We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Swala
Nearby Hotels
Tarangire Treetops(Tarangire National Park)
$1,155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa(Tarangire National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sangaiwe Tented Lodge(Tarangire National Park)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tarangire Simba Lodge(Tarangire National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tarangire River Camp(Tarangire National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tarangire Sopa Lodge(Tarangire National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge(Tarangire National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp(Tarangire National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balloon Camp Tarangire(Tarangire National Park)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
240
28
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
28
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatering holegame drivestsetse fliesoutdoor showerwater holenaughty monkeysthe managersbush babiesremote cornerother campsswimming pooldry seasonwalking safariwater buckmasai guidestwo nightseach morning
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 270 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place was amazing and the photos do not do it justice. We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a safari through Roys Safaris and would have loved to have stayed another night.

3 of us shared a tented lodge and felt that we had landed in heaven. A safe campsite with Masai guides to collect you from your tent at night to take you to dinner. Such luxury in the middle of the national park was unexpected and I loved the toiletries - very pricey back in the UK though. The rooms were thoroughly clean, supplied with everything you would need - including mossie nets and thoughtfully pre-stamped post cards. Our driver / guide was treated with the same respect as ourselves by Liz and Garth and given a drink on arrival with us which was a nice touch.

Dinner was a lovely ritual with pre-drinks in the lounge with nibbles, then moving to the small tented dinning area (or outside on the terrace for breakfast). We were waited on hand and foot with amazing food that was chosen from a small menu but plenty to cater for all tastes (if not they would accommodate). Other food we sampled were the breakfast and lunch picnic baskets with food served in wooden platters - tasting lovely and accompanied with wine or beer if you liked.

Mornings were a treat, waking up to the outside through the mesh tent flaps and a tray of whatever morning drink you prefer.

Outside you are surrounded by the wild animals and there is a small water hole where you can see elephants and deer. Monkeys are everywhere and will happily sit on your balcony / tent rough.

Definitely would recommend this to friends and couple alike - very romantic.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vixsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Two nights here in this camp which is now owned by A&K. Large tents -- very clean, well appointed - and luxury class by any standard. THere is a small swimming pool but hard to swim in because it is so small and has a lot of bees. The food is fabulous. There is a good waterhole with lots of activity at it (a little too far away relative to others I have experienced) . This is in a remote corner of the park with few other visitors unlike the North of the park which is very busy but on the flip side it is a long trip to get to. Stay 2 nights - at least. The other issue is that there are a lot of tsetse flies - not in the camp - but nearby. Don't wear blue - it attracts them. And you are probably better off packing a lunch and going for a day rather than a morning and afternoon safari so you avoid getting hit with the tsetse flies in the heat on the way back in the morning and the way out in the afternoon. The wifi is slow - but that's the way it is - satellite connections are variable/

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghfatw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is an amazing luxury camp. Given that I have OCD, and cleanliness is extremely important to me, this camp is absolutely superb. We went in September time.
This camp is luxurious, clean, very beautiful, and romantic. As they don’t have many rooms, it’s serene and calm. I would recommend this to all my friends and family and would definitely use again when I go to Tanzania.

The room features:
- An amazing bed offering comfort level of a 5 star hotel.
- The room is maintained at a cool temperature (and has a lovely ceiling fan), so a nice place to chill out after a long day of game drive.
- Shower and bathrooms are great. The outdoor shower is wonderful, give perfect privacy while allowing u to watch wildlife when having a morning shower to start the day fresh.
- The cleanliness is exceptional, a part from a couple of small flies, there are absolutely no other insects! The cleanest camp I have stayed.

The service:
- Perfect! From the Raymond the hotel manager who took care of us, to Masai warrior who escorts you from your room to the main area at night and the team of attentive staff everyone was just amazing!
- The food experience here is also top notch! The chef Moses cook up some amazing feast that’s expected from a 5 stars hotel restaurant, given that we are in the middle of nowhere, it is really impressive.

The other facilities:
- The breakfast area is beautiful, every morning we can eat our breakfast while wild lives are only a few meters from us. We saw elephants from a far, many dik-dik and playful monkeys.
- The main relaxing area is quite exceptional, as it’s near to the watering hole, we could hear and sometime see elephant and lions roaring!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazehail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Swala was the highlight of my trip to Tanzania. It was total luxury. Gorgeous tents with every possible amenity. Service where every need is fulfilled and then some. Lovely dining saw Impalas, waterbucks, elephants wander the grounds. Liz and Garth do a great job! I would love to repeat this once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sondra62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Swala Camp was our home for 2 nights on this 14 day tour of Kenya and Tanzania. By the time, we arrived here, we were ready to really relax and it was perfect to relax in such an incredible place. We spent our entire day in the small hut by the pool, out of the sun and invisible to the animals and birds that came up to the watering hole and to the pool to drink and bathe (the birds). Liz and Garth and the staff made sure we enjoyed ourselves and brought us Pina Coladas, African style, to the pool while we took the opportunity to photograph the most beautiful birds and the monkeys less than 20 feet away. I had already photographed every mammal in Kenya and Tanzania so birds were next on the list. Our tent was number 11 and was one of the furtherest away from the central camp and very private. We had a large deck and a huge tree growing out of the deck which shaded our tent. We enjoyed the food especially breakfast and lunch. The staff was outstanding and very friendly and laundry was included in the rate. For those going for the first time, the staff, all male, will launder shirts, pants, socks etc, but ladies underwear you'll need to do yourself and just hang in your tent discreetly to dry. We came here in early November after the first rain and the grasses were greening up. Some of the animals had most likely moved on to other areas but we had plenty to see, leopards in trees, elephants, zebras, wildebeest at the watering hole. I would highly recommend early Spring to enjoy Tarangire. Thanks to Liz and Garth for a remarkable stay.

Room Tip: we liked number 11 or 12 but it's a longer walk to the common dining and pool area
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Swala, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this comprehensive review regarding your recent stay with us at Sanctuary Swala.

It was nice to read your review, and we are happy to know that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. We do appreciate your positive remarks about Liz,Garth and the rest of the team,the food, the laundry service as well as our "African style Pina Coladas"

We are delighted that you appreciated our services and had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews