We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge
Bristol
Level Contributor
248 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our trip, and we were very happy with the lodge; the room was comfortable, the location was good (fantastic to wake up to 2 dikdiks right outside), and the staff very helpful. It was great to sit around the fire for pre-dinner drinks. We thought the food was ok, considering the location, but the dessert was the worst attempt at Swiss roll I have ever eaten! We later found much better food in similar locations, so I think it could be improved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Tarangire Kirumuru Under Canvas. Upon our arrival, our first deception was to learn how far away we were really from the Tarangire park entrance... even if the lodge is right beside us.

We can't really blame them for this, but let say we would have probably choose another one just for this.

After several safari, we, as may others I beleive, prefer them in a certain way. we like to be as early as possible in the park. Most of the ''action'' occur between 6h to 8h30 AM. Then we return for breakfast, rest in the morning and followed with a later lunch around 13h. Do some activities in the afternoon at the lodge and last safari from 15h to 19h. Diner at 20h, rest and sleep. Ok, it's also the best recipe for gaining weight!

So because of the distance and because our guide convinced us it was the best way, we spent the whole day at the park! Yes from 6h to 18h... with the same results as the usual... there is just no activity during the hot hours. The next day, we packed our breakfast and came back for lunch, much better day, but still 4 times 45 minutes each way from the lodge and the park!

Our second deception, was the staff. Not impolite, not polite, not smiling, not in a bad mood.... just not anything! I can't say average, because is it not kind of expected to have a little attention as a client in a lodge?

Note that when we're going camping or renting a condo with nobody to help you with your backpack or luggage... where there is no one at front counter or a concierge... we are managing ourselves and life is good. But when you have all this, the helpers, the front desk and the waiters... isn't normal to expect a little more?

In my opinion, I felt like we were bothering them.

Our last deception was the food! A little too much camping for us, greasy breakfast with limited amount fresh fruits, ''fake'' sweet fruits juice and fatty meat at lunch and diner. The whole meal plan could have been healthier!

Now this is reason why we can't really make our mind on this lodge... the elephants. On our last night there was an elephant's family all around the lodge. At 3h, we could hear them chewing the acacia trees nearby... it was too dark to see... until 6h. Wow! It was a magical moment, a dozen elephants were around us. We tip toe outside the tent to sit on our little balcony to enjoy an hour of pure pleasure. The elephants didn't care about us and got close as a couple metres. Moving slowly, assessing every of our moves, we took amazing pictures.

For this incredible moment, it's difficult to give a rating less than average... choose you priorities!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert F, Public Relations Manager at Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks you very much for your feedback of our little tented lodge.

I think really this is something you should take up with you tour operator as clearly you should have been advised we are outside the park boundary. When we built Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge we intentionally chose the location outside the park as it offers us walking and cultural activities as well as the views onto the flood plains looking into the park which attached so much wildlife. I’m glad you enjoyed the elles! The daily activities are also up to your tour operator arrangements.

On arrival, clients are briefed about the wildlife's close proximity to the lodge. We have Maasai askaris (local Maasai guards)-who know the wildlife and their habits-to escort clients from their tents to the main areas and back. This team of carefully trained Maasai know where each and every animal that wonders into the Lodge's proximity is. They are monitoring clients at all times to ensure they are enjoying the wildlife and whilst taking care of their safety at all times in the open safari environment. The tented cottages have whistles on so if clients are at all worried in the evenings they can whilst a note and the Maasai will be there to help. You may not at first glance see the Maasai but they are there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our group of 9 friends, under the care of Peter Lindstrom of Hoopoe Safaris, spent 2 nights at this Kirurumu Under Canvas lodge. Upon arrival, after a half day game drive in Tarangire National Park, we were met by the entire staff and were made to feel most special and welcome.
After being escorted to our lodings, we explored these permanent canvas tents and were happy to find how many comforts that were there. Full bathroom with running hot and cold water, beautiful large walk in shower, and a separate flushing commode. The tents are very spacious with four poster iron bedsteads with thick mattresses and mosquito netting. Writing desk, with bottles of water on top, and a covered porch with incredible views that has table and chairs. Solar units heat the water and a generator provides electricity up to 10pm. As Kirurumu lodges has resident elephants, hot chile peppers are grown arouond the solar units to deter the elephants looking for water! Very effective and the chile also provides spice for some of the incredible food that is served in the elegant dining tent. After a long days game drive and a quick shower, the group gathers at the bonfire every evening for drinks (do try the Tusker and Serengeti beers - quite good) and conversation, and watching the flames.There is a separate library/den tent supplied with books and magazines and comfortable chairs and sofas for relaxing, though we were to busy to spend much time in there. When one of our group was under the weather and not able to go on that days game drive, the staff at the lodge took extremely good care of him. I can't say enough about the friendly, helpful and caring staff at this and the other Kirurumu camps that we stayed in. I would completely recommend the amazing experience that you will find here, and I hope to come back again. Hoopoe Safaris is also highly recommended. They put together an amazing 12 day safari trip that was a life changing experience for all of us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Tarangire Safari Lodge

I wouldn't come back. Here's why:

1. Staff is mediocre by Sopa and Serena standards.

2. While there are electrical lights in the tents there are no outlets. Thus forcing you to go to the bar and compete with others trying to charge their batteries. This not too clever ploy is simply meant to get you to buy drinks while you are waiting hours for your batteries/computer/phone to charge.

3. Wifi only available at the bar for $10/hour.

4. No mosquito netting on the beds, but mosquitoes can and do get in the tents.

5. Food is OK. Nothing special and limited servings. Again, Sopa and Serena far better. Although, to give due credit the pastries here are better than those I've had at Sopa and Serena.

6. No power from 10am to 6pm--so, forget about charging stuff over lunch.

The only plus to this place is the view. Which I would forgo for better staff, electrical outlets, free wifi, mosquito nets, and, better food.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canoe2Freedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert F, Public Relations Manager at Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear ak_jlk,

Oh dear me I think maybe you might have stayed at another property rather than Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge? The tented rooms do all have power 240 volt plugs for charging camera and film equipment. This runs on a very ample solar system. We have generators that power lighting system on the path ways and main areas and these are on for a few hours in the day and then are turned off at 10pm. There are charging facilities in the main siting room tent in addition to the rooms.

We are striving to keep our tented lodge with a safari bush feel and for this reason we discourage mobile telephones in the public areas. We don’t have WiFi in the main areas intentionally. If clients need Internet then we have a small station at the reception and we charge $10 per hour, which considering our bush location in Africa it’s a very small fee indeed.
We have mosquito nets on all the beds. Also all the windows are made of mosquito netting. We have also provide mosquito spray in the rooms.

I think it should also be pointed out we are a very different product from Sopa or Serena Lodge. These are usually large 60 or 70 roomed lodges, fenced, and with all intents and purposes operating as hotels in the bush. Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge on the other hand, is a small little bush lodge with only 10 tented cottages. We are not fenced and strive to retain the on-safari-bush feel for our clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our stay at the Kirurumu was our first 2 nights in tented lodge, part of a 2 week safari.
What a great set up. Luxurius tent, comfortable & clean, friendly people, good food, and all this, in the the bush.
After a great day in the Tarangire park, you come in, take a good hot shower, and then, go for a cold beer or a glass of wine at the camp fire. Followed by a nice dinner, simple, but good food, with nice service.
After dinner, armed Masai warriors will guide you to your tent. You get in, thinking the Masai did it for the "show".... After a few moments, you know you are in the wild. You hear all sort of noises, and some are pretty close. We got visited by elephants, feeding on Acacia trees 3 feet from our tent. And they came back at sunrise......So Cool
The second night was a bit quieter, we only had a Giraff.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here one night during our safari, when we visited Tarangire National Park. This luxury tent camp was exactly what we hoped for, and even more. Beautiful tents, stunning location, friendly staff, Maasai men who guide you to your tent in order to protect you from the animals that cross the grounds, ... It felt like paradise!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miquette85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at Kirurumu through our Imagine Africa-planned safari. Service was great - everyone went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. A great spot if you are on safari in Tarangire / Manyara and want to stay in the middle of nature. Permanent tents are simple and a bit dated but overall a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYtraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 48 in Karatu
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karama Lodge & Spa
Karama Lodge & Spa
#15 of 160 in Arusha
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#22 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Property: Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is built on the site of the old Tamarind Camp, in land we own and looking out on a flood plain that is seasonally a rich feeding ground for elephant and much else. It is bordering the park boundary, and is ideally situated being only 10 minutes off the main tarmac road and only 15 minutes drive from the main Tarangire park gate. There are 10 permanent tented cottages built in exactly the same style as the new Kirurumu Manyara Lodge cottages and the standards are the same high standards you have always been familiar with at Manyara. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing