safari as part of the Thomson/First Choice package hence had no choice of lodges. (Plus we had changes to elements of the itinerary at the last minute). Our second stay was one night at the Tarangire Sopa Lodge. The rooms were good with a large shower area and good water pressure. The entrance lobby to the room was large and had a fridge. Only complaint is the lighting in the bedroom was a bit dim for us old ones. The food was good and we found the bar service acceptable. The staff were really helpful. I was trying to photograph a hyrax and without me saying anything one of the ground staff beckoned me to follow him and pointed out a hyrax tucked in the corner of the roof, got a great photo. Elephants were visiting at the top of the drive. The design of the lodge accommodation was interesting, and it is well placed for a visit to the Tarangire Park.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Hotel was poor and the worst of the Sopa lodges we stayed in, looked old and tired and completely incapable of dealing with heat. Very uncomfortable night. I got heat exhaustion here and the cold water wasn’t working on our arrival which didn’t help.

On the positive side it’s in a good location, service was good and food was ok.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RJP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stayed at the Tarangire Sopa for three nights in late December. On balance, I found the lodge to be welcoming and affable, in private, serene location (but not remote).
The rooms are mid-sized and decent enough; take criticisms here with a grain of salt. In my experience, the Tanzania lodges tend to be inferior to similarly appointed lodges in neighbouring Kenya, so if you're used to the lap of luxury, almost anything in TZ's northern circuit is going to disappoint you. One thing worth mentioning - these things are important after a long day on the road - the water pressure in the shower is just fine. Often, in back-country Africa - for obvious reasons- water pressure is often virtually non-existent.
The restaurant and adjacent veranda are built above a tall bluff overlooking a thick stand of trees and bushes; it's a little like being above a tree canopy, and the view is really quite serene, especially if you're used to the big city.
There's Internet service in the lobby, but not in the rooms. When you're in the TZ bush, you'll soon find that ANY Internet service is a luxury.
The food - which some have sniped at here - was actually not bad, for my taste.
The staff will leave you feeling frustrated at times; some have a barely serviceable knowledge of English, let alone lodge etiquette. Service in the restaurant can be exceedingly slow — 10 to 20 minutes for a lukewarm Coke. When, nearly half an hour after everyone else had left from lunch and I was the only one left, the waiter was nowhere to be found. I assumed my bill, for two soft drinks, would be automatically charged to my room. Instead, an hour later, the waiter let himself into my room and woke me up from an afternoon doze to insist that I sign the check then and there.
For every negative, though, there were two or three positives. The view, the ambiance, an affable and helpful manager (Isaiah), a small but well-stocked gift shop, a decent pool (that no one appeared to be using), fair-sized rooms, a minibar-size room fridge (but no minibar), 24-hour electricity and the park itself make Tarangire Sopa a fine alternative to the usual lemming rush across Tanaania's northern park circuit.
A local familiar with the Sopa properties told me Tarangire is one of the better ones; he added that the TZ Sopas are, on average, superior to the Kenya Sopas. Of course, that may just be one person't opinion. As I said, in my experience, the Kenya lodges overall tend to be of a higher calibre, and more cost-effective. That said, for my taste, I liked the Tarangire Sopa just fine.
As for the park itself, Tarangire is, it sees to me, something of an overlooked gem. It's overlooked because it's not on a direct line with the Arusha-Ngorongoro/Serengeti circuit, but it's well worth a visit. Depending on time of year, you may end up having the place to yourself - and, this, in a park that seems as large as Serengeti.
For my taste, Tarangire is best for elephant sightings; it rivals, if not surpasses, the more famous Lake Manyara in that regard. For me, anyway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MzunguPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
198 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Good lodge with pretty good food. Rooms were OK with a nice outlook, but not on the scale of Serengeti or Ngorongoro lodges. No negatives were experienced. Helpful and pleasant staff always happy to give a cheerful "Jambo"
Recommended.
NOTE: We were bitten many times by Tsetse fly. Be warned, they are not detered by DEET repellent, they seem to love it.

Room Tip: I don't think the views are any better from any particular room...you can always ask at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stationmastershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
15.7 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.1 mi away
Nimali Tarangire
Nimali Tarangire
#13 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Property: Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarangire Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Tarangire Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarangire Sopa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing