We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delight in Tarangire”
Review of Osupuko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Osupuko Lodge
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delight in Tarangire”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This delightful grouping of individual lodges in just outside the Tarangire National Park. The food is some of the best in Africa and the Maasai serve as security at night. The lodge is skillfully overseen by David Ole Moonka, the manager, who carefully and artfully sees to his guests' needs. The swimming pool is an excellent touch, and I went for a swim as the sun went down, with the stars overhead. At night, the lions in the distance can be heard and it makes for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letitia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
61
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a great lodge, set right in the jungle. Each room is in a separate "boma" and Maasai warriors show you to and from your room. This appears to be more than just for show, because there were lion paw prints on the path from our room to reception!

The staff were all very friendly and attentive.

Rooms were superb, with panoramic views over Tarangire Park through the huge room windows and from the veranda. We saw Impala and Giraffe from our room and Elephant from the swimming pool area.

Food at both dinner and breakfast were excellent.

At night there was a nicely presented Maasai dance.

The rooms might get very hot. There are currently no fans or a/c, but the manager has plans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent two nights as part of a tour of the northern safari circuit. The "cabin" was spacious, clean, and very comfortable with a wonderful view of the park. I had a "cabin" on the end and saw a large herd of impala grazing nearby and could hear lions and other animals at night. We arrived hot and tired and were greeted with a wet towel and a tasty glass of juice. Staff - who were so friendly and accommodating - escorted us to our rooms and were always available to escort us to the lobby and dining area and back at whatever hour. Meals - breakfast and dinner - were superb (we all loved the soups) and the menu was nicely presented each time by David, the manager. David and his entire staff made us feel like family with their pleasant demeanor, willingness to do whatever to make us comfortable, and their welcoming and friendly smiles. Thank you for a most memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtravelerHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a great room that overlooked Tarangire Park. We could see giraffe and elephants from our rear deck. The room was large and the bathroom had both an inside and outside shower. The location of the lodge is a bit off the beaten path but that added to the whole experience. There is no WiFi and they are not set up to take credit cards but that was fine with us. The staff is amazing. Very friendly and genuine. the morning walk to look for animal tracks is a must! The good was excellent, fresh and healthy. The combination of the setting, staff and food made this a very pleasurable and memorable place for us.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This lodge is located just outside of Tarangire National Park. There are twelve cabins, which allows for a quiet and intimate setting. The cabin was spacious with lots of window that offered fantastic views. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. You have a choice between an indoor and outdoor shower. We stayed in a cabin with a deck overlooking the Tarangire River, where you can see elephants and baobab trees. Staff are friendly. Food is reasonably good. The lodge also has an excellent swimming pool, which we used after a long day in the hot sun. The lodge uses the generator in the evenings only. As such, electrical power is only available from 6:30pm to 10-ish. No wifi - but then again, you are staying n the bush.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odot_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Osupuko Lodge and were completely bowled over by the incredible setting and the welcoming staff, who were not only friendly, but very helpful and made our experience really personal. The views out from the pool over the park was crazy and as we sat, sipping on our sundowners, we watched giraffe and elephant make their way across the clearings. The rooms were open and light and had huge windows in the front that allowed the morning sun to shine through. The meals provided were excellent, especially the fresh, home made soups.

We will never forget David (the lodge manager) and his team who helped create an amazing adventure for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh_vB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was one of our favorite lodges on our 8 day safari. We were met with cleaning cloths and juice upon arrival. The staff seemed so willing to provide anything we might need but did not hover making you feel uncomfortable. The "cabin" overlooked the Tarangire National Park with a portion of the river right below. When we arrived there was a herd of elephants just below in the water. We were awoke at night by lions roaring and likewise, had to be escorted by the Maasai guards at night. The room was clean and we especially enjoyed the option of the outdoor shower. It was though exceedingly hot--however, fans were provided to help a little. Hey, this is Africa--we did not expect nor want a "cookie cutter" type lodging. We enjoyed time at the pool and I remember swimming in the pool and looking out at elephants in the water below us. How can it get better than this? Dinner was good and they made provisions for my husband who was just recovering from a bout of Traveler's stomach/intestines. We were amused at the personalized menu they had made up just for the two of us and our guide. The folks at the nearby table had their own personalized menu--a wonderful touch to make us feel important. As many others have stated, we enjoyed learning from David--the manager of the lodge. He had much information to share which enriched our Africa experience. We purchased an ebony Maasai carving from their small "gift" shop--their prices are extremely inexpensive and it seems there is no "middle man" to pay thus keeping the prices very low. David took us into the Baobob (sp?) tree at the entrance of the lodge to explore. If you do that, check hour clothing carefully when you leave as we picked up a small scorpion in there which stung my husband. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#10 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
269 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
594 reviews
13.4 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
459 reviews
23.9 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#19 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osupuko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osupuko Lodge

Property: Osupuko Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing