We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real taste of Africa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real taste of Africa”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A great tented lodge close to Lake Manyara. With beautiful hardwood floors and old-school charm, I really liked the refined simplicity of this place. The buffets were great, the lodge was environmentally friendly (lots of solar lights used to light the place up at night), the staff was friendly, and being close to Manyara and Tarangire, there were lots of wildlife on the grounds, including zebras and boars. In fact, a family of boars lived right behind our lodge. To fall asleep listening to the 1000s of animal noises and insect noises while being in the very comfortable tent was a special experience. Great place to relax after a hard day's safari.

The service is much better here than at their sister hotel (Ngorongoro Farm House).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshuasmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    227
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
265
429
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The camp is just lovely - stunning well equipped rooms with a gorgeous view of the lake and escapement. Wildebeest, zebra and warthogs trot in front of the camp and the sunsets were amazing. The food was incredible and eating dinner under the African sky was so special. Only disappointment were the staff - it took us nearly 20 minutes to be seen for our check in briefing as the staff were serving guests as they pleased and not in the order that they arrived. Eventually our guide had to go and chase them up. We also ended up getting our own drinks from the bar during dinner as the waiters were more interested in chatting between themselves than fulfilling orders or serving guests...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNSLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The tents are large, comfortable and have a proper door which is better than a zipper, as in other camps. The bathroom has a dressing area and a separate toilet. There is a telephone, a fan and a hairdryer in each tent. The tents are on raised platforms and each has its own water tank, the water heated by solar panels. There is a large open-air dining area, a covered dining area if you prefer and a very comfortable lounge area under a large thatched roof where you can sit and watch the grazers (zebra etc). Then tents are well spaced out and each has a torch suppied.

Room Tip: All of the tents are well placed for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

That camp is really more of a lodge (no resemblance to what is normally called camping), quite luxurious but it has a definite "mass tourism" feel about it, so don't expect a "real Africa" feeling when you go there. Due to its size, it all feels quite impersonal and except for the beautiful landscape around could almost be anywhere.

The room was large (it was actually a tent on stilts), the beds were comfortable - though we got twin beds despite booking a double bed - and the bathroom is spacious as well, There is hot water, just note that you have to keep the water running for a long time before it warms up. The beds have mosquito nets, which is a good thing since somehow the tent allows insects to come in (holes in the screen I guess). There is a nice veranda, ours overlooked a vast expanse of green with the lake just visible at the end.

The dining area is nice - large and has outdoor seating (no mosquitoes there, surprisingly). Lots of cheeky birds trying to get a bite, but I found that quite charming. There is buffet for dinner and for breakfast - the food is fine, but be prepared for queuing since there can be lots of guests.

Service was ok (again, quite impersonal, but not unfriendly).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Maramboi has great location - is close to tangerine national park as well as lake manyara. The property itself is fantastic. The location is close to the lake - so you can see zebras, wildebeest and gazelles roaming next to the property. Quite an experience to lounge in the swim pool and see these exotic animals roaming closely. The lake and the plains make for some beautiful stunning backdrops - against which you can relax after a long day in car! The tents are very comfortable and are wifi enabled! The food and service was excellent as well! Highly recommend this place if you are visiting manyara or tangerine national park!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pyxdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Well laid out tented camp next to a dry (in Oct.) lake bed, with lots of "tents" on platforms. The facilities and accommodations were beautiful and fairly luxurious. The dining area well set up and the pool and lounge area nicely placed. Well-run but on the border of being industrially large.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvdwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel was the first hotel we stayed in on our safari through Africa Rose Travel. We were a bit apprehensive about staying in a tented camp, but we needn't have worried. The "tent" was huge with a large bed, huge bathroom and shower and larger room with a balcony which overlooked Lake Manyara.

The complex is in the middle of nowhere, so you were surrounded with wild life : zebra, wild boar, wildebeest, birds,etc. It also has a swimming pool (more a plunge pool)

The staff, food , everything has fantastic

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatOutPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
20.7 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
394 reviews
33.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
442 reviews
21.5 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#20 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
155 reviews
20.5 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
266 reviews
30.3 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Property: Maramboi Tented Camp
Address: Dodoma Road | Minjingu, Tarangire And Manyara Pans, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maramboi Tented Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 44 suites, 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing