We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting, great views, great service , and so comfortable!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting, great views, great service , and so comfortable!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

everything was perfect! We wish we could have stayed for more than just one night. it was amazing seeing zebras and wildebeest as we drove to our luxurious tent. the view of the lake from the tent is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ami_K_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    231
    44
    9
    2
See reviews for
277
434
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Jambo, jambo!
There are a lot of games near the tents. Place is realy wonderful. Views are realy incredible to the nature. It has been the best tents hotel in our life. Cujsine was very good...
We can recommend it...:-))

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lipo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My daughter and I spent two nights at Maramboi Tented Camp while on safari in October of 2013. Situated a few hundred yards from Lake Maynara, the setting is peaceful and quiet. You can sit on the large back deck; have a drink; and watch zebras, wildebeest, and warthogs wander by. The rooms are spacious; the food is excellent; and the staff is so friendly and helpful. It is a great place to spend a night or two while exploring Tarangire and Lake Maynara Parks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is an amazing camp in the midst of Tarangire. The tent we stayed in Ngewa was perfect - on the outer edge of the tented camp and provided an outstanding view of the conversation area and wildlife. The room was cozy and had all the amenities we needed for a relaxing stay.
We stayed at this camp for 2 nights and after safari each day we would enjoy a swim and sunset in the pool area.
Dinner was buffet and the food was phenomenal! After dinner we would walk back to our tent wth a Massai guide who would shine the flashlight on zebras and impalas grazing by our tents. Lot's of fun and I plan to go back to this camp when I visit Tanzania in 2014.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent on the outer edge of the camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanisHazlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Absolutely stunning destination. We were blown away when we arrived. Views are incredible and to have wildlife (zebra, wild beast, and warthogs) wandering right next to your tent is fabulous.
The tent itself was such a surprise - gorgeous!
Food was good and they provide lunch boxes for your day trips out which you get to choose.
Staff very attentive but do want to practice their language skills on you all the time.
In total, wonderful experience, you can watch the wildlife wherever you are, in your room on your decking, lying by the pool, eating breakfast - lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This camp stood out as something different, with a unique setting up close to Lake Manyara on its Eastern side. We stayed here our last 2 nights on safari after a few days in Tarangire. Driving in past Maasai cattle and goats, it seems to have a unique place in the community, in that it supports many local people with many employment opportunities, and also a number of wild animals including Zebra, Wildebeest, Wart Hogs and Flamingos wandering between the lake and the tents.

The tents were clean, comfortable, and set apart in an area that allowed lots of space for viewing and relaxing. There were clear directions that we needed guides when walking back to the dining and bar area. These were permanent buildings, with a nearby pool, again very close to the lake.

I cannot say it was my favorite tenting spot, but it was one that provided good food and comfortable accommodations and a staff that worked hard to please.

The food was served outdoors (in May), on a raised deck overlooking the lake which was special. There were few bugs and the temperatures were comfortable. However, at night but my elderly colleague struggled a little with seeing what he was eating. He also struggled a bit on the dirt/sand paths after dark.

Room Tip: The tents that look out over the lake are nicer than those that face each other and are closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxwood-Farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Very excellent atmosphere, the rooms are more than comfortable, staffs are very welcoming to stay with them, food are delicious as well as served style is very unique when you compared with others lodges, lunch box is top where by served on buffet basis. So according to that maramboi seems to be more than excellent and make our holiday successfully .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fashadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
20.7 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
398 reviews
21.5 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
591 reviews
33.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#19 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
157 reviews
30.3 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Property: Maramboi Tented Camp
Address: Dodoma Road | Minjingu, Tarangire And Manyara Pans, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maramboi Tented Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 44 suites, 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing