We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pilot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Very excellent atmosphere, the rooms are more than comfortable, staffs are very welcoming to stay with them, food are delicious as well as served style is very unique when you compared with others lodges, lunch box is top where by served on buffet basis. So according to that maramboi seems to be more than excellent and make our holiday successfully .

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fashadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here in November 2013 and loved every minute of it. The camp was surrounded by wildebeest, warthogs and zebra when we arrived. And we had the most amazing view of Lake Manyara from our tent.

The staff were very friendly and there was great options for the buffet lunch.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleLiddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A wonderful location, luxury accommodation, and a fantastic experience. These are large 'permanent' tents standing on stilts.
With excellent views of zebra, wildebeest, and other animals crossing from one national park to another, a million and one stars (almost) overhead - this was a truly memorable one night stay.
All the staff were friendly and it was an experience having your personal bodyguard with a spear, accompanying you between your tent and the camp eating area.
Absolutely loved it and woud thoroughly recommend to anyone doing a safari in the Tarangire national park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cranburysquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We loved these kind of "cottages", the rooms were very comfortable and spacious, clean and beautiful. We had one that oversaw the lake and we had zebras coming near our balcony.
Food was quite good and the living areas including the swimming pool look superb. At night we enjoyed dinner sitting outside.
One of the days we had a walking safari provided by a Masai worker of the hotel and we walked to lake Manyara and had the chance to see flamingos fairly close.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elquk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Safari Infinity booked us into this camp in September 2013 and it was absolutely perfect. The setting, the service, the amenities...all superior. A big open-air lounging area with mega-strong wifi was a great place to relax and get settled after a busy day. Dining under the stars was a major highlight, and coupled with superb waiters we could not have asked for more. The "tents" were incredibly luxurious, big comfy beds, excellent showers with a larger water supply than is often seen in tented camps--it was difficult to avoid temptation and take a long hot shower. But you could, of course, pacify your craving for water in the awesome little pool that overlooked Lake Manyara, with zebras and wildebeest strolling by. Later before bed, I was delighted to find wifi in the tents as well, an added bonus as more remote tented camps do not have it at all. I did have an unfortunate accident here, though...those strong evening winds that come up the valley each evening blew my tent curtains so strongly, they knocked off one of the bedside lanterns and smashed it to smithereens! I was horrified and apologetic (I should have closed the tent flap when the wind came up), but the lovely staff here only smiled and said not to worry about it. This place is firmly on the list of "Must Return."

Room Tip: Watch out for those evening winds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanjen680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at this location as a part of our 6-days Safari. This place is so truly amazing, that is is hard to find words to describe it. It is on one hand very luxury and comfortable, on the other still a bit wild - like from the "Out of Africa" Book. You sleep in tents being able to hear in the night animals passing close. You can also see them nearly when spending time at the pool.
This was the best place we visited during the whole Africa trip. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaffGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This 'tented camp' consists of individual buildings made of canvas and built on wooden structures. Screen windows can be covered by drapes on the inside or canvas on the outside. Sit on your balcony and watch zebras, wildebeest and warthogs roam in your front lawn or walk down to the outdoor sitting area with free wifi or to the small pool all overlooking Lake Manyara. At night friendly security guards walk you to and from the main building because it is so dark. The food is awesome and served under the stars. Fresh cashews are at every meal!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Kmcc51Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
21.5 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
613 reviews
20.7 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
406 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#11 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
283 reviews
17.0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
81 reviews
33.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Address: Dodoma Road | Minjingu, Tarangire And Manyara Pans, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maramboi Tented Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 44 suites, 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing