We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beatiful quiet camp with great service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2010

This was our second safari to Tanzania and Maramboi is one of the best places we have stayed. The views across Lake Manyara towards the escarpment of the rift valley are beautiful. The camp is run in an environmentally sensitive manner. All food (excellent) is grown organically and locally. The rooms built on wooden platforms with a metal and thatch roof have canvass and net walls that allow you to open up as much as you want. The bed was perfect, as was the shower. Zebra wilderbeast and reedbuck were common sights around camp. I would suggest booking in the dry season because that is when game viewing in Tarangire NP is best.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrvide0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

We are very happy about our stay at the Maramboi. Our room was really great. It was more an individual bungalow in fact. We couldn't see any other room from ours, giving us a 180 degree view on the bush. We could see zebras and a giraffe from our bed! In addition, the room was large and very clean. The hotel also has a swimming pool, once again with a wide view on the bush.
Both dinner and breakfast are served as a buffet. Both were good.
This was one of the best hotels of our safari.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iloveJD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in late July and have nothing but great things to say about this permanent tented camp. The reception tent couldn't have been more considerate in design with many stylish vintage leather chairs and sofa's reminiscint of bush safaris from the films. The tents where we slept had very comfortable four posters with mosquito nets and writing desks for updating your personal travel journal.

Dinner was pretty decent, considering you're literally in the bush....and I suppose this is the best part about this place...the lodge is literally in the open savannah so everywhere you look are zebras, wildebeast, and even an occasional giraffe! It's one thing lying by the pool in the bush, it's another thing altogether lying by the pool with loads of zebras looking at you as if you're one of them!

All in all, awesome experience, and the walk to your room at night accompanied by a guard just adds to the bush feel! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liverlips20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

This was to be our first "tenting" WOW if this is tenting, sign me up year round! The rooms were amazing!
For some reason when we arrived, we were told we had two tents with a king size bed in each tent. Since there was six of us, this wasn't going to work out. (I am not sure where the mistake was, with our booking company or them, but we had booked two triples for the whole trip) After a five minute wait relaxing in the beautiful lobby, leafing through all the great coffee table books, our two triple rooms were ready for us.
The service here was great, the food wad good, but mostly it was all about the location.
On the decks of your tent you have the most amazing view of the rift valley wall. You can just sit on your deck early in the morning and see zebra and wildebeests grazing only a few feet away. Through out the night I could hear animals around my tent tearing the grass and munching. That is what you come to Africa for.
The only disappointment we had was the pool remained empty for our two day stay. We were told it was going to be filled on our first afternoon. I think the staff learned a lesson about telling four children that a pool would be filled and then not fill it. I think my kids asked them when they are filling it every time they saw staff for two days. LOL that will learn them! You have to remember this is Africa, water isn't always available at a twist of a tap, but then the pool is what made us pick this camp. Oh well the kids still had fun in an empty pool!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dogtiredwoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

One of the more lower priced accommodations on our safari. But well worth staying. Although a long drive from Ngorongoro, at least the road was bitumen most of the way. When we turned off the main road it was hard to understand why there would be a lodge in this desert-like landscape. But up ahead in the distance we could see the palm trees. When we arrived, the dust had turned to sand. There were palm trees and board walks and big tropical thatched roofed buildings. And a fantastic view of Lake Manyara in the distance.

We had tent no. 3 and the sandy path started at tent no. 10, so it was a long walk in the sand to our tent. That said, once we got there it was peaceful and private and we were glad to be separated from the large tour group that was also staying here. Our ten was huge and built under an awning on stilts with a large deck poking out into the savanna. Inside was a 4-poster bed with mosquito net,a separate ensuite and lounge area. With the fly open we had a view past the palm trees and grazing zebra to Lake Manyara. (It was a shame that there was no seating out on our large deck to admire the view).

The pool area was reached by a long board walk. Although the pool was a bit tired and dated, it was just what we needed. From here we enjoyed our first really spectacular African sunset which shimmered over the Lake.

We were pleased that we could enjoy our dinner with our guide and chat about our day's safari. The food was good and like dinner at home rather than a restaurant (which suited us perfectly). We enjoyed it by candlelight with zebras in the distance.

Breakfast was a strange mix of pancakes and bacon but the coffee was great, and our day's adventure at Tarangire National Park was only a short drive away.

Some reviews have commented that the tents are noisy because of the wind. But this was part of the appeal. Although much more upmarket than normal camping this was the one place where we felt as if we were truly camping. The wind and the palm trees swaying were part of the feeling of being out there in nature. We had sand between our toes and complete peace and isolation. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AfricanAdventurer247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We stayed at this camp while on an OAT Serengeti Safari in June 2008. Maramboi Tented Camp is one of several lodges/camps owned by Kibo Guides under the Tanganyika Wilderness Camps umbrella.

It is approximately 2 hours from Olasiti Lodge in Arusha & approximately 20 minutes from the entrance to Tarangire National Park.

There are 10 en suite permanent tents on raised platforms, which were immaculately clean. All had more than adequate solar heated hot water. They also provide bath soap & shampoo.

It is possible to charge all of your electrical, i.e. photo, computer, etc, equipment in the main lounge/dining/bar building.

The staff was quite friendly, attentive & helpful. The food was quite delicious with a good variety from which to choose. At lunch I especially appreciated the lighter fare. The soups & fresh baked breads were delicious.

Each tent faces Lake Manyara so that you gaze can upon a beautiful sunset in the evening and look out upon the thousands of Lesser Flamingo that feed in Lake Manyara during the day. The Lesser Flamingos seem like a pink cloud that just hovers above the lake.

This camp stay was truly a delight, including the herd of zebra that munched grass all around our tent for about 2 hours during our first night. Where else can you get up in the middle of the night and see such an amazing sight?

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llorear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Willafog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
20.7 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
413 reviews
21.5 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
626 reviews
33.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#3 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
254 reviews
17 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#11 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
90 reviews
9 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Address: Dodoma Road | Minjingu, Tarangire And Manyara Pans, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maramboi Tented Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 44 suites, 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing