We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms but I wouldn't choose this one again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms but I wouldn't choose this one again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

Maramboi has beautiful and huge tented rooms. At night it feels like all the insects in the world are trying to get it. The beds have nets but unfortunately a couple of insects found their way into my bed leading to a restless night. Not the camp's fault though - this is africa after all! The reason I won't choose Maramboi again is the atmosphere. The staff were all very friendly but not in a genuine way - certainly not compared to the other 4 places we stayed on our trip. The lunchboxes were rubbish but that is the same everywhere - the safari camps and lodges need a little advice on how to put together a good lunchbox esp on how to make sandwiches! It neednt be expensive!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    221
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
252
416
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

The tents and lounge areas here are very nice. We only stayed here for one night and enjoyed seeing the animals grazing in the area as well as the sunset.

The only drawback to this place is the food, it may have been poor because it was a buffet, but it really wasn't that appealing even compared to some of the other buffets we had at other lodges in Tanzania.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

At the end of our Safari we stayed at this tented camp and it was definitely one of the highlights for spending the night!
The tents are situated next to the lake with a fantastic view during sunset. The tents are big with two big double beds and a nice bath room.
The camp has got a nice lounge and dining / breakfast area on a terrace next to Zebras.
For dinner and lunch there was a nice buffet. The lunch paket could be individually selected during breakfast.
Additionally the camp has a swimming pool and it is possible to do an early morning safari by feet with an Maasai.
Altogether this was a lovely end of our safari.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silke100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed two nights at Maramboi at the end of our 12day/10 night Safari. We agree and find accurate what has been said in most of the previous positive reviews. Notables from our visit:
We very much enjoyed the animals grazing near the camp. We did not hear them in the camp at night, but there was some evidence that they had visited.
Our tent was very large as others have mentioned, but only had two beds which made a for very large space between them—could easily have been three beds in the tent.
On our visit, there was NO 24-hour power—the lights stopped working sometime after we retired and worked again shortly after we awoke for an early morning game drive. If you don’t have your own flashlight, a rechargeable type one is available from the bar area.
Water for the sink and shower was hot at all times.
Our deck area had a great view to the lake and escarpment beyond. Two chairs and a cocktail table were on our deck to enjoy the view.
We participated in an escorted walk to the lakeshore. Interesting, but our guide did not say much, and the animals scattered quickly as we approached—we got closer to the animals when we were on a game drive in our rover.
Food was very good, service was good.

We would definitely choose Maramboi on a future visit, would recommend to our friends, but did not find it outstanding when compared to other tented lodges, camps and lodges on our Safari: thus the 3 star rating. It would have been a 4 with a bit of improvement in service and a bit wider selection of food options.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GCrackr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

Location is outside the Tarangire NP but slightly interior, off from the main road. It is good for an experience in a tented camp. The rooms were large and spacious. There were few mosquitoes but the beds had net. Bathroom, hot water etc was good. Dinner and breakfast were ok, not great but sufficient and decent. There was free internet access with computers. The safari guide could eat with us. We did not see any animal around there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank praspn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 927 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Arrived after dark and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the tents were. The room was huge with 3 beds. We sat out on our deck, had a drink and watched the sunset over Lake Manyara with animals in the background. Free wifi and internet was great. The food was a step up from most places. I thought the variety was good. One lunch they served us poolside We also enjoyed the box lunches here. A guard will walk you to your room in the dark. There are animals close to the tents, you can hear them all night. If you're a light sleeper pack earplugs. You do have to walk through some sand to get to the rooms. I found tennis shoes better then sandals for this. Overall I thought this was a great, well managed comfortable place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo, CA
Level Contributor
255 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We spent two nights at Maramboi. They have added two family tents that are a great addition. They are two seperate rooms connected by a patio, great for families. We were actually yje 1st family to occupy the Duma/Faru Tent, Very well decorated and cozy. Obviously being brand new it was in great shape. They operate on solar, and as my teenage daughter took a long shower in the evening we had no hot water in the morning. The grounds are beautiful, and the staff are amazing. My wife and daughter got extremely ill our 1st night there and the staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to accomodate.
Food quality was good, although it was buffet style with not a great selection. I really enjoyed Maramboi. The biggest downfall is the length from Tarangire. It is about 30 minutes each way which cuts down on game viewing in the park although you can see wildebeest, giraffe, zebra etc right from your room at the camp.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank deamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
21.6 mi away
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
21.5 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
17.0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
20.7 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
30.3 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Property: Maramboi Tented Camp
Address: Dodoma Road | Minjingu, Tarangire And Manyara Pans, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maramboi Tented Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 44 suites, 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing