We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Spot”
Review of Osupuko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Osupuko Lodge
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
195 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Super Spot”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great Lodge, you approach it outside the Tarangire Park, but the rooms are built right on the border of the park, so you have excellent views into the park. Great staff and good food. The rooms are clean and have the comfort you would expect. Unfortunately no wifi available.
Because it is a small lodge the athmosphere is great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
61
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Posting this only now because it's taken this long to get a response directly from management about our experience.
Travelled with my group of 16 in August 2012 and booked 8 rooms. Upon arrival after a long and dusty safari day, we were told they didn't have 2 rooms because of...the reasons varied but evidently due to construction delay and overselling, which they should have informed us of earlier. They offered to host 4 group members at nearby Roika Lodge which was very bad and not comparable. Besides to split a group was hugely inconvenient. David, the manager, tried his best to manage the situation but eventually tics like a trickle of a shower, no pool (elephants had broken the pump -- same reason as from a review 7 months prior), construction workers walking past uncurtained windows...eventually eroded his efforts. My group voted Osupuko the worst lodge in our 15 night safari through Ke/Tz.

Management response was they provided extras such as juices and a very informal cooking demo to compensate. They also offered a wholly inadequate $500 as compensation for 4 people over 2 days of the inadequacy of and shuttling from Roika. Note their website says there is adequate hot water and the rooms are air conditioned...not true.

Positives: the location overlooking the Tarangire plains; Masai women's co-operative, David - he's a charmer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shila_De
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights whilst taking part in a community project in a nearby village. Everything about it was fabulous. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the beds are more comfortable than my own at home. The food was sensational. The pool is a lovely place to start the day, watching the sun come up over Tarangire national park, watching the giraffes and zebras. But what makes this place is the staff - they are all lovely people who can't do enough for you. I will be going again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights here whilst visiting Tarangire NP, and must say it was my favourite lodge of the north-western national parks by far! The manager David, was an absolute delight, being friendly, very approachable and I would definitely recommend his complimentary early morning walks on the outskirts of the park where he educates you on the uses of the land as taught by his ancestors (he's a Maasai warrior) and also learning how to recognise animals by their footprints. This was a unique experience to get close to the land on foot, whilst being protected by 1 or 2 more Maasai warriors who accompany you.

The accommodation itself is absolutely lovely, clean and spacious bungalows, based on the traditional Maasai boma, as well as being eco-friendly. Felt quite spoilt.

Overall, an excellent experience, with great views down across the park, and a serene setting. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nalia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The lodge is absolutley amazing, we stayed for one night after a safari in Tarangire National Park. Wasn't too sure what to expect when we drove up a dirt track for a few kilometres but was pleasantly suprised to be greated by a couple of Masai to carry our bags and the manager with a welcome and a couple more staff will cool flannels and cold fruit juice. We were then taken to our bungalow which was amazing, a great size with great views and even an outdoor shower. The temperature was quite cool for the outdoor shower but I brazed it anyway and was rewarded with a feww warthogs walking right past me! With the lodge being right on the national park you do get animals wandering through so you do need to be escorted by the Masai when walking to dinner. The food was great, the starter of carrot and ginger was amazing followed by another four courses. Because it was Monday night we were treated to an authenic Masai dance which the ladies were invited to join in. The swimming pool looked lovely but we didn't get a chance to use it at we arrive late and left early.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan504022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a safari after climbing Kilimanjaro. We arrived here after a day in the park. The reception was very friendly and informative. The lodge is small with ten well appointed rooms spread along an escarpment overlooking the park, each with a veranda offering a superb view. Wildlife is plentiful in and around the lodge and the Masai staff will take you to and from your room for your safety. There is a small bar/restauran/pool area also overlooking the park where we saw elephant, impala, baboons, buffulo and much more. The menu was personalised and the food very very good. We were taken on a very interesting nature walk by the hotel manager at sunrise where we saw an elephant and a few other animals. Service and attention to detail faultless. One of the best places that I have ever stayed in, wish I had stayed longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are good with supurb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddog186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited Osupuko in August 2012 for one night and wished it had been more! From the friendly reception of the staff, complete with a refreshing glass of juice, we were escorted to our individual bungalows. This lodge was a highlight of our visit to Tanzania and Africa. We so enjoyed the setting, facility, and the service! The spacious room honored a traditional Masai design and was bright and clean, and we appreciated the ecological features. Its not everyday one can see elephants, zebras and wildebeasts from your room. The dining area overloooking the pool and the park vista created a very relaxing atmosphere. Interacting with the Masai staff from beginning to end was truly a joy and completed an overall outstanding experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kings7565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
12.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
566 reviews
13.4 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
62 reviews
13.4 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
200 reviews
25.5 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osupuko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osupuko Lodge

Property: Osupuko Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing