We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional staff make this place special.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceptional staff make this place special.”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This little lodge has changed over the years and has got better with age...the staff are efficient and friendly, making sure that your wants and needs are met. The tented rooms are on concrete bases with slidding doors making it feel structurally safer, particularly as you are made aware of the possibilty of elephants being in the camp at some point during your stay (we had a noctural visit along with the sounds of hyena woops and the soft rumbling of flumps and trumpting which added to the 'African safari experience'). Massive beds gave us room to spread out.
The dinning room and bar are a little away from the rooms and have not yet been made into 'permenant structures' and there is a seating area in front of the dinning room where a fire is lit every evening in prep for guests to enjoy the sun going down.
The food was table d'hote (vegetarian option, kids option and service times were offered for the kids so that they could eat before us) and was very good.
Remember to take your binoculars as the bird life is abundant, plus take advantage of the maasai led walks around the camp, we got quite close to a herd of zebras!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This place i beautiful. Its 5 km from the main road in the middle of the bush. The only other thing around here is the masai people. The road in to the lodge is really bumpy!
We stayed in some permanted tent/houses. Really nice! It was big and clean (but remember to spray the insect repellent before going to dinner-just in case. We had no insects in our tent! But some others in my group found a red scorpion in their room..)

There are wild animals living in the bush right outside the tents, so exiting! The only thing we got see was lots of dik diks. They as so cute! At night time the masi people walked you back to your tent.
The food here was soooo god! Especially the soup:)

We stayed here for two night. We had one day in Tarangire National park and one in the Ngorogoro cratre.

Would highly recommed this place if you want a unique experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Recently converted to a permanent camp there are currently ten tents with further plans to expand to 25.

The tents are spacious and comfortable with good bathrooms albeit our shower (permanent) did not work that well. It was a long walk on sand to the dining tent where presentable food was served. We were rather surprised the dining was not communal but a nice touch was the sparkling wine on Christmas day.

Although the camp is on the edge of the Tarangire National Park it was quite a long drive to the entry gate (some of it through very poor terrain) and we did not see any animals in our own grounds although the park was teeming with elephants.

A nice experience all round.

Room Tip: All new tents, some a long way from dining area on sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Wonderful rustic lodge with tented bungalows close to Tarangire. Spear-bearing Masai guide you around at night while elephants munch the vegetation. Saw a herd of zebra come through at dawn. Good food and service. Many new structures at this site.

Room Tip: good option close to Tarangire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanZimSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

stayed here for first night of safari . GreAt views at breakfast and dinner of lake . spectacular views of lake from bar . Tented cabin was billed by our tour operator as luxurious but was more like a 'barn stay' in uk . two tiny twin beds and no mosquito nets. Was certainly very rustic and waking up to the Dawn chorus was beautiful . however it wasn't great also waking up to the sound of 8 members of staff talking by our tent - waiting for 3 hours to pick up our luggage when we were checking out . I'm not joking I didn't believe my companion that that was what they were doing but I was proved wrong . so great views ok food but shouldn't be billed as luxurious as it makes out. Waking up clients in haste to carry luggage hours eArlier than needed isn't a great touch either . I have no problem staying some where basic if I chose to - again this was billed as luxurious .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickoteeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My friends and I spent our last night of a 7 day safari in Northern Tanzania here. Unlike the other tented lodge we stayed at in Tarangire, Kirurumu offered more privacy and less noise from your neighbors because the tents are spaced out across the wooded property.

The local Maasai employees at Kirurumu provide security on the property and serve as bellmen. The also offer guided nature walks, but our schedule didn't allow for us to participate.

Our safari guide had arranged with the management to get the Maasai to perform a special welcoming song and dance before a private dinner held away from the main dining area on a secluded patio. The staff grilled our food tableside -- of all our meals together, this was the most memorable. And the welcoming song and dance was something I'll never forget.

The bar here is well equipped and offers a great view of Lake Manyara and the valley below. We had a chance to meet both the head bartender and the General Manager of the lodge -- they run a very professional operation. Everyone we dealt with was focused on customer service in a way that we didn't encounter at other lodges on our trip.

Given the proximity to Lake Manyara National Park, this is a great location. Among the lodges we stayed at, this was one of my very favorites.

Room Tip: For those with mobility issues, there is a lot of walking at this lodge -- between the reception are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trav3lm0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

a perfect combination of living the wilderness experience and also feeling safe. we were worried before going for staying in a tent out in the bushes but we didnt feel unsafe at all. you have masai guarding the tents 24/7 who also guide you around in the evening.

the tents were very spacious, totally safe and had a lot of 'windows' which allowed a lot of light to come in. They had wooden floors and also the showers were build in the tent. the fact that the tents were very clean made our stay a very relaxing and comfortable experience.

we only had one dinner which was ok - nothing extraordinary other than the soup.

nothing beats the experience of waking up in the middle of the wilderness! highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.0 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#10 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#20 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
577 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#3 of 48 in Karatu
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Property: Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is built on the site of the old Tamarind Camp, in land we own and looking out on a flood plain that is seasonally a rich feeding ground for elephant and much else. It is bordering the park boundary, and is ideally situated being only 10 minutes off the main tarmac road and only 15 minutes drive from the main Tarangire park gate. There are 10 permanent tented cottages built in exactly the same style as the new Kirurumu Manyara Lodge cottages and the standards are the same high standards you have always been familiar with at Manyara. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing